$198 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

4 stars
4 Grove Isle Drive, Coconut Grove, FL 33133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
150 reviews
Beautiful hotel, great scenic view.

Stayed here for an overnight layover. Wish it could have been longer. Great restaurant too with... See full review

  • Chris N Houston
  • Sep 25, 2014
Best hotel experience ever

The Staff at Grove Isle (Manager Terry Perdue especially) was outstanding. Chef Ted Mendez fed us... See full review

  • Graybee
  • Sep 22, 2014
Luxurious Coconut Grove island retreat with Colonial flair

This luxury property sits on the edge of Biscayne Bay and could be mistaken for a posh Miami estate. The hotel is swaddled by palm trees and sits on 20 lush acres on its own island in Coconut Grove. The secluded 50-room haven treats guests to water views and a full-service spa. Rooms reflect a tropical Colonial style complete with gilded columns, wood shutters and ceiling fans. A picturesque waterside jogging path and tennis courts further the resort feel.

Highlights
  • 6,000-square-foot spa
  • 11 Har-Tru tennis courts, one U.S. Open hard tennis court
  • Scenic waterside jogging path
  • Outdoor pool with bay views
Rooms

Rooms decorated in greens and browns showcase their best asset: the sparkling Biscayne Bay. The natural light shines through large picture windows. Expect other tropical accents such as wicker furniture, plush beds swathed in gauze canopies and terracotta floors. Some rooms have dining and lounge areas. As the yachts sail by, guests can unwind on balconies or enjoy the bay breezes while catching a show on the plasma TV. In every room, Wi-Fi access, marble bathrooms and pillow top mattresses are standard.

Features

In a setting this serene, the hotel makes it a point to encourage guests to play outside. Guests can practice their serve on one of 12 tennis courts, go for a swim in the outdoor pool or take a yoga class on a waterside deck. For leisure options indoor, book a Balinese spa treatment or Thai body rituals at the intimate spa. Gibraltar, the on-site restaurant, sets the scene for special occasions with waterfront views and a seafood-driven menu.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (13 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Coconut Grove
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens
  • Biscayne Bay
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Riverwalk
  • South Beach
  • Miami Convention Center
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • More than 8,000 square feet of event space, including a Grand Ballroom, three meeting rooms and outdoor space overlooking Biscayne Bay
  • Free Wi-Fi access
Policies and fees

Valet parking fee is $24 nightly with in and out privileges.

Facsimile services is complimentary for all incoming faxes and $.25 per page for all outgoing faxes.

Resort Fee of $25 per room/per night plus tax is payable directly to property and is not included in prepaid booking. This fee is inclusive of housekeeping, bottled water service upon arrival, unlimited access to our world-class spa facilities (access to facility does not include paid services or rooms/areas reserved services), full use of our state-of-the-art fitness center (access permitted during operational hours of 6am to 10pm daily ), unlimited hours of clay and hard court tennis time (access permitted during operational hours, reservations required), coffee in guest room and in lobby, newspaper, nightly turndown service and unlimited use of wireless high-speed Internet access. There is no additional charge for 1800 numbers dialed from rooms and no additional charge for local calls dialed from rooms.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa Rooms

Bay View Room
Each of these spacious guest rooms overlooks Miami's picturesque Biscayne Bay. Watch sailboats glide along the water or relax and soak up the sun and surrounding beauty this city is famous for from your private balcony. Each beautifully appointed room blends an artful British Colonial refinement with tropical island charm with elegant touches such as Italian marble bathrooms, Spanish tile floors, luxuriously plush pillow-top mattresses and plasma televisions in every room. With so much to offer, you may never want to leave.
Bay Front Room
Each of these luxurious bay front guest rooms give you a front row seat to some of the most beautiful sunsets in Miami. With over 400 square feet of pure elegance, including blonde mahogany furnishings, luxuriously plush pillow-top mattresses, Italian marble bathrooms, Spanish tile floors, and plasma televisions in every room. Open the French doors to your private balcony to enjoy gentle breezes and tranquil ocean views, with so much to offer, you may never want to leave.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Dining

Gibralter
Gibralter is a stylish and innovative seafood restaurant serving an array of local seafood and expertly prepared items such as lobster bisque, cracked conch with lemons, capers and basil oil, and Roquefort-crusted filet mignon. All enhanced by magnificent views of Biscayne Bay and the Miami skyline.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Grove Isle is an ideal place to conduct business. A rare find that offers elegant seclusion, wonderful meeting facilities and easy accessibility-all sheltered by the peace and tranquility of Biscayne Bay. Surrounded by the intimacy and luxury of Grove Isle, business planners will find five meeting rooms able to host groups of up to 250 people. Overall, there is 7500 square feet of meeting space, with plenty of room for presentations and breakout sessions. Grove Isle offers state-of-the-art audio-visual equipment and outstanding catering from the kitchens of Baleen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KpCole
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 2, 2014

Disappointment

The pictures looked so nice! Room was very outdated and not in good shape (cheap plastic flooring that wasn't installed correctly and made noise when walked on, felt like 1975 or so overall). The first night there was a wedding, so they were staying up late in the room next door, but the walls were very thin and we could hear all the conversation, etc. Difficult to figure out where to go to park, and not so friendly staff. Beware the resort fee, and a "light snack" at the hotel restaurant turned into an $80 hit to my wallet. View from the room was great, but location is not within walking distance of anything. I was expecting a very nice experience for my wife and myself, but I ended up being embarrassed about the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Avoid the restaurant, it is very pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doyonski
Tampa, FL
Oct 13, 2014

Great Get-away!!

Great service, great location and a nice escape!! The staff was awesome. They answered to our every request. Nice walking trail and not far from restaurants, bars, golfing and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to Coco Walk. Not too far of a walk, yet far enough to get some exercise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mumuy Dee
Maryland
Oct 12, 2014

Beautiful night

I loved it the view from my balcony was so enchanting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris N Houston
Houston
Sep 25, 2014

Beautiful hotel, great scenic view.

Stayed here for an overnight layover. Wish it could have been longer. Great restaurant too with seating right along the water. Loved the patio walking out to the walkway around the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Graybee
Business
sun valley CA
Sep 22, 2014

Best hotel experience ever

The Staff at Grove Isle (Manager Terry Perdue especially) was outstanding. Chef Ted Mendez fed us like Royalty. Best hotel experience ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Awesome food. Great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Real travel
Austin
Sep 12, 2014

Running down.

AC not working. Room not available for 2 queens bed like they promise. I did call the hotel to confirm my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elizabeth M. Murillo
Miami, FL
Aug 29, 2014

A Great One Night Stay

The locations was fantastic and the staff were SUPER friendly! The view of the bay that we had from our room more than exceeded the value of the hotel. The valet parking team was AWESOME! They made this stay enjoyable with their friendly service as we were going in and out of the hotel during our one night stay before we had to leave to head back home. The only thing I would have to say about the rooms is that they need some updating as the rooms look like they were in the 90's. Our AC would constantly shut off on us even though we set the temp low to keep it blowing causing our one night stay to be a humid uncomfortable sleep. The faucets and toilet all had low pressure and the handles needed to be changed as the hot water handle didn't turn the water on or off properly so we were forced to use just the cold water in the sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
U Miami Mom
Alexandria, Virginia
Aug 24, 2014

Prepare to Pay Extra Once You Get There

This is a boutique hotel which at first glance seemed to be a wonderful "score". Until I checked in. It was then that I learned that parking is valet only at $24/day and there is an additional $25/day resort fee tacked on as well. So that added $150 to my hotel bill that I wasn't expecting. Valet parking also means tipping the valet every time you need your car - minor, but it adds up. Once in the room we noticed that the fold out bed had not come with sheets - it took two phone calls and a trip in person to the front desk to get the bedding necessary to use the fold out. The bathroom came with a lovely amenity - a bidet - but not only was the water turned off to it, but the valve knob had been removed so it was impossible #without a wrench# to turn on the bidet. Generally this is indicative of a larger, unaddressed plumbing issue. The pool and spa were in a lovely setting, but a discerning eye quickly noted the needed maintenance that had gone undone for quite a while on the pool - dirty, cracked tiles, etc. The spa water level was oddly low - another small maintenance thing that was overlooked. Every light bulb on the pool patio had to be replaced - I watched a maintenance worker do that one afternoon. All in all - this is a lovely, comfortable hotel that has been allowed to begin a slide down into a poorly maintained place. The extra resort fee made this slide that much harder to take - $25/day for what, exactly?, and while I was really pleased with it when I first saw it - next time I book I will be SURE not to book a boutique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Doc
Stow, Ohio
Aug 13, 2014

Good birthday getaway

The hotel staff and meals were excellent and exceeded expectations. The location was picture perfect. Our only complaint is that the air conditioning in our 4th floor room was inadequate and made for an uncomfortable night of sleep. The hotel probably needs a rehab to deal with that and several other issues related to wear and tear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rev. Miles
Texas
Aug 12, 2014

Great Getaway

Great location, great service, great for couples, a must visit. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top