$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

InterContinental San Juan

4 stars
5961 ISLA VERDE AVENUE, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
541 reviews
RELAXATION BEFORE CRUISE

Everything about our stay at the InterContinenal San Juan was great!!! The staff was attentive and... See full review

  • Always Traveling Jones
  • Sep 14, 2014
Fantastic for a romantic Getaway

Awesome!! This Hotel was absolutely Beautiful! The staff is amazing they will treat you like... See full review

  • Nunuu
  • Sep 1, 2014
A backdrop of wild, tropical surroundings and a two-mile stretch of beach is offered by the InterContinental San Juan resort in Puerto Rico.  High-end touches to its island setting make guests feel constantly spoiled, from its canopied poolside lounge chairs to its chocolate granite and indigo decor. Troops of palm trees keep you company while you stroll by water fountains to take a dip in the outdoor pool. Get your heart racing at the gym or drop by for a relaxing massage at the spa. Five restaurants satisfy culinary wishes, and you can grab a drink at one of the welcoming hotel bars. Finish the night accompanying Lady Luck around the casino.
Key facts
  • 412 guestrooms
  • Spa
  • Full-service casino
  • Meeting facilities
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 4 on-site restaurants: Ruth's Chris Steak House, Trattoria Italiana, Momoyama, Ciao Mediterranean
  • 2 bars: I Bar and the Ottanta Bar
  • On-site gym
  • Whirlpool and sauna
Neighborhood
Picking up an authentic panama hat from Ole, a custom hat fitter, is just one of the ways to embrace the local culture in historic Old San Juan. Crammed with eateries, shops, boutiques and museums, this is a vibrant community. Caficultura dishes up an excellent breakfast spiked with rum (at your request), making an excellent start to a morning spent at the Eastern side of the area. Take a trip out and zip-line through the El Yunque Rainforest, or go at a more relaxing pace on its lower levels. You'll spot some incredible wildlife, including the charming Puerto Rican parrot.
Hints and tips
Club level rooms are excellent for guests desiring a child-free vacation.

Make sure to try a signature plate of grilled chicken and beans during your visit.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

InterContinental San Juan Rooms

Ocean View Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access
Laguna Room
1 King or 2 double beds. Independent temperature control and air conditioning Hair dyer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock , radio AM/FM Bill / Message viewing, safe deposit box in room, in room movies Oversized desk, direct in-dial lines available, two telephones with speaker and data port In room Wi-Fi Internet access

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental San Juan also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4429 -66.0197
Area served
Isla verde, San Juan, Carolina, Old San Juan, Rio Piedras, Hato Rey, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), estimated distance from property 1.5 miles.
Area description
The resort hotel is located on two miles of white sand beach, making it a preferred San Juan luxury hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 18,000 sq. ft of flexible meeting and banquet space. Wireless Internet available throughout our conference center with several choices of bandwidth available.

Dining

La Bodequita
caf and wine bar offering light gourmet breakfast, lunch and evening delights. Open daily from 5:30 a.m. "10 p.m.
I-Bar
the resorts main lobby bar serving the best martinis and cocktails in a contemporary setting. Open daily from 11 a.m. "2 a.m. Also serving local cuisine specialties
Aqua Bar & Grill
light lunch fare and your favorite tropical cocktails. Open 11 a.m."6:30 p.m weekdays and 11 a.m."8:30 p.m weekends.
Ciao Mediterranean Caf
Authentic Mediterranean cuisine offered in an oceanfront setting. Open daily 11 a.m."11:30 p.m.
Momoyama
Traditional Japanese cuisine with Teppanyaki tables and Sushi Bar. Open Monday through Friday from 12 p.m. "3 p.m. and 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday from 5 p.m. "10:30 p.m.
Ruths Chris Steak House
open daily 6 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Trattoria Italiana
the resorts signature Italian restaurant. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30a.m. - 12 p.m. Dinner from 6 p.m."11 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (541)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental San Juan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
541 out of 541
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chelleee
San Francisco, California
Oct 24, 2014

Birthdaycation

The hotel was just average. The bell boys were the coolest staff! Front desk people were alright but the kitchen staff needs to relax! Breakfast was over priced and they told me it was all you can eat. So I paid to get it to go because that's the only way if you want to eat it by the pool. I just started with a little bit of fruit and then decided I'll go back when I'm done eating my fruit. When I went back for other foods, they told me I can't do that so she literally had me put everything back AFTER I scooped it onto my plate. Gross? So I guess I'm upset because I paid about $20 for fruit and some of it was old! That really annoyed me. This hotel is alright, nothing too special but I guess it's one of the nicer hotels in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EuphoriasAurora
Atlanta, GA
Oct 14, 2014

Quick Weekend Getaway

Great place/location for a quick getaway! If you plan on staying on the beach this is the spot to be, but if you are looking for more outdoor activities I would recommend venturing further East on the island. Unfortunately we had to spend a lot of time in the car to get a lot of places from this hotel. The stay itself at the hotel was very comfortable and the staff was extremely pleasant. I would definitely come back again for a relaxing weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Stay further East on the island if you are interested in doing a lot of outdoor activities (rain forest, bio bay, etc.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevo whyte
New your new your
Oct 6, 2014

Weekend getaway

Beautiful hotel great pool great restaurants beautiful beach //// but the cleaning staff make too much noise when they clean rooms next to mine like nitting the wall and door with there carts //// my other problem is if your paying resorts fee why do you have to pay for the umbler on the beach that pis me off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

No night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Always Traveling Jones
Plainfield, NJ
Sep 14, 2014

RELAXATION BEFORE CRUISE

Everything about our stay at the InterContinenal San Juan was great!!! The staff was attentive and serviced our every need. The food at the Beach Bar was delish...not to mention the drinks were worth the money!!! I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Puerto Rico!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good small inexpensive family restaurant across the street to eat breakfast, lunch , or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cherokee917
NYC
Sep 9, 2014

Great Trip

The Intercontinental made my first solo vacation experience an amazing one. A friend of mine told me to stay in Isla Verde because of the location and she was spot on. The hotel is literally minutes away from the airport which was great. First, the hotel is beautiful. My room faced the front of the building which I didn't mind. You would never know the airport was minutes away because you never heard the planes. Okay so I heard it once vaguely but it didn't bother me. My room was very clean. No complaints. My only issue is that the bed was so darn comfortable that I can't fall sleep in my own bed. Seriously. As a female traveling alone I felt very comfortable and safe. There was always staff around and no one was creepy. All the staff were friendly and professional. Staff made restaurant suggestions both on Isla Verde and on Old San Juan and they were great. I booked tours through the hotel. Again, the tour guides were professional and friendly. The beach was amazing as was the pool and hot tub. I left my bag unattended while swimming and no one bothered it. Before going into the pool/beach you had to provide your name and room number and was given a wrist band. Great safety measures. I had no issues with the elevator. I didn't use room service or eat/drink at the hotel or pool bars so I can't speak on that. They do have a coffee shop that opens early which was great especially since the tours leave early in the morning. My first time in PR and traveling solo was a great experience thanks to the Intercontinetal. I am so ready to go back. I told all my co- workers to stay there. I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at local restaurants for that authentic Puerto Rican cuisine. One word Mofomgo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrJohnHunter
Syracuse, ny
Sep 6, 2014

san juan

Hotel was clean, and comfortable. Staff was so friendly, helpful, and genuine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jose Enriques which is by en la placida was a great dining experience. Server was very knowledgeable and friendly, and the food is different daily. After that the party on the streets surrounding is filed with music and everyone having a good time. Cheap drinks everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nunuu
Chicago
Sep 1, 2014

Fantastic for a romantic Getaway

Awesome!! This Hotel was absolutely Beautiful! The staff is amazing they will treat you like LOYALTY , nothing I can say will compare to the experience . Oh my favorite was laying on the beach and having drinks the hotel staff made sure We had a table & always checked up on us to make sure we were comfortable or if we wanted anything to eat of drink , like I said the experience was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the hotel , it's like a connivence shop/ restaurant /bar . Great food , great prices, amazing staff & very clean,. Ands lot cheaper & tastier then the way over priced hotel food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ALice Catherine
Bx.
Aug 31, 2014

Aj

I brought my granddaughter with me and she was impressed The hotel was amazing. The Staff was very helpful . Our room was beautiful and spacious. The pool was beautiful and had 2 waterfalls and a pool bar and cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabtastul

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SweetpeaATL
Las Vegas, Nevada
Aug 26, 2014

Mosquitos

The mosquitos were bad in the room. They really need to take care of the problem because it was uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental San Juan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
efoulla
NJ
Aug 25, 2014

would never go again!

I just came back from my vacation with my bf from Puerto rico! we couldn't wait to go! good thing was that the airport was a 5 minute drive to the hotel. once we got to the hotel we were told the room wasn't ready but we were able to go to the beach. a few hours later we got a call that the room was ready so we went to check in. First off the staff was very unfriendly. It took us 15 mins to get into the elevator because only 1 was working!!!! it took forever!!!! once we got into our room it was gross!!!! the bathrooms were disgusting!!! hair on the mirror, mold in the shower!!!shower curtain dirty and moldy!! we called the front desk and asked to be moved right away! we were moved then into a different room on a different floor and it turned out to be the same thing!!! gross bathroom and very muggy room! carpet was wet from being muggy! finally we had a wonderful guy help us out named Andy! he was great! got us a room on the 16th floor! room was amazing but the view was of the street. our housekeeper HIlton was wonderful as well! he cleaned our room everyday and would make us animals out of towels and put then on our bed! he was a pleasure! other than those 2 people the staff wasn't friendly at all and didn't recommend anything for us to do while it was raining! I would not go back to that hotel again. Way over priced!!!! there is nothing around or no night life! so if you are looking for things to do I wouldn't not go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Basilia's was a little cute place to go have Puerto Rican food for a decent price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top