$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

2 stars
View map of 1325 Scott Street, San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

3.6/5

Overall score

76%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma) is located on the America's Cup Harbor at the entrance to Shelter Island. Located just a few steps from the famous Point Loma Seafood Market and the Sport Fishing/H & M Landing. We are only minutes away from the San Diego Airport, the Cabrillo National Monument, downtown, the Gas lamp District, Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Qualcomm Stadium and cruise ships. Swim a few laps in our heated pool or enjoy cable TV with HBO in your room. Some rooms have a kitchenette for your added convenience(additional charges apply). When you stay with us, we'll serve you with our own brand of Western hospitality. Good value, friendly people. It's how we do things.

Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma Rooms

Room Information
All rooms feature individually controlled air conditioning, cable TV with HBO, radio alarm clock, direct dial telephone and free wireless internet All guestrooms are non-smoking. ADA accessible rooms are available upon request. All guestrooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Kitchenette rooms are available.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Top hotels

Dining

Humphrey's By the Bay
San Diego's premier bayfront dining experience serving breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner.
Restaurant Information
Free continental breakfast: coffee, juice, tea, pastries, and fruits.
Old Venice Italian Restaurant
Casual elegance, relaxed charm, and a fusion of Mediterranean flavors combine to present a dining experience you won't forget. Whether meeting friends, anticipating a romantic evening, or entertaining family, Old Venice is your restaurant- in the heart of Point Loma.
Bali H'ai Restaurant
Whether you're just looking for nice place to have a Polynesian dinner or planning for an important event, the Bali H'ai Restaurant has a menu for every occasion.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capps
N/A
Mar 18, 2015

Bang for your buck!

Nothing fancy about the vagabond inn at all, but it did surpass the expectations I had for this place. Was actually a lot cleaner than I imagined, and the location was nice too. Great value for your dollar, and the staff was friendly as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paula L.
N/A
Mar 15, 2015

Ok Motel

Location good for Shelter Island, the excellent Seafood Restaurant and bus routes if required. Breakfast very limited and no eating area available other than in the bedroom or pool area. Male receptionist extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
karen p.
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Vacationing from Montana

Steps and hallway need to be powerwashed. Rooms needed a thourough cleaning, Bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
james v.
SAN DIEGO
Feb 10, 2015

nice rooms, but not worth therstes

The Cleanliness and corfort level was emmaculayr ... Herbert the outside And attitude or some of the main employees was below average. I won't be going there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Love it up to th fullest cuz the locations the most valuable experience of the whole situation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fast4word
Santa Barbara
Jan 28, 2015

Hard to beat for a budget hotel

Stayed here recently for two weeks. Kept prolonging our stay because we fell in love with San Diego and Point Loma where the hotel is located, but also because of our superlative experience at this motel. PROS: 1. Great Location with large windows facing the marina, some partially blocked by an attractive seafood restaurant, some with clear views of the Bay and sport fishing boats. Fabulous restaurants, stores and waking/bike paths are just a short hop away by foot. Carrillo monument and beaches a few miles away in one direction, downtown and Balboa park four miles the other (on fast roads, not the freeway) this beats living downtown. 2. Quiet: there are many motels in this area, but having visited most of them, this was the only budget one with windows not facing a busy road. A caveat: due to construction of a condo complex next door, it can get noisy after 7,00 am, but this was not a problem for us we were up by then. The construction should wind up Soon. 3. Everything is white and spotless from the curtains to the bed linens and comforter (down I think) to the towels and shower curtains. 4. Comfort: the beds were the best of any I experienced in a budget hotel. Remind me of the Westin. 5. Decor and ambience: there was something about the bright white modern/retro look of the room that made it a sheer pleasure to come back to. 5. Amenities: Great TV, fridge, microwave all updated. Little things like recycling bins in the rooms and the parking lot. Clean pool. 6. Staff: Courteous, helpful. Hector was especially amenable, as was the manager. CONS: parking can be an issue. We generally were the last room to get in at night and the lot was full. But the night desk attendant was so helpful, he moved his car onto the street to liberate a space for us. This is only a potential issue when the motel is fully booked as it was some days that we were there. In summary, this is a great find, considering that you are paying what you would expect for a low end motel on an interstate, but getting much more, in what is possibly the best location in San Diego. We stayed there in January, when lower winter rates were in effect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Humphreys Half Moon luxury hotel a fifteen minute walk or three minute drive away on Shelter Island has nightly live music in a relaxed elegant setting, so you donybave to leave the hood for entertainment at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AK.422
San Jose
Jan 15, 2015

couples trip

Good location for a nights stay.Nothing fancy but good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MartinDubai
HOUSTON
Jan 14, 2015

Great value,great point loma location

I have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. Good wifi,good cable tv..... Great spot if you are taking a fishing charter and need a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right beside point loma seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter Z.
CASTRO VALLEY
Jan 5, 2015

below average

The 15 off leaded me chose this hotel, much better hotels in the same area available at similar price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
magfi
los angeles, california
Nov 21, 2014

Good place to stay if you don't want to spend much

The room and the staff is really great. The only thing i don't like is the outdoor area. They put the garbage can right behind the stairs. But overall, i like this hotel and I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego Point Loma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
magfi
los angeles, california
Oct 21, 2014

great location to sea world and cabrillo

The room is very clean, but there's garbage can next to the stairs and also on the aisle. It doesn't smell good around the outdoor area. Staff are really kind and friendly. Overall, its a good hotel to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top