$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

3.5 /5
Overall score
80%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6
The Strathcona Hotel's excellent location puts guests at the heart of downtown Toronto, where guests find fashionable boutiques and department stores, art galleries and museums, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and CN Tower, and so much more. Recently renovated rooms reflect a new, modern design and offer a variety of high-tech amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Rooms

Rooms at the Strathcona Hotel come in a variety of sizes, but all are cozy and tastefully decorated in warm colors and furnishings with clean lines. Find European-style wood floors, high-loft pillows, in-room movies and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) in all rooms. Executive rooms and suites include upgraded amenities, complimentary newspapers and, in some cases, amazing city views.

Property features

Walk to St. Lawrence Market or hop on the ferry to Centre Island. Stop into the popular, on-site York Street Cafe for breakfast or lunch seven days a week, or explore nearby restaurants. Guests enjoy discounted passes to the Wellington Fitness Club, next-door to the hotel, with more than 50 group exercise classes and squash lessons each week. The New Age Spa is in the same building, and guests are invited to make an appointment for any of the fantastic treatments offered there. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Excellent downtown location
  • Warm, friendly staff
  • Airport shuttle available

Nearby attractions
  • Hockey Hall of Fame (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. Lawrence Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Ontario Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Centre Island (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Business
  • 24 hour business centre
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)

The Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Executive King Bed
Executive room with one king bed, hair dryer, coffee maker, radio alarm clock, iron and ironing board, cable TV with remote and in-room movies. The room also offers high-speed wireless internet, desk with data port, phone with voice mail and individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Smart Two Single Beds
Smart room with two twin beds, radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Windows open and the room has individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Executive Two Double Beds
Executive room with two double beds. Room is equipped with a radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view and phone with voice mail. The room windows open. The room also includes individual climate control and a hair dryer. Non-smoking room. One rollaway allowed in this room type.
Smart One Queen Bed
Smart room with one queen bed, radio alarm clock and cable TV with pay-per-view. Room windows open. Room also has individual climate control, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Top hotels

Dining

On-Site Dining
The Pub - Open 11am-11pm, casual, pub food,York Street Cafe - Open 6:30am-2pm, casual, breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arch Angel
Cambridge
May 27, 2015

Overnight Trip

I stayed at the Strathcona 23-24 May. It's a bit of a business hotel, so the room was a bit on the small side, but overall I thought the room was excellent for the price and location downtown. Would stay there again very easily. I only wished the wi-fi was included with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jordan B.
Business
Gainesville
May 23, 2015

Trip

Small rooms. Worst WIFI ever. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would suggest staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luyao W.
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

lovely trip

The hotel overall was really nice, the only part which made it worst was the internet. You could only use one device for the internet and if you want to use the internet on the other device you have to pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sean C.
Business
fair lawn
Feb 17, 2015

Awesome Weekend

I stayed here for a few nights while visiting Toronto. The hotel was clean, bright, and situated within the heart of the financial district. The staff was nice and helpful and I can't wait to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeanne d.
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Charming downtown hotel

We enjoyed our stay here over the summer. Small room but very clean and beds very comfortable. Great location. Everything you could want is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arturo L.
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Family Trip to Toronto

My family and I had a great experience at The Strathcona Hotel. At first, we were a little disappointed that the hotel didn't have it's own parking garage but, in the end parking was not as expensive as I thought (53.00 for the 3 days). The location of the hotel was great! we were able to walk mostly everywhere we wanted and when we couldn't, the subway was only a couple blocks away. The Staff was also great, they gave us free wifi, which really helped with our planning, and bottled water, which was good for all the walking we did. Overall, we had a great experience here, when we come back to Toronto we will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David P.
Naperville
Dec 23, 2014

Toronto

GREAT location close to downtown 2 block walk. Room was very nice and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Van Delay
Albany, California
Dec 3, 2014

Good enough

Overall a great value for the price. It's not fancy but has all of the amenities. Location is great as well. Staff is friendly and even good looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCPat
BC
Nov 19, 2014

Weekend downtown

Check in quick as always. Desk staff helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union station is very close to the hotel and gives access to the rest of the city via the TTC. Dont get caught in traffic. In Toronto transit is far quicker.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James from Buffalo
Buffalo, New York
Nov 17, 2014

For the price it was just ok.

The experience was ok, but it was nothing to write home about. The room was smaller than expected, especially given that it was labeled as an "Executive" room, but not uncomfortable. However I had to big problems that shouldn't have been an issue. First, the hotel makes you sign a no noise policy which sounded great. But, it didn't make much different given the sound proofing in the rooms. My room was a cross from the stairway door. The door to my room was shut in that no person could get through it, but that didn't stop light and sound. With the door closed Light freely came through near the frame. That was likely where the sound also came through all night and morning as people went in and out of the stairwell loudly closing the door. The windows weren't much better. I was 12 floors up, but could hear the sounds of the street as if I was on the first floor. My second issue was when I entered the room. Upon going into the bathroom, I noticed a wet, dirty cotton swab on top of the wall mounted shampoo dispenser. It looked like a disposable cotton cloth used for removing eye makeup, especially because it had black smudges all over it. Whatever it was, regardless if it was from a prior guest or the cleaning staff, it should not have been left in my shower. The price, for that area was good, but I wont be staying there again given my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top