$450 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman-ha, Lote Hotelero 8, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
97 reviews
Beyond all-inclusive!

Staff was friendly, food was AMAZING! (I seriously don't know what anyone could complain about??)... See full review

  • allinclusive4ever
  • Jul 14, 2014
excellent vacation

The hotel staff was phenomenal they were very helpful and nice with everyone. I really enjoyed... See full review

  • couple in l0ve
  • Aug 20, 2013
Viva Wyndham Resorts believes that a true vacation experience begins at the heart of the destination and Playacar boasts one of the most pristine beaches in the Mexican Caribbean. Here you will find Viva Wyndham Azteca, it is a 30,000-sq. Mts. resort, 100 mts. of beautiful white sandy beach with 335 rooms set in a lush tropical setting and a spirit of never ending fun thanks to a variety of activities and the chance comprehensive inclusive to know the true culture of Mexico. In the area, you will find the ruins of Tulum and innumerable ways to reach typical villages and beautiful beaches permitting both a relaxing, cultural and, of course, an unforgettable comprehensive vacation. For those of you who love action, fresh air and excitement, Viva Wyndham Resorts is the perfect place with a whole selection of sports to choose from. Non-motorized sports including Windsurfing, Kayaking, Sailing, Boogie boards, Snorkeling equipment, Introductory dive lessons, Water polo, Water aerobics, Tennis (floodlight included), Bicycling, Volleyball, Weight room, Aerobics, Stretching , Bocce ball on the beach, Table tennis, Archery (at Viva Wyndham Maya)and Climbing wall (at Viva Wyndham Maya) are all available or cross the boundaries between two worlds, submerging into the peace, tranquility and indescribable beauty of the underwater kingdom with Viva Wyndham Diving. If you haven't been diving before, you can take one of our beginners courses and be beneath the waves in no time at all or maybe you have experienced diving and would like to improve your PADI rating. Sports available at extra charge include fishing, golf at the 18 hole Playacar golf course, horseback riding nearby, water and land excursions. Viva Wyndham Resorts is an all-inclusive chain of hotels which means that just about everything is included in your stay. As part of Viva Wyndham Resorts all-inclusive vacation package guests enjoy Accommodations, Full breakfast, lunch and dinner, Snacks 24 hours, Unlimited drinks, Cocktails and house wine, Beach bar, Tea time, Welcome cocktail, Unlimited non-motorized sports, Daily activities program with international entertainment staff, Games, Caribbean dances lessons, Cocktails and Mexican cuisine Lessons, Live music, Live nightly entertainment, Theme parties, Sport Bar, Weight room, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam bath and shower area, Children s program from 4- 12 years, mini-disco, Chaise lounges and beach towels and Taxes and tips. Viva Circus. Guests staying at Viva Wyndham Azteca can enjoy all facilities of Viva Wyndham Maya, including the fantastic Viva Circus: the new entertainment program with amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling and entertainment. Viva Wyndham Maya will continue to entertain its guests with a full line-up of circus performances and interactive stunts with trained professionals, further expanding its comprehensive all-inclusive entertainment offerings. OPTIONAL PACKAGES: Honeymoon Package:For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors dovres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in. Marriage within six months. - Packages Available with Extra Charge: Wedding Package:Includes Civil Judge and all legal expenses (does not include legalization), Wedding cake for 10 persons, Bar for 10 guests, Decoration, Bride bouquet, Wedding coordinator, 10 pictures, and Music. The corkage is free of charge. You can ask about out others packages. Also available Spa, Diving and Excursion packages.

Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Ocean View
Guestrooms feature two queen size beds or one king size bed, central air conditioned, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, iron and iron board, separated vanity with hair dryer, french balcony, safe box (surcharge),and a welcome package in the Minibar (only on arrival day). Handicapped rooms with one queen sized bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs upon request.
Superior Room
Guestrooms feature two queen size beds or one king size bed, central air conditioned, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, iron and iron board, separated vanity with hair dryer, french balcony, safe box (surcharge),and a welcome package in the Minibar (only on arrival day). Handicapped rooms with one queen sized bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs upon request.
Superior Pool View Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, 32 LCD screen with cable television, telephone, bathroom with tub or shower, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, French balcony or terrace, safety deposit box (additional charge) and a welcome package in the Mini bar (only on arrival day). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicating door and handicap rooms with one queen size bed are available. Cribs are available upon request.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms.
Couple Retreat Room Oceanfront with Jacuzzi 456 SQ FT
The beautifully appointed rooms are larger than the Superior guest rooms and offer 456 square feet and modern decor, including marble floors, white and orange bedding and fabrics with contemporary yet rich wood furniture, an entryway with a seating area for two, a king size bed, a flat screen television built into the wall, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, safety deposit box (surcharged) and a welcome package in the refrigerator (only on arrival day) an open Jacuzzi tub with marble and glass walls, and a separate vanity area.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

El Nopal
International buffet restaurant with theme dinners and diet corner. No reservation required
Xul Ha
Mayan restaurant a la Carte open for dinner, reservations required.
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la Carte open for dinner, reservations required.
Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la Carte open for dinner, reservations required.
Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner, reservations required.Located at Viva Wyndham Maya
Portofino
Mediterranean restaurant a la Carte open for dinner, reservations required. Located at Viva Wyndham Maya
Miramare
Pizza Pasta restaurant a la Carte open for dinner, reservations required.Located at Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Cafe
Fission restaurant a la Carte open for dinner, reservations required. Located at Viva Wyndham Maya

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve RPh
Washington, Missouri
Oct 19, 2014

Viva Wyndham Azteca

We enjoyed out stay here very much. The location is ideal in Playacar. The beach is wonderful with plenty of chairs and palapas. Never had difficulty finding chairs at the beach. The pool is smaller but appeared to have enough chairs.The food was better than average. The room was fine and always cleaned daily. My wife and I were looking for an inexpensive all inclusive resort with a great beach and this fit the bill perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nousi
Geneve
Sep 26, 2014

Will be back

One week vacation. First time in Mexico. Loved the hotel. Friendly staff. Awesome all inclusive. Tip the waters for the good alcohol. The hotel beach was amazing. Definitely beat holidays of my life. Will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Whale sharks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey I
La Puente, California
Aug 22, 2014

great times

This hotel is in the perfect location. Only a 15 min walk to the downtown which has a lot of stores and restaurantes. The food was good and they mke strong drinks if you ask. The room was comfortable but bed was alitte on the hard side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anicko
Canada
Aug 15, 2014

Family vacations

Very great vacations!!! The temperature was very beautiful and very hot . The hotel is small but you have same service as a big one. The animation was cool all Day and night. The buffet is not condionned but you can eat outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can do snorkeling free a few minute when you walk on the beach outside hotel area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allinclusive4ever
Missouri
Jul 14, 2014

Beyond all-inclusive!

Staff was friendly, food was AMAZING! (I seriously don't know what anyone could complain about??) The beach was perfectly beautiful. All the included activities were fun too, but I just wish we had done more! There was always something happening--I was very impressed. Had there not been a few places we wanted to see we could've just stayed at the resort the entire time! BEST VACATION EVER...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take full advantage of all the happenings! Make sure to find the schedule of events early so you don't miss anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boobie44
Westland, MI
Jun 26, 2014

Group getaway

My overall experience wasn't bad, I just felt like because I didn't want to invest into the hotel I was treated different, although I paid the same money. You shouldn't have to be invest in an hotel in order to get treated like a VIP. I have no intention of every going there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cold Iowan
Ankeny IA
Feb 18, 2014

Great smaller resort

I found this resort to be perfect for myself and husband. It is on a smaller scale than its sister resort, Wyndham Maya which is a few blocks away. I found the rooms clean, beds comfortable, food at the specalty restaurants very good, and it was within walking distance to Playa Del Carmen, via beach. Resort grounds were beautiful and immaculate. I would definately recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you book excursions, would definately take the city bus from downtown Playa Del Carmen. It costs $5 per person and will take you to Xcaret, Tulum or any other parks you desire. Much cheaper than booking through your resort or someone trying to sell you a package deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aloproductions
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 18, 2014

Staff Couldn't Find My Reservation....

When I arrived the staff couldn't find my reservation, so they sent me to their sister resort "Viva Maya" - which I disliked. A day later travel agency re-notified the hotel of my reservation, and I was given a room. The staff was poor at handling a reservation made 4 months in advance. Staff was okay, although I felt discriminated due to being Hispanic. The staff was more attentive to the Anglo and white tourists. I noticed several discrepancies throughout my stay, this was disappointing. Food selection was good, facilities were decent. I didn't like the fact the pool closed at sunset 6pm, how disappointing! There is no light in the beach area, so your out at your own risk =( The activities offered are Kayaking, Wind Surfing, and bike rentals. I had a good time, however I think I won't return here...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your tours at the small plaza, a short walk from the hotel. They have cheaper rates than the hotel tour desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KMGL4
New Jersey
Jan 15, 2014

Family Orientated

This resort was very nice and well located. The staff was great and super friendly. Somwhere you can bring your family and feel comfortable and at home. The beach was beautiful and the pool as well. Big enough to feel relaxed and not claustrophobic. The food at this resort was awful. I was definitely expecting better tasting food as well as quality but on the upside it was my only dislike. Hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CIndy1698
Chicago, IL
Oct 19, 2013

Amazing

Great experience . The resort was close to mostly all the attractions. Staff was amazing some spoke little english, but going to the mother land and speaking spansh at my home was no problem for me to communicate . My family and i went during school season so the resort was not very full but that was comforting. The all inclusive food was amazing and allways changed themes everyday. Overall the place was great and worth the first ever plane ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is amazing didnt have to spend a penny outside of the resort. Buffet style all day long!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top