$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

3 stars
View map of 2253 Poipu Road, Koloa, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

4.2/5

Overall score

91%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2
Low-rise condos with tranquil gardens and ponds in Poipu.
The former home of Hector Moir, manager of Koloa Sugar Plantation, and his wife, Alexandra, sits at the heart of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger, a 33-acre condominium resort. Guests today are welcomed in the same setting where the Moirs welcomed guests, and the gracious home overlooking ponds, orchids and a cactus garden houses the Plantation Garden restaurant. Low-rise buildings with plantation-era details evoke the charm of old Hawaii. You can't get closer to the beach than this, but you may occasionally share it with a sea turtle or monk seal.
Highlights
  • Alexandra Moir's legacy, Moir Gardens
  • Complimentary wired Internet in condos for guests with laptops
  • Poipu Beach with surf breaks, water sport rentals
  • Book one-bedroom oceanfront units at least six months out
Location
On Poipu Beach, with easy access to restaurants and shopping
Rooms
There are 333 one- and two-bedroom condominiums on 33 acres. Ranging from 620 to 1,180 square feet, all condos at Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger have complete kitchens, one or two lanais, and a pullout sofa. Maid service is available upon request for a fee.
Features
Guests share in several nice facilities nearby. Parents with children age 4-12 enjoy adult time while kids play next door at Sheraton's supervised children's program. Kiahuna Golf Club, a short drive away, offers Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger guests special rates and charging privileges at its restaurant and pro shop. Of course, beach lovers need only stroll a short way to get their fill of surf and sand.

Around 24 couples a year marry here, many under the spreading banyan tree. Those who want to say "I do -- again" can join a complimentary weekly vow renewal ceremony for up to six couples.
Dining
The on-site Plantation Garden serves up nostalgia and Pacific Rim cuisine. Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger guests are also welcomed at Joe's on the Green at Kiahuna Golf Course. Grills are available on the property and there is a well-stocked grocery store across the road. Groceries can be pre-ordered online for delivery.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Taxis and limousines at airport
Attractions
  • National Tropical Botanical Garden Visitor Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (15 mi/24.1 km)
Policies and Fees
Guests have access to the pool, spa, fitness center and tennis courts at Poipu Beach Athletic Club.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger Rooms

One bedroom royal garden
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. You will enjoy a wider garden view in this unit than you do in the regular Garden View unit. Complimentary in room high speed internet service is also included.
One Bedroom Garden View
This unit is a spacious 880 square feet of living space. It features a fully equipped kitchen with one bathroom. The bedding is one queen or king bed in the master bedroom with a sofa sleeper in the living room. There is no air-conditioning but there are ceiling fans. Complimentary in room High Speed Interent Access is also included.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Top hotels

Dining

CasaBlanca
Mediterranen and traditional American fare, open every day for lunch and dinner, full bar. Located in our swim & tennis club.
Plantation Gardens
A Poipu tradition, located in the former plantation manager's home, the menu reflects the cuisine of old plantation Hawaii. Cocktails and dinner nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alain D.
Grivegnee
Feb 18, 2015

excellent stay

On Kauai for vacation, stayed there 3 nights and a great time. Property is amazing with direct access to the beach. Their garden is gorgeous and so are the condos. Quiet, clean, full amenities, private lanai and really close to anything on the south shore and west coast. Possible to eat out or cook at home or even use the gas barbecues outside. Shopping can be done just across the street but i recommend Big Save in Koloa, better selection and prices. This place deserves 5 stats, great value for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephen M.
N/A
Dec 24, 2014

It depends

I suspect this resort can be really great or really average depending on what and where your unit is. Could be really nice up by ocean but was pretty noisy near back part of resort where our unit was and unit was in just OK shape. 1BR units don't have much privacy in the BR if kids are in the living room. Our unit was not updated and could really use some TLC. Though nothing was terrible, for what you can get these days on various timeshare rental sites, this was not a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tmvb
Sherman Oaks, CA
Sep 28, 2014

Wonderful place

Clean with great beach for swimming or snorkeling. Private, quiet and relaxing. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bakery at whole foods type market (1 mile west) has best bread ever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flyingnun
Portland, Oregon
Mar 7, 2014

Kauai dreaming

Great location to beach and the island in general. Condo had a great bed. No beach toys however so I left them a boogey board and some tubes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Holo Holo boat cruise along the Napali coast, Great captain and crew.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Have2HaveUniqueNameFam4
silicon valley
Feb 24, 2014

Could be upgraded

We stayed at Kiahuna Plantation 14 years ago and my recollection was that is was quite nice. We had access to the pool at the Sheraton back then. Now, no pool access!!! Bathroom yucky after a few days. Smelled moldy, full of sand and water, hard to clean. They should really clean EVERY room mid week if you are staying more than 7 nights. Also disliked all shuttered interior and exterior doors. No privacy in unit (e.g. master bedroom and bathroom). Maybe because we had flash flood warnings coming in on our cell phones 2 of the days, but it was super humid/wet in the unit. Honestly, will stay at Marriott next door next time. Yes, beach location good. But we were in garden view, so super far from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Salt was the best walk to place for dinner of the 4 places we tried.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trina W
Billings, mt
Feb 15, 2014

Not much to brag about

For facility and amenities, the property is overpriced. No daily housekeeping, (while on vacation I don't want to have to pick up and do the dishes. We didn't realize this and then spent 4 days dealing with sand. They will bring you fresh towels if you call and ask) Beach front hotel ?? (our room was a 3 block walk to the beach) No pool, no on-site breakfast or lunch facility. No air conditioning. This was huge for us, but I know a few folks who would have been uncomfortable. This is a owner/rented condo facility managed by the Outrigger Corp. On the plus side: The grounds are lovely and well cared for and situated on PoiPo road, it is a good location. Across from the shopping village and a few dining spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Golf course dining room for breakfast and lunch, moderate in cost but close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mir.
Vancouver
Oct 20, 2013

Reviw

Room was farawey from ocean, too close to street and night traffic. For money we paid I expected more. Otherwise staff was very frendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R and D Alt
Stockton, Ca.
Oct 12, 2013

Convenient place to relax and visit with our Grandkids

We went to Kauai to visit our Grandkids, so we weren't looking for a luxurious place just a clean family place to relax on the beach. The grounds were pleasant, full of flowers and nice landscaping. Didn't use the restaurant at all so can't speak to that. Just a nice place to enjoy the Grandkids and take them zip lining, movies, shopping, eating out. Checking in and out went well so the staff were helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed our trip and would go back again. Thank you Donna and Ron Alt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy so much food to fix in the kitchen, cause you end up not cooking it. Just easy stuff or barbecue. Costco has too big containers. We would be out North and were hungry, and that was often the case.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rexi
Sacramento,CA
Sep 26, 2013

Nothing Extra

We stayed a week here in Sept '13. The grounds are indeed beautiful and quite extensive.There are a number of 2 and 3 story "cottages" sprinklers about and location is everything. Pay for an ocean view otherwise you may end up at the edge of the property like we did and have the noisy parking lot and busy street to listen to all night. They don't give you much extra. Coffee is $1 a pack-only 2 packs are complimentary. They did not clean at all but did give us a towel exchange once during the week so conserve your towels! If you want shampoo , conditioner and soap that actually lathers then bring your own. The room itself was nice, large and airy and fully stocked but I was bothered by no A/C ,I know now that a humid climate is not my friend. The worst problem was the lack of a pool. I asked for a room upgrade as compensation and was denied. I will not stay in a place without a pool again. The beach was nice but the waves were a little rough-not calm at all. If it had A/C and a pool I would stay again but not until.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Costco or Walmart when you get to Lihue and buy your food and souvenirs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Show me the wine
Sacramento, CA
Jun 12, 2013

Fantastic Vacation spot!

Great place to stay, lots of nearby activities to do, great beach, facility, and staff too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puka Dog - best hot dogs on the island :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top