$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

3.7/5

Overall score

80%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 604 rooms, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.
Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Vista Room
All rooms have one king size bed and are situated ocean front, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Cribs available upon request

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Top hotels

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
379 out of 379
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betsy
Tucson
Apr 26, 2015

Amazing value for price

Given the price of the trip, we did not go with high expectations. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and the beautiful beach. Lunch and dinner were problematic for us. The cafeteria was extremely hot, and basically no more than what it claimed to be -- a large open space with lots of food of medicocre quality. We ended up going into Playa del Carmen two nights, and checking with guest services at 2pm for last minute space on other nights. In respect to our nights in town, we wished guest services had access to better information on top restaurants in the area. I ended up doing my own research on internet sites. As for lunch by the pool, it was ok if you liked mexican food or overcooked hamburgers. Occasionally they had chicken, which was really good. Otherwise, the choices were scant. We could deal with the lunches, but wished we had some way to expand the nights at the better on-site restaurants (we would have been willing to pay to go more often, but that wasn't an option). Three out of nine nights in the restaurant left us with too many evenings in the cafeteria, which cast a pall over the trip, unless you were willing to pay to go into town (which we did). Breakfasts in the cafeteria were good. Note: positive recommendation below is qualified, based on the restaurant comment. We did love the beach area, and the room was large, comfortable, had a good view, and was well-maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda S.
Salem
Apr 24, 2015

Relax

Nice hotel. Food good. Great value for money as it is one of the least expensive resorts in the area. Not a lot of amenities in the room (no tissues, bars of soap, ect.) but room was comfortable. Staff was friendly and worked very hard. Beach was amazing. Beautiful courtyard for relaxing with a drink. Ate in one specialty restaurant (Portofino), great service and good food although the portions were small. Great side trip was Aktun Chen, a one hour walk through underground cave and Akumal Bay, swim with turtles, both amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennifer B.
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Fun trip with friends

I was surprised we were able to book this vacation package for such a great deal. When we arrived at the resort we realized it was because the main restaurant was under construction. The temporary restaurant was set up outside so the days that it rained, everything was wet with no where to sit. Food selection was ok. I have had better food in Mexico. Location overall is great. Felt extremely safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos M.
N/A
Apr 15, 2015

Best trip ever

Loved how close everything was and the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taylor P.
N/A
Apr 15, 2015

Vacation

Our Tay was great! We were in town for a vacation, to get away. The hotel met our expectations. The room was quiet, clean and enjoyable. The beds were a little bit hard and the pillows were VERY thin. While we were there, we visited the Mayan ruins in tulum and coba and snorkeled in an ocean inlet, centre, and cave. The restaurant at the hotel, Don Diego was fabulous. It was great food and a fun and inviting atmosphere. A better food choice at the buffet would have made our trip better. There was a worm-like insect found in the tostadas one evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark G.
N/A
Apr 7, 2015

We would go again!

Although the rooms were very basic, they were exceptionally clean, as was the rest of the resort. The buffets were well stocked and the staff kept the lines and tables clean. We made reservations for three of the restaurants and were pleasantly surprised at how intimate they were. The wait staff was great - very engaging & fun. There was plenty of access to beach chairs and a good variety of activities available. The staff was always upbeat and appeared to enjoy what they were doing, despite working 12 hour days. The internet service was spotty at best, but not being fully connected allowed us to focus more on each other. The Maya seemed to be newer with a better pool than the Azteca. Both resorts had beautifully landscaped grounds. We would return to this resort without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James B.
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Perfect family trip

Food was just so so at the buffet. The alotted free dinners were nice, but it was real hard to get a reservation for 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amusement park survivor
redondo beach
Mar 14, 2015

Wonderful family trip

My husband, four-year-old daughter and I just spent 11 days here and it was amazing! The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are simple but clean (who needs a fancy room in a tropical paradise?) The kids club and activities were the best we've seen. The food is typical inclusive food. The staff is super friendly and professional. The shows are great - the best we've seen at an inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stefan B.
N/A
Mar 11, 2015

Unbelievable family vacation

What a beautiful spot on earth! All inclusive and clean, food quality was outstanding. I was never in an all-inclusive hotel, always thought that the quality would be really bad, but guess what? Everything was great. Will def. go again. Disco by pool was a bit loud between 9pm and 11pm. We have two small children, so we asked hotel staff to re-locate us to the 'old people' section :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSJS
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Relaxing Get Away

Hotel in a great location. Walk out onto the beautiful white sand and turquoise ocean. Staff was great, food was great, entertainment was very nice. Massage at the Spa was fantastic. Would definitely return for another vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top