$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

4 stars
Via Michele Di Lando 3, Florence, 50125
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
27 reviews
Trip if a lifetime

The Hotel was excellent and the staff were outstanding and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was... See full review

  • Ned from Buffalo
  • May 14, 2014
A pleasant surprise

The hotel was easily found approaching from the south on the Senese road. A beautiful location in... See full review

  • scroper
  • Mar 21, 2014
Romance near Florence attractions

The Villa Carlotta Hotel has an ambiance that is all its own. The delightful surroundings of the hotel add to its appeal as it is situated within a lush garden. This hotel is located in one of the many artistic quarters of Florence, and as such, many sites of cultural interest are a mere short walk away. The Villa Carlotta Hotel staff can even help guests to plan their day in Florence, with reservation services available for tours and museum visits.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • 19th century architecture
  • Close to many local attractions
  • Garden terrace that makes for a scenic view
Things To Do:
  • Immobiliare Porta Romana (0.75 mi/1.2 km)
  • La Specola (1.06 mi/1.7 km)
  • Palazzo Pitti (1.31 mi/2.1 km)
  • Anfiteatro di Boboli (1.31 mi/2.1 km)
  • Piazzale Michelangelo (1.87 mi/3 km)
Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence Rooms

Among its 32 rooms, the Villa Carlotta Hotel offers three different room sizes, single, double and triple. The single room is equipped with a large French style bed. This bed is a single, but a double bed is available upon request. The double room, besides being slightly larger, is also more elegant than the single room, with higher quality furnishings. The triple rooms of the Villa Carlotta Hotel contain a double bed as well as a single bed. If need be, this may be switched to three single beds. As the bedding situation implies, the triple room is particularly attractive to small families, as they may stay in the same room together. For all the difference in bedding and size, most aspects of the rooms are the same throughout. For example, every single room in the hotel has free Wi-Fi Internet access. There is also a DVD player in every room, as well as a flat screen LCD TV. A stay in a room of this hotel entitles the guest to use one of the hotel's bicycles free of charge.

Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence Rooms

Standard Single Room
Welcoming and comfortable, ideal for those who travel for work. Enjoy the best technological services, including the free high speed Wi-Fi internet connection, DVD player, mini-bar, security safe, in room telephone, courtesy line, and flat screen LCD TV. The single room has a large French style bed. If desired, you can also request the double room for single use.
Standard Double Room
Furnished with elegant taste, the rooms are endowed with every comfort: Wi-Fi internet connection at no charge, flat screen LCD TV, DVDPlayer, mini-bar, courtesy line, in room telephone, and security safe.
Standard Double Room Non Refundable
Furnished with elegant taste, the rooms are endowed with every comfort: Wi-Fi internet connection at no charge, flat screen LCD TV, DVDPlayer, mini-bar, courtesy line, in room telephone, and security safe.
Standard Triple Room
The room offers 1 Double bed + 1 Single bed OR 3 Single beds. Furnished with elegant taste, the rooms are endowed with every comfort: Wi-Fi internet connection at no charge, flat screen LCD TV, DVDPlayer, mini-bar, courtesy line, in room telephone, and security safe.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room (60 seat) fully equipped

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Checkerdd
Reno, NV, USA
Oct 24, 2014

Grand Villa

This is a grand villa that has been expertly converted to a small hotel. It has ample back yard parking for guests - a rare thing in Florence. There are bus stops within easy walking distance. Their breakfast was generous. WIFI did not work in my room, but was fine in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shanny
Wexford, Ireland
Sep 21, 2014

Perfect for younger couple

Excellent location for us. 15 minute walk to Ponte Vecchio but in very quiet and beautiful neighbourhood. On site parking, wifi, a beautiful old building with lovely pool area, small bar and restaurant. Did not eat there but menu looked good if a little expensive. Nice to have the option there though. Very professional and helpful staff. As i said, perfect for us as a younger couple who don't mind walking (but what city can you see without walking?!) bicycles also available on site as an option . DVD selection was a nice touch for one of our evenings after a long days site-seeing, eating & drinking it was nice to just flake out. Would definitely reccommend. Having read a couple of the negative reviews I would suggest that if you are looking for a very modern hotel, a cooked (non-continental) breakfast and not to have to walk then perhaps you should look elsewhere... or maybe stay at home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit San Lorenzo market. probably 20-25 minute walk from hotel. Fantastic to walk around the food counters, soak up the atmosphere and sample/snack at the various counters. Sit-down available upstairs if that's your thing but the magic is downstairs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ned from Buffalo
Buffalo, New York, USA
May 14, 2014

Trip if a lifetime

The Hotel was excellent and the staff were outstanding and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was very, very good. The location was fantastic, in a lovely neighborhood and yet a short walk to the bus stop, wish it had been warmer weather so we could have used the lovely pool. An excellent experience over all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was exceptional! Why run around when the food is so good right there?!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scroper
Umbria
Mar 21, 2014

A pleasant surprise

The hotel was easily found approaching from the south on the Senese road. A beautiful location in the leafy suburbs of Florence behind the Boboli gardens. Fit people can walk into Florence, but otherwise take a short taxi ride. Charming Villa with delightful staff and out of season good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are good trattoria's on the south side of the river not far from Ponte Vecchio and less crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonTraveler
Naples, FL
Dec 13, 2013

Quiet, away from city noise

Situated on the "other side of the river," it is about a 30 minute walk to the station, but buses stop nearby. Parking is free to guests. Restaurant is downstairs for dinner, excellent food. Old mansion, so windows open for fresh air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arianesilvergirl
Chester, UK
Oct 26, 2013

perfect location

We found the Villa Carlotta to be an excellent choice for our one night stay in Florence. The hotel is in an excellent location away from the main sights but in a nice, leafy green quieter area a short walk away from the bridges across the Arno. For us, it was a SHORT walk away, not the longer trek that other reviewers have indicated, although we do appreciate that maybe after a few days of walking it, we may have felt differently! All the staff we encountered were friendly, polite and efficient. Special mention for the young man on reception who recommended the Osteria Santo Spirito for our evening meal- this turned out to be the best meal of our whole week's holiday in Italy and very reasonably priced. The ability to park at the back of the hotel is of course a major advantage, we had travelled from the Garfagnana area just for one night so the ability to drive straight into a parking slot was excellent after a three hour drive down from the mountains. The breakfast was not the best we've ever had, but perfectly fine and adequate. The room had a faded elegance but was spotlessly clean and tidy. We would definately return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

we found a micro brewery a street away from the Santo Spirito square run by a couple of young lads with a fondness for loud AC-DC. Hazelnut flavoured ale after a traditional Italian meal and wine might not have been sensible but we enjoyed the contrast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chaptak
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 6, 2013

Perfect Find!

We drove from Nice to Pisa and wanted to stay over before exploring Florence. Villa Carlotta was a perfect find. The "mandatory" check-in guide from Antonio made the trip: he explained where to go and recommended great restaurants. Be prepared for the following: this is not 5 mins from the sights, you have to walk 15-20 mins. Not a big deal, but good to know. Then, be aware that free parking is a bit tenuous. We couldn't park in Villa's lot because it was full. Nobody ticketed us on the street, but I worried about that a bit. I regret oversleeping free breakfast: the dining room looked palatial. All in all: great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vival'italia
Rochester, NY, USA
Jan 18, 2012

A Bit Too Far Out to be Convient...

I spent over a year living in Florence about 6 years ago si I know the area pretty well. I chose this hotel because i wanted to find a place on "the other side" of the ponte vecchio because it's filled with great local restaurants and is really where many of the locals live. This place, however, was almost a 40 min. walk to the center of Florence (duomo/train station, etc.) and from the ponte vecchio took 20-25 min. to arrive. < 10 min. from p. romana which boasts a great market but, given that we spent a reasonable amount of time near the center, it made the 40 min. walk a little impractical. Otherwise, super friendly staff that allowed us to check-in early, clean and spacious rooms (for Italy) and no other complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Casalinga is an AMAZING restuarant frequented by mostly locals in the S. Spirito area. Prices are dirt cheap and food is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roll Tide
Florida, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Girls Week In Florence

The hotel was lovely and the perfect location for our girls week in Florence. We were in a beautiful neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle but only 2 blocks from Via Romano. The hotel was able to accomodate all of us on the same floor in the main building. They were always available and assisted us with numerous details from 8 women! We had a beautiful breakfast every morning included with our stay. THe only thing we lacked was a a little more drawer space for clothing but most people might not stay as long in one city as we did. We felt like it was our personal villa and the staff was lovely to us! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat on the side streets where the locals eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Carlotta Hotel Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 25, 2011

Thoroughly UNDERwhelmed

Our stay at Villa Carlotta was not comfortable. The first night we were put in an extension of the hotel in the back building.. The room was old, the hallway smelt strongly of smoke, and the restrooms were tiny and in need of a renovation. We stood in that room the first night. However, in the morning the room smelt like a public restroom, and we requested to move rooms. The hotel staff obliged and moved our baggage to a much nicer, more modern room in the main building. Our night there was far more comfortable. However, although the neighborhood isn't downtown.... it is still in a nice, residential, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk away (5 min.) is a double decker sightseeing bus' stop. That bus will take you around Florence and is just very convenient with this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top