Outrigger Lae Nani

3 stars
410 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
19 reviews
Relaxing at Lae Nani in Kauai

My wife and I went for our 25th Anniversary and we both think this was our best Vacation in our 25... See full review

  • Big Orange Fan
  • Oct 2, 2011
gorgeous location for family vacation

Our unit in Outrigger Lae Nani was better than we had hoped for. Our 1 bedroom condo was clean,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Feb 23, 2010
Low-key, low-rise condominium resort offers relaxation and convenience
Elegant coconut palms sway over low-rise buildings and gardens, giving Outrigger Lae nani the feel of a Hawaiian hideaway though it is just a two-minute walk from the eclectic shops and restaurants of Coconut Marketplace. The resort is tucked into a curve of shoreline with a sweet golden beach and protected lagoon that is ideal for young families, but further along Wailua Beach surfers will find a little wave action. Lae nani is casual and relaxed with spacious vacation condos that make island living easy.
Highlights
  • Protected lagoon for families
  • Relaxed, casual ambiance
  • Access to restaurants and spa at Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort and Spa
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
Location
The eastern shore of Kauai, a.k.a. Royal Coconut Coast, is an excellent base for those who want to explore all that Kauai has to offer. From here visitors can tube in the old plantation irrigation ditches of Lihue, boat up idyllic Wailua River to mysterious Fern Grotto and play golf on any of several nearby courses or those up -- or down -- the road in Princeville and Poipu. Adventuring further afield to the Na Pali Coast or Waimea Canyon makes for a fine day's outing.
Rooms
Around 50 of the 84 units at Outrigger Lae nani are in Outrigger's rental pool. One-bedroom condominiums have 1.5 baths and 804 square feet; two-bedroom/two-bath units range from 1,072 to 1,096 square feet. Outrigger Lae nani is moderately priced but condos are nicely decorated with a full kitchen, including dishwasher. Some units have Internet access (fee applies). The condo resort provides maid service on request (fees apply).
Features
Outrigger Lae nani is an excellent resort for casual vacationers who want a central location with spacious, well-appointed condominiums but without a lot of bells and whistles. The two- and three-story buildings do not have elevators and there is no restaurant on-site, but Coconut Markeplace is very close by. There is a nice-but-nothing-fancy pool, tennis court and grills for guest use. If Outrigger Lae nani guests want a dose of upscale, they can head to the restaurants or spa at Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort and Spa, a mile away.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation services available
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (20.8 mi/33.4 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (36.5 mi/58.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Starting 1 July, guests staying at the Outrigger at Lae nani will check-in at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort and Spa, which is a quick two-minute drive away. Keys, island briefing and easy directions will be provided at Outrigger Waipouli Resort. The Outrigger at Lae nani will still be staffed with Outrigger employees. The new property phone number is 808-823-1401.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Outrigger Lae Nani Rooms

Two bedroom garden view
The Two Bedroom Garden view is 1070 sq. ft. There is a fully equipped kitchen with two Bathrooms and a washer/dryer. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: one queen bed in the Master bedroom and two twins in the second bedroom. Some units offer a sofa sleeper in the living room.
One bedroom ocean view
The One Bedroom Ocean view is 800 sq. ft. with a breathtaking view. There is a fully equipped kitchen with one and one half Bathrooms and a washer/dryer. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: one queen bed or one queen bed with a sofa bed.
Two bedroom ocean view
The Two Bedroom Ocean view is 1070 sq. ft. with a breathtaking view. There is a fully equipped kitchen with two Bathrooms and a washer/dryer. The bedding is on a request basis only and is as follows: one queen bed in the Master bedroom and two twins in the second bedroom. Some units offer a sofa sleeper in the living room.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Lae Nani also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.0526 -159.3311
Area served
Kapaa, Kauai, HI
Nearby airports
Lihue International Airport-LIH
Area description
On the beach in the Wailua River area, 7 miles north from Lihue, centrally located between the south and north shores.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Lae Nani

Overall score

3.9 / 5
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

2
Big Orange Fan
Carthage, Tennessee
Dec 30, 2012

Big Orange Fan

We visited last year and it was our Best Vacation ever. This year not so good. We asked for Garden View to be closer to the garden only to realize we got the only unit (416) without also a view of the ocean, our mistake. We like the Lae Nani location but not our room this time. The unit being on the ground floor had a mildew smell when we first entered. When my wife contacted the front office about it, she was told there was nothing that she could do about it and was somewhat rude. We opened all the windows and let it air out and that helped a little. During our stay a Monk Seal was visiting daily and laying on the beach. It was neat to watch how the volunteers and security staff protect these endangered animals. Last year, we went to the state park on the west side and drove to the lookout but could not see the view for the fog. Someone mentioned this is the best view on the entire island. This year the wind cooperated and we were able to view and the sight was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Again, the best food we ate, we prepared ourselves. Being from the South, maybe we expect more.

Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

4
Barefoot Wedding
Sacramento, Ca.
Oct 20, 2012

Quiet and Relaxing and Beautiful

Compared to a hotel this condo was great and roomy with two baths, kitchen and a great view. It was quiet and the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The area has the local hawaiin vibe which we loved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

4
Dan and Linda
Gresham, OR
Jan 23, 2012

First Trip to Kauai

Our stay at Lea Nani was terrific! The gardens and grounds are a big plus. Everything was manicured and just a beautiful place to come back to after a day out enjoying the island. The gardener even trimmed the flowers by our room and gave us cuttings for a vase in our room, then left fesh cut bananas on our lanai! While we loved the setting, our initial room was less than great. We had booked an "ocean view" one bedroom condo, our room, 214, had basically a view of the pool with a very limited view of the ocean. The room was very outdated and needed some deep cleaning. After two nights, we were there 8 nights, I inquired about moving to a different room. The office staff were very helpful and arranged for us to move as soon as something became open on our 4th day. We made the short move to #312 and it made all the difference in our stay at Lae Nani. It was so much nicer, updated, fantastic kitchen and bedroom, baths, living area, and had a very nice view of the beach, ocean and mountains! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Kauai and would book a room at Lae Nani again. Just make sure you ask about the room. Building #3 and #5 look to have the best views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

4
SbOo7
Kapaa, HI, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Pretty nice

room 232 has a great view. Decor is a little 70ish but overall nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from bubbas burgers save your money and go to mcdonalds. Snack bar burgers sold at restaurant price.

Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

5
Big Orange Fan
Carthage, Tennessee
Oct 2, 2011

Relaxing at Lae Nani in Kauai

My wife and I went for our 25th Anniversary and we both think this was our best Vacation in our 25 years. The laid back relaxing style was all we hoped it would be and more. We rented a car and toured Waimea Canyon on the west side, drove north and visited the lighthouse and on to the end of the road and both were less than 2 hours from our eastern location. Saw waterfalls and roosters. The best food we ate we cooked ourselves. The Kitchen and outdoor grills make it like being at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We tried dining out and decided to cook about half our meals and enjoy the condo, the pool and the ocean.

Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

3
Former Residents of Kauai
Fresno, CA
Jun 24, 2011

Resort grounds are beautiful.

Lae Nani's grounds are beautifully landscaped and impeccably groomed, with fabulous ocean views. The condo we were initally assigned [...] (#214) was anything but. Although it is Hawaiian tradition to remove your shoes before entering, we simply could not walk barefoot on that carpet. We don't mind old, but this carpet was old and filthy. The "sleeper sofa" was equally filthy, and shabby. The drapes were hanging on every other hook, half hemmed and also dirty. Although the kitchen was old, it was the only thing that looked or felt clean. It was NOT a good first impression. We talked about purchasing some disinfectant spray and making do, but decided that no amount of disinfectant spray was going to make that place acceptable. Disappointed, we went back to the office and explained that it was not what we expected. We were told that there was another place available if we did'nt mind climbing stairs. This condo was what we expected. The carpet was clean, the bedspread was clean, the hemmed drapes were actually hanging on the rod, and the sleeper sofa was clean. PERFECT! [...] Because of the graciousness of the staff at Lae Nani, we had a beautiful vacation in a lovely condo with a breath-taking view. Had it not been for the availability of another condo, our stay at Lae Nani would not have been so pleasant.The swimming lagoon at Lae Nani is a relatively safe place for children to play in the ocean (which can be quite rough at this location). BBQ's and pool are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are great Mai Tai's at an outdoor bar located just two resorts away on the beachfront walking trail.

Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Feb 14, 2011

Dirty and no privacy

We stayed at Lae Nani last year and had a wonderful experience. Apparently not all the units are the same. They put us in a first floor unit this year. There is zero privacy. You have to make sure your patio is locked at all times. People walking by all the time. Our bedroom was right next to the parking lot. All you hear is cars and people most of the day and night. Our unit was in dire need of an update as well. The carpet was horribly stained. It could use a coat of paint and a tv bigger than 13 inches would be nice. Our whole island experience was less than great this year. Definitely our last trip to Lae Nani and probably Kauai too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Holo Holo Charters will rip you off. We paid $380 for a boat tour of Ni'ihau and the Napali coast. We didin't go to Ni'ihau at all and only saw two miles of the Napali coast. COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY!

Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Largo, Fl
Jan 31, 2011

Kuaui Trip

The Condo is very nice and quiet with a beautiful view of the ocean whereever you stay on site. Also has a nice pool, but it is not heated. Rooms were nice size, but some need updating. Also a good location to see the whole island. Only 5 minutes from the airport in Lihue. We would certainly stay there again and would highly recommend it for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Ca
Jan 14, 2011

Lovely place to stay

There was a gorgeous view of the ocean. The place was spotless. The bed and couches were very comfortable. The location is also very convenient because it is close to the airport, great restaurants, grocery stores and yet, it is very peaceful and quiet. The only thing I wish they had was an elevator, as it was strenuous lifting heavy luggage up three flights of stairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Outrigger Lae Nani

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Weaverville, Ca.
Mar 29, 2010

Awsome place for couples

We took our 2 highschool grads as a gift. They were our oldest grandchildren.So the place having a kitchen was a must since teenagers eat non-stop. All of us were very impressed with the management and the condo.It had everything we could have asked for.The grounds were kept very nice. It would have been the perfect place to go with my husband alone. And I believe we will.The condo also had water boards in the closet to use. The teenagers loved that.We loved the barbeques by the pool.It made meals affordable and as good as eating out.We liked the north end of the Island the best.Much greener.We did the horseback riding trip.Don't take it if you are an experinced rider and if you are not in good shape its quite a hike to the waterfall and back out.2 or 3 miles north was a great little flea market with all kinds of reasonable souvaneirs. And the mall right next door was nice to. On the south side we had a nice drive to the canyon, expect to be gone a half a day.Book your rental car with your trip its half the price.We hope to come alone next time and really relax with each other.We also really liked the security of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't over pack there is a nice laundry setup right on the place.There is a costco that we used for all of our groceries.

Back to menu Return to top