$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

3 stars
View map of 150 Kapahulu Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

3.4/5

Overall score

76%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8
Queen Kapiolani Hotel is named for the beloved wife of King David Kalakaua. The spirit of regal patronage lives on in the historic portraits and candle chandeliers which line the lobby, while the generous 'aloha' welcome is rolled out with lomi lomi (hot stone) massages at Honua Spa. The serene 3rd floor pool deck at this smoke-free hotel has a bar staff ready to hand guests cocktails fit for royalty. Eat waffles to your heart's content at the morning buffet on Kulana Terrace, while the tides of Waikiki Bay ebb and flow, and the forested summit of Diamond Head Crater looms in the near distance.
Key facts
  • 314 guestrooms
  • Third-floor pool
  • Kulana Terrace Restaurant and Pool Bar
  • Exclusive golf discounts to local golf clubs
  • Honua Therapeutic Spa
  • Valet parking available
  • Coffee shop and deli in lobby
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
Located directly between Kuhio Beach and Kapiolani Park, guests are never far from days of canoe rides, surf lessons and languid catamaran trips. Some of Oahu's best nightly events take place around the Waikiki area, with hula dances and torch processions down on the sands. There's also plenty of native marine life waiting at Waikiki Aquarium, as well as the motley crew of animals, from skunks to orangutans to zebus, at Honolulu Zoo in the park - less than half a mile away.
Hints and tips
If you're an animal lover, book a room on the Kapahulu side of the hotel - facing the zoo, you can be literally be awakened by the call of the wild.

Before leaving Waikiki, order dessert at Roy's, a local restaurant known for its Hawaiian specialties. The fresh-to-order upside-down pineapple cake is a signature treat.
Policies and Fees
  • This is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Queen Kapiolani Hotel Rooms

Diamond Head View
Diamond Head view room with one king or two double beds. Rooms include air conditioning, refrigerator, telephone with voicemail, complimentary in-room safe, shower/tub, color cable television, FREE WiFi internet access, coffee maker,iron/ironing board, hairdryer. Maximum guests 4 per room
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room with one king bed or two double beds. Rooms include air conditioning, refrigerator, telephone with voicemail, complimentary in-room safe, shower/tub, color cable television, FREE WiFi internet access, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer.Maximum guests: 4 per room
City View Room
City view room with one king, two double beds or two single beds. Rooms include air conditioning, refrigerator, telephone with voicemail, complimentary in-room safe, shower/tub, color cable television, FREE WiFi internet access, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer. Maximum guests: 4 per room
Standard Room
Guest room with one double bed or 2 single beds. Rooms include air conditioning, refrigerator, telephone with voicemail, complimentary in-room safe, shower/tub, color cable television, FREE WiFi internet access, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer. Maximum guests: 2 per room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Queen Kapiolani Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Top hotels

Dining

Kulana Terrace
Daily: - Breakfast 6am to 10am - Food/Bar Service 11am to 8pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KellyK
N/A
May 14, 2015

Amazing trip

We had an amazing time at the Queen Kapiolani. We booked a normal room on the 7th floor and it was a very nice room. I have to use a wheelchair to get around sometimes and I did have just a little issue getting into the room. If I stopped my chair at the door, and walked the rest of the way, it was fine. We had to wait almost 5 years to take our dream trip to Hawaii and a few days into our stay, the front desk manager bumped us up to the penthouse suite! The staff were all so kind and very quick to offer us any help we needed. The valet guys were especially friendly, which we really enjoyed! Tons of Aloha given freely here. The penthouse had AMAZING panoramic views of both the city, Waikiki beach and it provided everything we needed. They were both comfortably furnished, clean and seemed well maintained. Would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Honolulu! The absolute BEST vacation I've ever taken and we WILL be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nicole l.
council bluffs
May 10, 2015

Pleasantly Surprised

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. I found that it was the cheapest price in the area so I was a little hesitant about how nice it was going to be. I was pleasantly surprised. This is hotel is very nice, great location, clean nice rooms, and helpful staff. Very close to everything. Ocean is right across the street. Dining and shopping within short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruth W.
N/A
May 7, 2015

Convenient location and great price

Convenient location and great price. Bike rental company in the hotel was super helpful as well as the check in the stands and the cleaning staff .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alfia L.
N/A
May 4, 2015

Great family trip

Hotel has a great location, close to beach and zoo. Check-in and check-out was just wonderful and very quick. We can get a beach towel at any time. Room service was great. We got Diamond Head view room, 10th floor, we can see and hear a Zoo, just excellent view from a balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rosalyn j.
conroe
Apr 25, 2015

Nice hotel.

Nice hotel, slight problem with tiny ants in bathroom. Overall, we didn't have any complaints and very friendly staff. Ice cream shop in hotel very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David Kerr
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Great location !

A little rough around the edges ( closet doors hard to move) but great value for the money! Close to the beach , great views of Diamond Head ,great staff,etc. One wing has louvered windows but we were one with sealed windows.A nice pool with a deck in the sun all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ERIC W.
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

beautiful place

the hotel staff was amazing great service positive attitude no microwave in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scotty N.
N/A
Mar 11, 2015

bait & switch

The rooms shown online are NOT the room you get upon check in. I know Honolulu is an expensive city to visit however for the $1300 I paid for 8 days I think the room should be better than your avg. roadside motel.The room was ok & fairly well kept, but lumpy hard mattresses & maybe 10 channels on tv as well as basically no water pressure in shower doesn't equal a $160 plus per night room.ONE drastically overpriced restaurant in house also limits your options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scotty N.
N/A
Mar 11, 2015

bait & switch

The rooms shown online are NOT the room you get upon check in. I know Honolulu is an expensive city to visit however for the $1300 I paid for 8 days I think the room should be better than your avg. roadside motel.The room was ok & fairly well kept, but lumpy hard mattresses & maybe 10 channels on tv as well as basically no water pressure in shower doesn't equal a $160 plus per night room.ONE drastically overpriced restaurant in house also limits your options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phyllis H.
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Relaxing Experience

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We love it here it is at the end of the strip of hotels. It faces Diamond Head and a nice park with the beach just across the street. If you are looking for a hotel out of the hustle & bustle of the crowd but with in walking distance of most things this hotel is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top