$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Omni Austin Hotel

4 stars
700 San Jacinto Blvd at 8th Street, 700 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
212 reviews
Great stay

Very helpful staff. Room was very good. Amenities and restaurants are high end. Work out facility... See full review

  • Scmcc
  • Jul 4, 2014
So Close to Perfect, I'd Call It Perfect

My experience was excellent at the Omni in Downtown Austin. The only things that really bothered... See full review

  • Azruel
  • May 27, 2014
Luxury downtown Austin hotel

Guests enter the Omni Austin Hotel to an impressive atrium lobby with high ceilings that let in natural light. A few blocks from the Texas State Capitol and the best bars and restaurants, the hotel spoils with stunning views of downtown Austin. The heated rooftop pool provides a great place to play during the day or relax at night under the stars. On-site restaurants at the Omni Austin include the Atrium Lounge and Southwestern-flavored Ancho's.

Highlights
  • Stunning views of downtown Austin
  • Heated rooftop swimming pool
  • Spa services

Rooms

Omni Austin Hotel rooms boast earth tones and modern oversized furniture. Windows frame stunning views of the city or hotel atrium. Standard amenities include one king or two double beds, individual climate control, refreshment center and free newspaper. Omni club rooms--located on the 13th and 14th floors--treat guests to free continental breakfast and happy hour. Executive one- or two-bedroom suites come with separate living, sleeping and dining areas, plus a full kitchen. Fees apply for Wi-Fi access.

Dining

Grab a cup of Starbucks coffee and a pastry in Morsels, the on-site coffee shop or stop for a drink in the Atrium Lounge.  Ancho's restaurant is open all day and specializes in southwestern cuisine. 

Recreation
The heated rooftop pool provides a great place to unwind and enjoy amazing views of downtown Austin, while an on-site spa pampers with massages and body treatments.

The Omni Sensational Kids program caters to tykes, offering suitcases filled with games and books, a backpack and kids' menu choices.

Transportation
  • Austin Amtrak Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (6.7 mi/10.9 km)
Attractions
  • 6th Street entertainment (2 blocks)
  • Texas State Capital (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • 2nd Street shopping (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Austin Convention Center (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Lady Bird Lake hike and bike trail (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Congress Avenue Bridge and bats (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Bob Bullock Texas History Museum (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Blanton Museum of Art (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Texas Memorial Stadium (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • LBJ Presidential Library (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • More than 20,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Omni Austin Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 1 King
Deluxe Room with 1 King. Approx. 392 square feet. Featuring a flat panel TV - refreshment center - in-room safe - writing desk - radio/alarm clock with MP3 jack and wireless internet access. Only 1 rollaway allowed.
One Bedroom Executive Suite
Executive One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 633 - 760 sq ft. Separate sitting area and bedroom. Sitting area has a large pull-out sleeper sofa. City or Atrium view. No rollaway allowed.
ADA Dlx w Roll in Shower 1 King
Accessible Deluxe Room with Roll-in Shower 1 King Bed 392 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars available near toilet. Roll-in shower with hand-held shower head and grab bars. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
Deluxe 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed 403 sq ft. Desk. 32 inch TV. Views of the atrium or city. Located on upper floors of the hotel. Private access floors. Only 1 rollaway allowed.
Two Bedroom Executive Suite
Two Bedroom Executive Suite 1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed. 1073 sq ft. One bedroom suite with King bed with connecting Queen room. Separate sitting area and bedroom. Sitting area has a large pull-out sleeper sofa. Queen room connects to the living room. Atrium view only. No rollaways allowed.
Omni Club 1 King
Omni Club 1 King Bed. Approx. 392 sq ft of luxurious accommodations with higher ceilings and crown molding throughout the room. The room features a flat panel TV - refreshment center - in-room safe - writing desk - radio alarm clock with MP3 jack and wireless internet access. Only 1 rollaway allowed.
Omni Club 2 Doubles
Omni Club 2 Double Beds. Approx. 392 sq ft of luxurious accommodations with higher ceilings and crown molding throughout the room. The room features a flat panel TV - refreshment center - in-room safe - writing desk - radio alarm clock with MP3 jack and wireless internet access. No rollaways allowed.
Executive Suite 1 Queen
Executive One Bedroom Suite 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 1300 sq ft. Separate sitting area and bedroom. Sitting area has a large pull-out sleeper sofa. City or Atrium view. No rollaways allowed.
Deluxe 2 Doubles
Deluxe Room with 1 King. Approx. 392 square feet. Featuring a flat panel TV - refreshment center - in-room safe - writing desk - radio/alarm clock with MP3 jack and wireless internet access. No rollaways allowed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Driving range
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni Austin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.2686 -97.7402
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Austin Bergstrom International Airport, (AUS), 7.70, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Located in downtown Austin

Dining

Anchos
Located in the glass atrium - Anchos specializes in Southwestern cuisine. Dining options include a quick breakfast or pleasant lunch or leisurely dinner. Weekdays featuring rotating luncheon buffets with favorites from the Pacific and Italy and Louisiana. Hours are Mon-Fri 0630-2200. Sat-Sun 0700-2200.
Atrium Lounge
A wonderful location for conducting business or gathering with friends to relaxing and enjoy cocktails and regional cuisine. Hours are Mon-Thurs 1100-2359. Fri-Sat from 1100-0200. Sunday from 1100-2359.
Morsels
Open weekdays for coffee breakfast and lunch. Breakfast Hours are Mon-Fri 0630-1100. Lunch Hours are 1100-1400.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Omni Austin Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jet Setting Diva
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Downtown Gem

The staff gave us the utmost southern hospitality that a New Yorker could have asked for. We received great care and super restaurant recommendations. The food near by the hotel on 6th street and night life on Rainy street was great. In case you don;t feel up to a party you can always chill out and relax on the roof top pool. In case you're worried about gaining a few extra lbs while your in town you can hit up the hotel's gym which is open 24 hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scmcc
Highland Beach, Florida
Jul 4, 2014

Great stay

Very helpful staff. Room was very good. Amenities and restaurants are high end. Work out facility andpool were just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ASM3814
Fort Worth, tx
Jun 30, 2014

Great hotel!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Omni downtown. It was perfect walking distance and they were very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Igor12345
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Jun 23, 2014

Not Bad

There are things to like and dislike at this hotel. I have stayed at a number of different Omnis and the one thing to note about this one is it is an older one. Most of the ones I have been to have been built within the past decade, but this one is a bit older and does show a bit of age. Arrival at the hotel was awkward. Pulled up and it the valet just stared at us for about 2 minutes until I literally asked them to come valet our car. We were the only car there and there were 3 valets. The pool is VERY small and doesnt look that clean. Dog on the floor above us was a pest, barking but the hotel took care of it promptly and took care of us which was nice. The food was good and the bed is very comfy. The location is fantastic. Overall its not a bad hotel, but not what I am used to from the other Omni's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cory F.
Midland, tx
Jun 16, 2014

Awesome spot

Great service. Only 2 drawbacks were that they charge $28/day for REGULAR parking, and the room service is really expensive. ($40 for 4 eggs, 2 biscuits, 2 potatoes, and a glass of milk and orange juice.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gp the mngr
odessa tx
Jun 3, 2014

Nice Place

Great night! room a little overpriced seeing as how we arrived so late and they weren't not full, why not give a discount? Also, would be nice for some free food since it is so much. Perfect location though, so i understand why it could be so much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neilstein
Texas
Jun 1, 2014

Pleasant weekend

Spent the evening on 6th street in Austin. Hotel was perfect location and all staff in Hotel were very pleasant. Breakfast in hotel was excellant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Azruel
Southern California
May 27, 2014

So Close to Perfect, I'd Call It Perfect

My experience was excellent at the Omni in Downtown Austin. The only things that really bothered me were (a) the beds were too soft for me (but this is a personal preference and I know for sure no one else would ever say something like that), and (b), while I am a member of their rewards program and so I get a complementary morning beverage each morning, one morning they gave me coffee instead of tea. Honestly, it was the only day it happened out of 7 days there, and the coffee is not too bad for those who want coffee (translation: I did not bother to complain since I was in hurry and it is not like the coffee was bad anyway). Otherwise, I got the drink I wanted every morning. So all good. It is definitely worth staying here since 6th street is literally a 1-2 minute walk (tops; and that is if you are walking super slow...). Great service overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

6th Street is right outside.

Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ccmishelle
Houston, Texas
May 27, 2014

nice weekend

This was a very nice hotel, fantastic view, the pool was very nice and very accessible to 6th Street. We enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Omni Austin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snazzy Jazzy
Fremont, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Bachelorette Party Weekend

I stayed at the Omni this past weekend for a bachelorette party. It was very nice. I couldn't believe how accommodating the staff was. The entire staff. I will warn other bachelorette/bachelor parties that they have a very, very strict noise policy. We did all of our partying in the streets of Austin so that didn't bother us. I can see why they have the policy because the walls of the hotel are a little thin. ASK TO STAY ON THE ATRIUM SIDE if you will be bothered by noise from 6th Street. It is a family friendly hotel. It seems a little bit older but that might be because I am used to modern/art deco type hotels. It is very, very well maintained. If you can afford to upgrade to a suite, I strongly suggest you do so because the regular rooms are a little small. The only issues were the elevators and lack of spa. I didn't realize there was no spa when I booked it so that was my fault. The elevators took a while during busy times. While that is normal it seemed to take a little longer than other hotels. I would absolutely stay here again if I am in Austin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit 6th Street and try all the bars. There is something for everyone.

Back to menu Return to top