$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
50 reviews
weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a... See full review

  • Zohreh
  • Nov 14, 2012
Had a wonderful time

We spent 4 days here sightseeing Monterey and area. Our stay at the Econolodge was a very pleasant... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 5, 2011
The Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the Monterey Fairgrounds. This Monterey hotel is minutes away from attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Pebble Beach, 17-mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Guests are invited to enjoy amenities like free continental breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and free HBO. The hotel has a seasonal outdoor pool and spa. All guest rooms come equipped with air conditioning and refrigerators. Microwaves are in most rooms. Handicap rooms are available upon request. Some rooms have kitchens on request with charges. In Room Safe: 1.99 plus tax per night. In room safes with limited warranty, up to $10,000.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5953 -121.8646
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 1.00, MI, N; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 60.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 120.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, Aquarium 2 Mi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.2

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chachita
San Francisco
Oct 13, 2014

Average

The room was spacious, The bedding need a little of mending. The TV. didn't worked very good. Not much access to variety of channels. The front desk lady was unfriendly. The location was 5 minutes away of the wharf. so it wasn't be. Towel were a little yellow. P.S. please asked the from desk people to be a little more friendly. so guess can approach the desk with confidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

5 minutes driving to the attractions. 45 minutes walking to the attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of V
Monterey, CA
Aug 21, 2014

Clean and Convenient

It was clean and convenient, but nothing special. I booked the hotel for my dad and his girlfriend, because it was close to my house and the cheapest I could find. I expected a little bit more, for the price, but wasn't sorely disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey Cook House is a quick walk and has good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Qteepie
Sacramento, CA
Aug 15, 2014

Not a Great Place

I arrived at 3 p.m. and my room was not ready. My reservation said I could check in at 3 p.m. I was told to come back in a half of hour. When I went to take a shower in the a.m. I noticed the shower curtain had mold on the bottom of it and the shower head leaked. I reported it and it got taken care of. This place was not that clean. The breakfast was the bare minimum stuff, no bagels, peanut butter or cream cheese - just coffee. 2 kinds of juices, wheat bread, and pastries .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lacrosse Dude
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 1, 2014

The Worst!

Though I have stayed at this budget motel in the past, things have greatly declined since my last visit. My room had stains in the carpet and broken furniture. The Wi-Fi did not allow for login. The biggest problem I had was that both days I was there, I left a time for a wake-up call with the desk (there are no alarm clocks in the rooms). Both days I woke up on my own a half hour after the time I had left with the desk the night before. For very little more money, much better budget accommodations can be found on Munras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Loner Luke
Business
California
Jun 20, 2014

Goods and bads

First the goods: this hotel has one of the warmest pools I've ever been in, as well as an interesting hot tub. The staff are nice, and the breakfast is ok. Moreover, the rates are pretty darn cheap. Now the bads: I've stayed here twice, and the last time was an accident (In my haste, I thought I was booking the Travel Lodge next door). I doubt I will stay here again although I appreciate a warm pool (there are a few in the area that have indoor or well-heated outdoor pools). The room I got the second time was barely okay. The first room I got was very depressing, not only because I had to get the staff to help getting the old lamps to work, but also because the room is just cheap inside. Furthermore, the connecting door was right by the bed, and there was a big storage thing in the parking spaces in front of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two good gyms within walking distance of this area/the Fairgrounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mpham
La Habra, California
Jan 10, 2014

Don't stay there! Will ruin your vacation

I've been through cheap hotel before, but this one is horrible. For start, the Indian receptionist was not friendly at all. She was hardly smile or try to be helpful.... The location was far away from the beach and very near to the local airport - so don't expect to have peaceful nite. Anyway, the minute we walked in to the room, we wanted to back out (We should but we afraid that we can not book another hotel at the last minutes so we decided to hang on to it). Anyway the smell of the pinesol fill in the whole entire room. We felt like we at one of the hospital. Everything in the room were old. We will never stay with Econo Loge at any where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conchita HP
Sacramento, CA
Dec 2, 2013

monterey

ok stay for the price at this location. there was quite a lot of noice coming from the street traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Twadec
Lancaster, ca
Oct 8, 2013

Monterey getaway

Nice and located close to everything but that's as good as it gets. Stayed two nights, we where on the first floor out of two. Could not sleep either night., to much noise from people up stairs, don't think they were out of hand just an old building with NOTHING to stop the noise between first and second story.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

17 mile drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
redlands
Redlands, CA
Sep 18, 2013

road trip

We only had to stay for one night so for the amount of time we were there it was a good value. Had i needed to stay more than one night I probably wouldn't recommend the hotel. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and it was located very near the tourist part of Monterey Bay. However the room was fairly small...so small that the TV and dresser cannot fit at the foot of the bed. So the furniture was oddly arranged in order to fit it all in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KATHY SPIDER BITE
lemoore california
Sep 16, 2013

spider

everything ok nothing out of the ordinary escept one thing my wife got bitten by a spider on her face and arms. she went in and show the front desk and she call the boss and the boss said he counldn't do nothing about it. all they did is knock down the spider web in the room. that didn't help knocking down the spider web because she got bitten again that night when sleeping and woke up with more spider bits on her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top