$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

3 stars
75-6040 Alii Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
31 reviews
Felt Very Welcome!

This condo was gorgeous - very homey, with nice touches like a cooler in the closet for outings and... See full review

  • Maui Lover and Clan
  • Aug 24, 2013
Surprising comfort and views from our accommodation.

The building complex has beautiful ocean front access and two pools. Rooms are condominiums and... See full review

  • No more war
  • Apr 21, 2013
Located on seven acres of prime oceanfront land two miles south of the town of Kailua-Kona, the gracious Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff is a multi-level complex of striking architecture that descends toward the coast to afford dramatic views.

The seven-level property consists of spacious studios, one- and two-bedroom suites. Each deluxe unit includes a complete kitchen, washer/dryer, air conditioning, lanai and other in-room amenities.

On-site recreational amenities include a choice of fresh water or salt water pool, jet spa, sauna, barbeque grills, a tennis court, activity desk, parking and security. Maid service on request for a fee.

This is a non-smoking property.

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Rooms

One bedroom garden view
The One Bedroom Garden View units are 850-925 sq. ft. with a marvelous garden view. The bedding is on request basis only and is as follows: one queen bed with a sofa bed or two twin beds with a sofa bed. All units have lanais, fully equipped kitchens, microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, air conditioning, washer/dryer, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards.
One bedroom ocean view
The One Bedroom Ocean View units are 850-925 sq. ft. with a generous view of the ocean. The bedding is on request basis only and is as follows: one queen bed with a sofa bed or two twin beds with a sofa bed. All units have lanais, fully equipped kitchens, microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, air conditioning, washer/dryer, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards.
Two bedroom ocean view
The Two Bedroom Ocean View units are a spacious 1100-1300 sq. ft. with a generous view of the ocean. The bedding is on request basis only and is as follows: one queen bed, one king bed and a sofa bed, or one queen bed, two twin beds and a sofa bed. All units have lanais, fully equipped kitchens, microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, air conditioning, washer/dryer, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6194 -155.9845
Area served
Kailua-Kona, Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
Located on the prime oceanfront land.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Lover and Clan
Montana
Aug 24, 2013

Felt Very Welcome!

This condo was gorgeous - very homey, with nice touches like a cooler in the closet for outings and complementary body boards and beach chairs to take along. The beds were great, with plenty of space for us and our 3 teens. We had two lanais with beautiful views of the ocean. The worst part about the room was having to check out!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susan1000
British Columbia
Jun 24, 2013

OK ...

The hotel was centrally located and looks renovated - 5/10 mins walk to downtown Kona and a great 4.5 mi walk or jog path (road side) just outside the hotel. We had a rental car, so was able to go to Hilo and visited many sights in a day, visited many beaches and hiking trails in our two-week trip. Don't be mislead by the description "garden view" - you may have the view of tree tops, a peak of ocean and the parking lot #that's what we had# but we were compensated with an updated unit #updated within last 5-10 years#, close to the elevator and with a quiet air con and working #a plus#. We requested for clarification of "garden view" and change of unit with better view. We were informed that "garden view" basically means "no view" and if we want a view, we can pay for upgrade. There was not much information provided at the time of check-in; five days later, when we enquired we were provided with information that #upon request# there are additional costs for cleaning services, towel changes and extra laundry powder packs #nominal cost#. This hotel is quiet and great as the main starting/meeting location. We would return for that reason. If you can afford the additional costs, highly recommend to go for the ocean front unit. We would if we decide to return to Kona in a future vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkelling and beaches - walk to downtown Kona, to the end of Alii road, the Marriotte hotel/resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No more war
Seattle, WA
Apr 21, 2013

Surprising comfort and views from our accommodation.

The building complex has beautiful ocean front access and two pools. Rooms are condominiums and thus vary. Our rooms were more spacious than described with a full kitchen and laundry. The sunset and ocean views from our two private patios were outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walter Lima
Barrie, Ontario
Feb 17, 2013

Annual Family Getaway to Hawai'i

As a repeat client to the Resort, I greatly recommend this location. Great location and views when you select ocean view units. Two good sized pools on site overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the daily sunsets. Gas BBQ's and large seating area for the home style BBQ'er. Easy walk to Town (approx 2 miles) to go to local restaurants, seadoo's, submarine and para-sailing which was awesome (do the 1200ft height as you can see more of the Pacific and its ocean life "whales" Also take the dip option, you don't get too wet) Concierge very helpful with planning/booking events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jackie Reys for Wino Wednesdays, Humpys for awesome Pizza and Lava Java's for your morning 6:30am start coffee/breakfast. The Coffee Shack is a driving distance south of Kona on Hwy 11. (approx 20min) Great place for breakfast when heading out to see the Black Sands, the National Volcano Park on the southeast part of the Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erin from Victoria
Victoria, BC Canada
Dec 14, 2012

Terrible

We would not recommend or go here again. My sister & mother inlaw's 1st room smelled moldy / musty, the carpets had large stains on them. The appliances were rusty in all the rooms and ants were running round. After complaining the hotel put them in another room which smelled musty too, the inside dishwasher rack was so rusty that we couldn't use it and had to wash the dishes by hand. This room had stains on the carpets too. The fridge had a water drip on the outside that never stopped, The microwave was the loudest I have ever heard. The rooms seemed poorly updated & repaired. Our room smelled musty too despite having wall to wall tile. We tried using fabreeze in all the rooms and it only worked for a day then the smell came back. It didn't seem like the staff wanted to help & told us that they didn't have any other rooms. We felt like they didn't have any better rooms & we had no choice and had to settle. Our bed was hard as a rock even with a foam topper put on it. The pool was so cold no one seemed to want to use it. Good points for these rooms were nice views of the ocean & not far from Kailua Kona strip . Over all not a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Heard about a new restaurant that is not in the phone book yet called Anthony's a short drive from the this hotel by Magic Sands beach. The food was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcihelle
WA state
Nov 24, 2012

nice rooms and location

great location, my teens could walk to the shopping area. Rooms were clean and comfy. We however were as far away from the pool and ocean as you could get, so it was quite a walk to the pool. Our room was on the road so you could here traffic instead of ocean. There is no restaurant on site. Nice place but I would pick differently knowing what I do now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MK2012
Sacramento, CA
Jun 5, 2012

On the decline

This property is in need of an update. The room was very clearly mostly original installation from the late 70s/early 80s. Fridge door didn't close right and the outside was rusting. Trim around the counter tops was peeling off. Rack in the dishwasher was delaminating and rusting. Bathroom door didn't close right and the bathroom faucet leaked. They also had an insect problem, as the room reeked of insectiside. Location is a bit south on Alii Drive, so to get to restaurants in Kailua is a bit of a walk. They had some sort of issue with the parking gate and instead of raising the gate for me, the maintenance guy directed us to wait in the parking area for 20 min (meantime he let 3 other cars through) while they worked on it. Oh, and despite their own brochure saying that they cleaned the rooms every 3 days, our room was never serviced over the course of a week's stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck from Missouri
Missouri
May 17, 2012

Incredible Sunsets

Sunsets captivated us each evening in our Ocean Front room. Front desk staff very helpful. Even after we checked out at noon on our last day, they recommended we "hang at the pool" and enjoy a free cultural event that evening before our departure flight. The young woman said: "You're checking out... we're not kicking you out...enjoy the food and show." Charles from Missouri

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkel or Scuba Dive at night with Manta Rays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birda
Colton, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2011

A great place to stay...

Their was a group of about 30 of us that flew into Kona/Big Island for my son wedding. Everyone love the the hotel, and the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Water falls, the volcano and of course the BEACHES...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Foxes
Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Great facility and location

We have stayed here before, and it is a great place to stay. It has been recently remodeled with very nice touches. Very comfortable, and great location. Close to great dining in Kailua, snorkeling, and Kona airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lava Java bistro has 50% off entries from 5-6 PM (with Expedia coupon you can get at the Royal Sea Cliff). Great food and right on the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top