$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Comfort Inn By the Bay

2 stars
2775 Van Ness Ave., San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
80 reviews
Perfect place to see San Fran

The hotel staff was cordial and very helpful especially in holding our luggage on the last day... See full review

  • Grandbee
  • Jul 24, 2014
Great place to stay

Found the hotel but had to circle the block because couldn't enter the driveway from Van Ness. But... See full review

  • Lramos
  • Jun 24, 2014
Located on the corner of Van Ness Avenue and Lombard - The World's Most Crookedest Street and at the Gateway to Fisherman's Wharf. A ride on the world renowned cable cars begins a mere three blocks from the front door with Ghiradelli Square, fresh seafood, shopping, and ferries to Alcatraz...all a ten minute walk away. Refrigerator available in some rooms. FREE high speed Internet in all rooms. Hotel is 100 percent non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn By the Bay also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.801 -122.425
Nearby airports
San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, E; Oakland Int'l Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, E; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Fishrmns Whrf 1M

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn By the Bay

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CherMc
California
Aug 12, 2014

Needed to be in the City

The location of this hotel is really perfect in terms of being centrally located to all San Francisco has to offer. The staff was very friendly, the room was very clean, and I would recommend the Comfort Inn to travelers and anyone needing to conduct business in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boboquivari's and exceptional place for a wonderful dinner and drinks.

Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dsaffs
Burbank, California
Jul 27, 2014

Good for the Price

The parking lot is really small and tight but we parked and used public transportation the rest of the trip so it was okay. The employees were helpful and answered any questions I had. The room is pretty ordinary. There is a wall unit AC & it kept our room cool. There is no fridge in the room and WIFI was a little difficult. However, overall for the price and location it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandbee
lynchburg,va
Jul 24, 2014

Perfect place to see San Fran

The hotel staff was cordial and very helpful especially in holding our luggage on the last day because we had a red eye flight. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast area was big and inviting .the breakfast was good and had many choices! Overall , we were more than satisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lramos
San Francisco
Jun 24, 2014

Great place to stay

Found the hotel but had to circle the block because couldn't enter the driveway from Van Ness. But once we parked (in a very tight under ground garage) there were no other problems. They let us use the garage before check in so we were able to sightsee before check in. The gave us a map & pointed us in the right direction. Room was totally acceptable - clean with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Great location - easy walk to the wharf, lots of bus stops nearby. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beginning of trolley line Powell/Hyde is very close. Buy an all day pass for $15. Will get you on any bus, cable car, trolley up until midnight.

Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sparkysikes
San Diego california
Jun 16, 2014

location location location

It's location let's you walk from the hotel to the wharf or to Chinatown. How ever it's $26 to park your car at this hotel steeper than others and my biggest complaint is the 4:00 check in time and 12:00 check out. Most places you get closer to 24 hours. The curtains are against moist windows so show sign of a darker mold but the rooms suffice for sleep and they have a decent breakfast but not enough room to sit and eat buy allow you to take the food to your room. It's an average room average hotel average everything but being in San Francisco means it's much pricier. In other cities the same price gets you a suite in a 4 star hotel for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a buss pass so a quick trip to the wharf and many other places are closer at hand. Remember San Francisco has many many steep hills

Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolMeihui
Taiwan
Mar 18, 2014

Good stay in SF

Staff, Alex, helped a lot. Location is good with bus stop near by and 10~15 minutes walk to Fisherman's Wharf. The only suggestion I would give is to change the supplies of breakfast. The breakfast was good, own made waffles, egg, meat, bread,...etc but no change. I stayed for 4 days and had same breakfast. It would be better to change sometimes. Bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NAL1128
Business
Sonoma
Feb 18, 2014

Good Value - a lovely stay for me :)

While staying at this hotel during my work week at Moscone Center for SF Gift Show I could not have been much more happy ! The staff person on duty was pleasant and most helpful - the only negative was that there were not enough tables in the breakfast room in the morning and my issues are more about rude guests who were pushing and jumping lines - not the fault of hotel staff - simply, people behaving badly, oh well ! I will return to this property - it is a good value and very comfortable and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

from downtown SF - take the #27 Muni bus and transfer to #30 to the hotel - a short walk or another bus transfer - I'm a Senior and paid .75 cents for the ride to hotel - wooo hooo !! Happy !

Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jabes99
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 27, 2014

Perfectly acceptable

This hotel is a great, no-frills value. The staff is helpful; the rooms are clean. It's not the Ritz, but, hey, it's a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonicarel
Riverside, California
Jan 26, 2014

Great location

We stayed at this hotel before and will again, especially when we get a great room rate, like we did this time. The rooms and hotel are clean, bed comfy, and it comes with breakfast. What's great about staying there is its location - right on the bus line and within walking distance of many destinations. We know exactly what we're going to get when we stay there, and that keeps us coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't need a car. SF has a great metro system. You can get a 3-day or 7-day pass for a reasonable price.

Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glamma
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Jan 20, 2014

Perfect location

We missed our first night and a planned bus trip because of flight delays, but we got there the next AM ,took the transit bus down to Pier 39 -bought a hop on hop off bus pass on a double decker bus and toured the whole city ,with a trip over the bridge to Sausilito. The staff were friendly and informative, the breakfast was good. We had a great view of the Golden Gate bridge from our room,the bed was comfy, we climbed the hill on Lombard Street to see the crooked road and all in all had a lovely time at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

right across the street on Lombard a hole in the wall sub shop with the most amazing toasted sub sandwiches. also the transit bus is very good you can get to the pier for 75 cents [ senior ] in about 8 min.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map