$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

Comfort Inn By the Bay

2 stars
View map of 2775 Van Ness Ave., San Francisco, CA 94109-1497

Hotel Overview

3.4/5

Overall score

80%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6
Located on the corner of Van Ness Avenue and Lombard - The World's Most Crookedest Street and at the Gateway to Fisherman's Wharf. A ride on the world renowned cable cars begins a mere three blocks from the front door with Ghiradelli Square, fresh seafood, shopping, and ferries to Alcatraz...all a ten minute walk away. Refrigerator available in some rooms. FREE high speed Internet in all rooms. Hotel is 100 percent non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn By the Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn By the Bay

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mananee
Tijuana, B.C.
Nov 18, 2014

Best buy

hello, we really enjoy being on this hotel, great location, the personnel was very helpful, the breakfast it is really complete and good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

fisherman Warf the food is really good there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
actuarius
Connecticut
Sep 2, 2014

Pretty good

Stayed 3 nights. Very good accommodation. No significant complaints. Very clean. Good breakfast with lots of choices Minor issues: - no view from our room - inadequate elevator service, particularly at busy times (and you can't use the stairs, because it would set off the fire alarm) - staff starts clearing breakfast shortly before the 9:30 end time (so don't come at 9:25 and expect to find all of the choices available)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waldport traveler
Waldport, Oregon
Aug 28, 2014

Great location

We walked to Fisherman's Warf the first night. The second day we walked to Union square and shopped till we dropped! We found our way to China town and finally had a fantastic Italian dinner in North Beach. The. Hotel was very centrally located. The breakfast was pretty good too. Love the waffles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Within walking distance to many attractions if you wear tennis shoes. Prepare to take a cab back, you'll be tired.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CherMc
California
Aug 12, 2014

Needed to be in the City

The location of this hotel is really perfect in terms of being centrally located to all San Francisco has to offer. The staff was very friendly, the room was very clean, and I would recommend the Comfort Inn to travelers and anyone needing to conduct business in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boboquivari's and exceptional place for a wonderful dinner and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dsaffs
Burbank, California
Jul 27, 2014

Good for the Price

The parking lot is really small and tight but we parked and used public transportation the rest of the trip so it was okay. The employees were helpful and answered any questions I had. The room is pretty ordinary. There is a wall unit AC & it kept our room cool. There is no fridge in the room and WIFI was a little difficult. However, overall for the price and location it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandbee
lynchburg,va
Jul 24, 2014

Perfect place to see San Fran

The hotel staff was cordial and very helpful especially in holding our luggage on the last day because we had a red eye flight. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast area was big and inviting .the breakfast was good and had many choices! Overall , we were more than satisfied!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lramos
San Francisco
Jun 24, 2014

Great place to stay

Found the hotel but had to circle the block because couldn't enter the driveway from Van Ness. But once we parked (in a very tight under ground garage) there were no other problems. They let us use the garage before check in so we were able to sightsee before check in. The gave us a map & pointed us in the right direction. Room was totally acceptable - clean with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Great location - easy walk to the wharf, lots of bus stops nearby. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beginning of trolley line Powell/Hyde is very close. Buy an all day pass for $15. Will get you on any bus, cable car, trolley up until midnight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sparkysikes
San Diego california
Jun 16, 2014

location location location

It's location let's you walk from the hotel to the wharf or to Chinatown. How ever it's $26 to park your car at this hotel steeper than others and my biggest complaint is the 4:00 check in time and 12:00 check out. Most places you get closer to 24 hours. The curtains are against moist windows so show sign of a darker mold but the rooms suffice for sleep and they have a decent breakfast but not enough room to sit and eat buy allow you to take the food to your room. It's an average room average hotel average everything but being in San Francisco means it's much pricier. In other cities the same price gets you a suite in a 4 star hotel for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a buss pass so a quick trip to the wharf and many other places are closer at hand. Remember San Francisco has many many steep hills

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolMeihui
Taiwan
Mar 18, 2014

Good stay in SF

Staff, Alex, helped a lot. Location is good with bus stop near by and 10~15 minutes walk to Fisherman's Wharf. The only suggestion I would give is to change the supplies of breakfast. The breakfast was good, own made waffles, egg, meat, bread,...etc but no change. I stayed for 4 days and had same breakfast. It would be better to change sometimes. Bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn By the Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NAL1128
Business
Sonoma
Feb 18, 2014

Good Value - a lovely stay for me :)

While staying at this hotel during my work week at Moscone Center for SF Gift Show I could not have been much more happy ! The staff person on duty was pleasant and most helpful - the only negative was that there were not enough tables in the breakfast room in the morning and my issues are more about rude guests who were pushing and jumping lines - not the fault of hotel staff - simply, people behaving badly, oh well ! I will return to this property - it is a good value and very comfortable and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

from downtown SF - take the #27 Muni bus and transfer to #30 to the hotel - a short walk or another bus transfer - I'm a Senior and paid .75 cents for the ride to hotel - wooo hooo !! Happy !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top