$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

The Reef Resort

3 stars
1 Queens Highway, Colliers Bay East, Grand Cayman,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
170 reviews
The Local experience!

This resort is positioned on the east side of the island: what I call the "local side". It's away... See full review

  • Kaily traveler
  • Jan 6, 2014
Perfect remote get away for the price

In sum: This is a perfect vacation for couples of families interested in a beautifully maintained,... See full review

  • TBT2061
  • Dec 15, 2012
Ocean views from spacious suites on quiet East End of Grand Cayman

The Reef Resort, known as one of the few resorts on Grand Cayman with all beachfront suites, offers every guest sweeping views of palm trees, the private white sand beach, and the spectacular turquoise Caribbean Sea from a spacious condo. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. It doesn't hurt that The Reef boasts the largest beach of any resort in Grand Cayman, three landscaped pools, and a full service spa.

Highlights
  • All beach-facing lodging
  • Quiet East End location, great for diving
  • Full kitchens or kitchenettes
Rooms

Lodging for one to six guests consists of a mix of studios, one bedroom, and two bedroom beachfront suites, all with a patio or balcony to savor beautiful views and cool ocean breezes. Studio units and the master bedroom in the suites include a king bed, the guest room in the two-bedroom units is queen sized, and Murphy beds provide additional sleeping in the larger suites. Studios feature a kitchenette with mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster, while one- and two-bedroom condos feature a full kitchen including a stove and dishwasher. All units provide cable television with a DVD player.

Features

White Sands Watersports arranges exciting adventures for snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking and more. Or choose to swim and sunbathe, then visit popular sites in the area such as The Queen Elizabeth Botanic Park, Rum Point, and Stingray City. Relax at The Reef with amenities such as three landscaped swimming pools, beach volleyball, tennis court, wireless internet access (fees apply), and an Internet Café.

 

Experience the soothing, natural benefits of "YonKa Therapy" at Le Soleil Spa, the on-premises spa, which offers aromatherapy, phytotherapy, fruit therapy and marine therapy. Its specialized treatments incorporate all the plant world has to offer.

 

Legendary Barefoot Man, a world famous Calypso artist, performs weekly at The Reef Resort.

Dining

Three onsite restaurants offer a variety of dining options and ambiance. The Pelican's Reef provides both air-conditioned indoor seating (weekends only) and patio seating for a la carte Caribbean-inspired menu of fish, lobster, and steak dishes. Rusty Pelican Beach Bar provides more casual dining, and offers pizza delivery and room service to the condos. The Barefoot Bistro offers casual indoor dining for breakfast and lunch.

Transportation
  • Owen Roberts International Airport (25 mi/40.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • George Town (20.9 mi/33.7 km)
Business
  •  Conference room holds up to 70 people
  •  On-site audiovisual help
  •  Catering staff for banquets
  •  High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

The Reef Resort Rooms

Two Bedroom Master Suite/Beachfront
Beachfront 1BD Executive Suites include an area of approximately 900 square feet. The Suites consist of a bedroom with king size bed, bathroom, fully equipped kitchen (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker), dining area and living room. Two pull out Murphy beds in the living area provide for a total sleeping capacity of four. Kitchen and house ware equipment such as tableware, cutlery, cooking utensils and other such articles are provided. With a full kitchen, Beachfront Suites are popular with families and couples enjoying longer stays. Sleeps four.
Studio/Beachfront
Beachfront Studios include an area of approximately 450 square feet and a patio or balcony. They consist of a bedroom with a king size bed overlooking the Caribbean, full bathroom, a kitchenette (mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster). The unit accommodates two. Ideal for couples!
Two Bedroom Master Suite/Beachfront
Beachfront 2BD Master Suites include an area of approximately 1400 square feet and a patio or balcony. Guests booking a Beachfront Master Suite will either be accommodated in a combination of a Beachfront One Bedroom Executive Suite and Beachfront Studio, or in one of our dedicated Two Bedroom Master units. Either floor plan provides an excellent choice for a group or perhaps just a family of four seeking our most spacious accommodations. Two Bedroom master suites consist of 2 bedrooms (1x king bed, 1x queen bed), a fully equipped kitchen (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker), dining area and living room. Two pull out Murphy beds in the living area provide for a total sleeping capacity of six.
Deluxe Studio/Beachfront
Beachfront Deluxe Studios include an area of approximately 490 square feet with balcony. Deluxe Studios consist of a bedroom with a king size bed overlooking the Caribbean, bathroom and oversized whirlpool tub, a kitchenette (mini refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker). The unit accommodates two. Deluxe Studios are a very popular choice with honeymooners and romance couples!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.3467 -81.0909
Area served
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Nearby airports
Owen Roberts International Airport (GCM): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes and distance is 25 miles.
Area description
Located on the quieter east end of the island, never has a resort been more aptly named than The Reef. Protecting the waters and pristine beach of Colliers Bay, the reef contributes to the beauty of the location in so many ways. It provides the catalyst that creates the kaleidoscope of colors on the waters surface, the muffled symphony of background music as waves roll against it and a beautiful sub aquatic wonderland. The sheer beauty that surrounds them will soon entrance those that take time out to absorb and experience the sights and sounds.

Dining

Rusty Pelican's Beachbar & Grill
Enjoy a frozen drink while warming your feet in the warm sand! The Rusty Pelican's beach bar is popular by all for drinks, lunch & dinner and the Caribbean Sounds of music. It is open for lunch and dinner.
Pelican's Reef Bistro & Restaurant
Pelican's Reef Restaurant offers exquisite food, wonderful drinks and spectacular views of the Caribbean. The famous Barefoot Man performs here frequently. Pelican's Reef Bistro is also oceanfront and invites for breakfast, lunch & dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Reef's conference facilities invite you for your business conference away from your office. Conference room holds up to 70 people providing technical equipment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
Sastrugi
Rhinebeck, NY
Feb 10, 2014

Great relaxation spot

After three nights at a hotel on Seven Mile Beach we came to The Reef for three nights and it was great: relaxing in the beach chair, snorkeling out front, and having drinks by the water. The all-beachfront rooms are a nice touch. Not a luxury place but well-run with a friendly vibe. It's a very quiet area but just what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
Di Lou
Houston, Texas
Jan 6, 2014

Winter Getaway

The Reef Resort staff were all helpful and friendly. If you want a relaxing place to stay and don't mind being so far from Seven Mile Beach this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The grocery store, Italian restaurant, and also souvenir shop directly across the street were all great and super convenient.

Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
Kaily traveler
Dallas
Jan 6, 2014

The Local experience!

This resort is positioned on the east side of the island: what I call the "local side". It's away from the resort experience and saturation of tourists, but within walking distance to the best dive post, and short driving distance to some of the best restaurants the island has to offer. The east seems a little more representative to Cayman life. Not necessarily about convenience, but about authenticity. - The access to diving amenities were sublime! Tortuga Divers is quite literally the best dive shop I've had the priveledge of using, anywhere in the Caribbean. Moreover, the hotel gives access to great reef snorkeling, right from the beach! #I do recommend a rental car if you stay on the east, and like to wander or explore.# Accomodations and service at the Reef were very good. Housekeeping did a generous job tending to messes way beyond their call of duty. Will definitely be returning!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants like Tukka, Eagle Rays, Light House, Bombay Chopsticks, Rum Point and Kurt's Corner were wonderful culinary experience - this from a "foodie". Make reservations if you can, but they are truly worth the wait if you just walk in!!!

Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
experienced travelers
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 30, 2013

Snooze fest

If you are looking for absolute peace and quite, this is the place. Minimal entertainment offered, same menus for breakfast, lunch and dinner. No excitement here! Staff was excellent though. Friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
DonnaC Mom
Upperco, MD
Jul 27, 2013

Reef Resort July 2013

This was my first time on Grand Cayman. The Reef Resort was very nice and the people that work there very accommodating. However, our room tv (DISH satellite) had terrible reception the entire 9 days we were there and it never really got fixed. Also a MAJOR issue I had was when I checked in, they asked for my credit card and told me they were going to charge it $100 per day, up to $500 total for "room incidentals". I balked at that! I had already prepaid for my entire stay and planned on paying cash for everything else. I told them in no uncertain terms "NO"! I am very upset that NOWHERE on the resorts website does it mention this practice. What if I hadn't brought a credit card??? Would they have taken $500 of my cash from me and potentially leaving me short?? Other than that issue, my 16 year-old daughter and I enjoyed ourselves very much. We rented a car for our stay, so we were able to go anywhere we wanted since there is not a lot at the East End of the island. I HATED the roundabouts on the island though!!! The street signs #what few there are# are awful and I got lost every time we were coming back to the resort from somewhere in the west. White Sands Water Sports, which is right at the resort, are great to deal with. We did their "Sunrise Sail to Sting Ray City" which was fabulous!! We were the only one's there at the time!! All in all, we had a great time and I would recommend the Reef Resort, but all should be aware of the practice of charging the credit card up front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian Kitchen is literally right across the street from the resort and it's very good! The pizza is fabulous!!!!

Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
Cay Man Jim
Winston Salem, nc
May 26, 2013

Holiday

Good basic room, studio misrepresented as larger and better equipped kitchen facilities . Jacuzzi tub nice touch. Bed very uncomfortable, most likely cheap mattress and box springs. Concierges and maid services excellent, restaurant and front desk not impressive. Fabulous location if you are looking for seclusion, peaceful surroundings. Snorkeling off the beach and shor walk or drive excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wreck View Art Gallery. Local art, crafts, jewelry, trinkets and cheesy souvenirs at reasonable or great price. All money supports local citizens not corporations. Capt'n Henry's fish fry. Mahi, wahoo, tuna steaks and whole red snapper caught that morning, fabulous food not your typical fish n' chips!

Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
tdrive
michigan
May 6, 2013

not all that except great office help

very expensive. billing for services excess exchange payment using us money. the hotel should offer to exchange currency at check in some how .if you go to cayman get your money changed. the only place to use us money is at the cruise ship area the stirp of shops take dollars. we also had problem with cock roaches. all they did was give us a can of bug spry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rum point for all activity sting ray city a must.

Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
Cayman Crazy
Granger, Iowa
Apr 13, 2013

Pure Relaxation

If you're looking for a quiet and peaceful vacation the Reef is definitely the place to stay. The beach is never crowded and evenings are very quiet. The hotel is located on the East End of the island so you'll want to make sure you rent a car upon arrival. The staff is very friendly and the bar tenders are superb! If you're interested in scuba diving, I strongly recommend Ocean Frontiers. They are located about 5-10 min. from the Reef and the staff is incredible. My husband and I have been to Cayman twice and both times we stayed at the Reef and had a GREAT experience! 

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
SleepyCatNYC
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2013

Relaxing getaway

The Hotel location is perfect if you want to experience the "nature" side of the island. The Hotel itself is just OK; staff was polite, but not overly nice or helpful. The pool is small and the jacuzzi too hot. The beach is not the best, especially when compared to the other ones nearby. The room was always clean and cold (AC runs all day), however the balcony has zero privacy since there is no real partition between the rooms. The view was very nice! We haven't tried the food since the Restaurants did not have very good reviews. The Bar is just OK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small shopping mall just across the street. You will find everything you need there.

Review of The Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
Beach Envy
Fairfax, VA
Mar 9, 2013

Quiet Getaway

If you are looking for a quiet vacation with great snorkeling, this is the place to be. If you need to be in a "tourist" environment, stick to Seven Mile Beach. The East end has the best snorkeling, but amenities are sparse. There is a restaurant at the hotel and a fantastic Italian restaurant across the street along with a grocery store. Nothing a rental car can't solve. The hotel was average with an awesome staff and incredible ocean views with every room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining is quite expensive. Take advantage of the equipped mini kitchen.

Back to menu Return to top