$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

3 stars
1 Queens Highway, Colliers Bay East, Grand Cayman,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
175 reviews
The Local experience!

This resort is positioned on the east side of the island: what I call the "local side". It's away... See full review

  • Kaily traveler
  • Jan 6, 2014
Peaceful, Beauitful Getaway

Friendly staff and locals. Beautiful, clean beaches. Spacious resort and great drinks at the bar.... See full review

  • PPocket
  • Apr 29, 2014
Ocean views from spacious suites on quiet East End of Grand Cayman

The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate known as one of the few resorts on Grand Cayman with all beachfront suites, offers every guest sweeping views of palm trees, the private white sand beach, and the spectacular turquoise Caribbean Sea from a spacious condo. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. It doesn't hurt that The Reef boasts the largest beach of any resort in Grand Cayman, three landscaped pools, and a full service spa.

Highlights
  • All beach-facing lodging
  • Quiet East End location, great for diving
  • Full kitchens or kitchenettes
Rooms

Lodging for one to six guests consists of a mix of studios, one bedroom, and two bedroom beachfront suites, all with a patio or balcony to savor beautiful views and cool ocean breezes. Studio units and the master bedroom in the suites include a king bed, the guest room in the two-bedroom units is queen sized, and Murphy beds provide additional sleeping in the larger suites. Studios feature a kitchenette with mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster, while one- and two-bedroom condos feature a full kitchen including a stove and dishwasher. All units provide cable television with a DVD player.

Features

White Sands Watersports arranges exciting adventures for snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking and more. Or choose to swim and sunbathe, then visit popular sites in the area such as The Queen Elizabeth Botanic Park, Rum Point, and Stingray City. Relax at The Reef with amenities such as three landscaped swimming pools, beach volleyball, tennis court, wireless internet access (fees apply), and an Internet Cafe.


Experience the soothing, natural benefits of "YonKa Therapy" at Le Soleil Spa, the on-premises spa, which offers aromatherapy, phytotherapy, fruit therapy and marine therapy. Its specialized treatments incorporate all the plant world has to offer.


Legendary Barefoot Man, a world famous Calypso artist, performs weekly at The Reef Resort.

Dining

Three onsite restaurants offer a variety of dining options and ambiance. The Pelican's Reef provides both air-conditioned indoor seating (weekends only) and patio seating for a la carte Caribbean-inspired menu of fish, lobster, and steak dishes. Rusty Pelican Beach Bar provides more casual dining, and offers pizza delivery and room service to the condos. The Barefoot Bistro offers casual indoor dining for breakfast and lunch.

Transportation
  • Owen Roberts International Airport (25 mi/40.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • George Town (20.9 mi/33.7 km)
Business
  •  Conference room holds up to 70 people
  •  On-site audiovisual help
  •  Catering staff for banquets
  •  High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Energy fee is $8 USD per room/night at studios/deluxe studios, $12 USD per room/night at one-bedroom suites and $20 USD per room/night at two-bedroom suites.
  • The resort charges a 12% service fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate Rooms

One Bedroom Executive Suite/Beachfront
Beachfront 1BD Executive Suites include an area of approximately 900 square feet. The Suites consist of a bedroom with king size bed, bathroom, fully equipped kitchen (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker), dining area and living room. Two pull out Murphy beds in the living area provide for a total sleeping capacity of four. Kitchen and house ware equipment such as tableware, cutlery, cooking utensils and other such articles are provided. With a full kitchen, Beachfront Suites are popular with families and couples enjoying longer stays. Sleeps four.
Studio/Beachfront
Beachfront Studios include an area of approximately 450 square feet and a patio or balcony. They consist of a bedroom with a king size bed overlooking the Caribbean, full bathroom, a kitchenette (mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster). The unit accommodates two. Ideal for couples!
Two Bedroom Master Suite/Beachfront
Beachfront 2BD Master Suites include an area of approximately 1400 square feet and a patio or balcony. Guests booking a Beachfront Master Suite will either be accommodated in a combination of a Beachfront One Bedroom Executive Suite and Beachfront Studio, or in one of our dedicated Two Bedroom Master units. Either floor plan provides an excellent choice for a group or perhaps just a family of four seeking our most spacious accommodations. Two Bedroom master suites consist of 2 bedrooms (1x king bed, 1x queen bed), a fully equipped kitchen (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker), dining area and living room. Two pull out Murphy beds in the living area provide for a total sleeping capacity of six.
Deluxe Studio/Beachfront
Beachfront Deluxe Studios include an area of approximately 490 square feet with balcony. Deluxe Studios consist of a bedroom with a king size bed overlooking the Caribbean, bathroom and oversized whirlpool tub, a kitchenette (mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker). The unit accommodates two. Deluxe Studios are a very popular choice with honeymooners and romance couples!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.3467 -81.0909
Area served
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Nearby airports
Owen Roberts International Airport (GCM): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes and distance is 25 miles.
Area description
Located on the quieter east end of the island, never has a resort been more aptly named than The Reef. Protecting the waters and pristine beach of Colliers Bay, the reef contributes to the beauty of the location in so many ways. It provides the catalyst that creates the kaleidoscope of colors on the waters surface, the muffled symphony of background music as waves roll against it and a beautiful sub aquatic wonderland. The sheer beauty that surrounds them will soon entrance those that take time out to absorb and experience the sights and sounds.

Dining

Rusty Pelican's Beachbar & Grill
Enjoy a frozen drink while warming your feet in the warm sand! The Rusty Pelican's beach bar is popular by all for drinks, lunch & dinner and the Caribbean Sounds of music. It is open for lunch and dinner.
Pelican's Reef Bistro & Restaurant
Pelican's Reef Restaurant offers exquisite food, wonderful drinks and spectacular views of the Caribbean. The famous Barefoot Man performs here frequently. Pelican's Reef Bistro is also oceanfront and invites for breakfast, lunch & dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Reef's conference facilities invite you for your business conference away from your office. Conference room holds up to 70 people providing technical equipment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tish C.S.
Oneonta, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Cayman getaway!

View was excellent. The location-peace and quiet, was just what we were looking for. The resort and staff need some work. We were there 6 nights and had to ask for towels, which were only provided twice,as was the room cleaning. The bed was extremely hard. Staff often didn't have answers to simple questions. One bar staff was rude when my husband asked for water. After buying a few food items across the street and placing them in the warm fridge, we called the front desk. We told them the microwave and coffee maker weren't working and the fridge wasn't cold. Turned out the outlet didn't work and the fridge ended up somewhat cool, but not cold by any means. We heard multiple times that the Windham was going to buy The Reef out. If the place was better managed it would have gotten a better review so hopefully a change in ownership will do the condo owners good. Overall we enjoyed the Grand Cayman and would return. Regarding the hotel.... it was ideal for tranquility but lacked that special something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book the trip at the hotel if you want to go to Sting Ray City. We had a very small group of 8 and Captain Chris was great. As we were all enjoying the Sting Rays, 4 other charters came to the general area but far enough away. One boat had 120 people on it. We had a much more enjoyable time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stingwray skip
Missouri
Jun 28, 2014

short get-away

The hotel was easy to find and it is a beautiful drive from the airport. The staff are so nice. The bartenders make the best "mudslide" found anywhere on the island. Barefoot Man show was good but I think the meal could of been better. This is mainly a time share resort but I never felt intimidated to go through their sales pitch. Nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome Italian. restaurant across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PPocket
Brooklyn,NY
Apr 29, 2014

Peaceful, Beauitful Getaway

Friendly staff and locals. Beautiful, clean beaches. Spacious resort and great drinks at the bar. This is not a fancy, 5 star resort but a perfect getaway and far away from the hustle and bustle of Georgetown. The chicken BLT sandwich they offer is delish ! Will definitely come again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Our lesson learned is that next time we come here we will book a rental car. Taxis to and from the airport and into town were crazy overpriced ! Sometimes $100 !! Give yourself the flexibility and save money. Rent a car down here !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuliaV
Westchester, NY
Apr 19, 2014

Perfect family getaway resort

The Reef Resort is perfect if you are looking for a peaceful and uncrowded location. All inclusive plan worked great for our family. One bedroom oceanview unit was spacious, clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MooseyPlace
Sioux City, IA
Apr 17, 2014

Nice, Quiet, Relaxing Area

After a great deal of research and contemplation about which resort to choose while on Grand Cayman, we decided on The Reef and couldnt have been happier. It is away from seven mile beach and about 30 minutes drive from the airport. The resort sits right on the beach. We had a first floor room and would walk out and within steps be on the beach. The snorkeling in this area is mych better than Seven Mile Beach due to the reefs right out in front of the hotel. It was a great area. Only a couple restauarants if you dont have a car but we did just fine with the food around the area as well as the grocery store across the street. Will definitely stay again and for a few additional days!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the rooms have at least a mini kitchen and a lot have full. There is a grocery store across the street that can save big time compared to eating out every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sastrugi
Rhinebeck, NY
Feb 10, 2014

Great relaxation spot

After three nights at a hotel on Seven Mile Beach we came to The Reef for three nights and it was great: relaxing in the beach chair, snorkeling out front, and having drinks by the water. The all-beachfront rooms are a nice touch. Not a luxury place but well-run with a friendly vibe. It's a very quiet area but just what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Di Lou
Houston, Texas
Jan 6, 2014

Winter Getaway

The Reef Resort staff were all helpful and friendly. If you want a relaxing place to stay and don't mind being so far from Seven Mile Beach this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The grocery store, Italian restaurant, and also souvenir shop directly across the street were all great and super convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaily traveler
Dallas
Jan 6, 2014

The Local experience!

This resort is positioned on the east side of the island: what I call the "local side". It's away from the resort experience and saturation of tourists, but within walking distance to the best dive post, and short driving distance to some of the best restaurants the island has to offer. The east seems a little more representative to Cayman life. Not necessarily about convenience, but about authenticity. - The access to diving amenities were sublime! Tortuga Divers is quite literally the best dive shop I've had the priveledge of using, anywhere in the Caribbean. Moreover, the hotel gives access to great reef snorkeling, right from the beach! #I do recommend a rental car if you stay on the east, and like to wander or explore.# Accomodations and service at the Reef were very good. Housekeeping did a generous job tending to messes way beyond their call of duty. Will definitely be returning!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants like Tukka, Eagle Rays, Light House, Bombay Chopsticks, Rum Point and Kurt's Corner were wonderful culinary experience - this from a "foodie". Make reservations if you can, but they are truly worth the wait if you just walk in!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
experienced travelers
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 30, 2013

Snooze fest

If you are looking for absolute peace and quite, this is the place. Minimal entertainment offered, same menus for breakfast, lunch and dinner. No excitement here! Staff was excellent though. Friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonnaC Mom
Upperco, MD
Jul 27, 2013

Reef Resort July 2013

This was my first time on Grand Cayman. The Reef Resort was very nice and the people that work there very accommodating. However, our room tv (DISH satellite) had terrible reception the entire 9 days we were there and it never really got fixed. Also a MAJOR issue I had was when I checked in, they asked for my credit card and told me they were going to charge it $100 per day, up to $500 total for "room incidentals". I balked at that! I had already prepaid for my entire stay and planned on paying cash for everything else. I told them in no uncertain terms "NO"! I am very upset that NOWHERE on the resorts website does it mention this practice. What if I hadn't brought a credit card??? Would they have taken $500 of my cash from me and potentially leaving me short?? Other than that issue, my 16 year-old daughter and I enjoyed ourselves very much. We rented a car for our stay, so we were able to go anywhere we wanted since there is not a lot at the East End of the island. I HATED the roundabouts on the island though!!! The street signs #what few there are# are awful and I got lost every time we were coming back to the resort from somewhere in the west. White Sands Water Sports, which is right at the resort, are great to deal with. We did their "Sunrise Sail to Sting Ray City" which was fabulous!! We were the only one's there at the time!! All in all, we had a great time and I would recommend the Reef Resort, but all should be aware of the practice of charging the credit card up front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian Kitchen is literally right across the street from the resort and it's very good! The pizza is fabulous!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top