$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

3 stars
View map of Hidalgo 1002 Colonia Centro, Oaxaca, 68000

Hotel Overview

4.3 /5
Overall score
100%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1
Casa de Sierra Azul is an elegant and beautifully restored 200-year-old colonial home offers quiet, unusually spacious rooms in the heart of the city. It is only two blocks from the bustling Zocalo with its many cafes, strolling musicians, and artisans offering Oaxaca's famous painted animals and other high quality hand crafts.
If you are looking for a hotel that provides a calm, intimate atmosphere with very personalized service, then Casa de Sierra Azul is the perfect option for your vacation. The hotel is a restored colonial building from the 19th century with architecture that features wide, airy corridors and columns and archways made of green quarry from the region, as well as a courtyard with a beautiful fountain.
The property was declared an artistic monument by the Instituto Nacional de Bellas Artes due to its incredible aesthetic value. Casa de Sierra Azul is always a favorite hotel for people who like to rest in a beautiful, peaceful atmosphere. You can enjoy services such as wireless internet access, the restaurant and room service, or relax in the courtyard after a day of shopping or a tour of the fascinating archaeological sites at Mitla or Monte Alban.

Free Parking from 20.00 hrs- 08.00 hrs
With cost: From 08.00 hrs to 20.00 hrs.

Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul Rooms

Standard Room
This room features 1 King size bed or 2 double beds, It comes with a flat screen with cable system a/c or ceiling fan, private bathroom, coffee service, 2 bottles of purified water, hair dryer, vanity mirror, ironing set, iPod dock, towels made out of bamboo fiber, ecological amenities, acoustic doors. Maid service on a daily basis, free wi fi, safety box, handicapped rooms.
Superior Room
This Superior is a more spacious room with air-conditioned .It features 1 King size bed or 2 double beds, It comes with a flat screen and cable system, private bathroom, coffee service, 2 bottles of purified water, hair dryer, vanity mirror, ironing set, iPod dock , towels made out of bamboo fiber , ecological amenities, acoustic doors. Maid service on daily basis. Free wi fi and safety box. Handicapped room available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Top hotels

Dining

Xcuzina Restaurant/Bar
Breakfast, lunch and dinner service (a la carte) Room service from: 7:00 am to 22:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ozzy Traveller
Brisbane
Jul 21, 2015

Great trip with Emma the dog

This hotel is in a great location. Our room had good air conditioning and television. The staff were very helpful but you need some Spanish as very little English is spoken in Oaxaca. And best of all, it is pet friendly so our little dog had a great holiday too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dapla
Boston, MA
Dec 2, 2014

Lovely house in Central Oaxaca City

I enjoyed my stay here very much. The breakfasts were particularly notable. Try the enmolades! The staff was very helpful. There was a problem with the safe and the room door lock, but they were working on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Piepmatz72
Orizaba, mexico
Mar 29, 2014

Beautiful property with a lot of potential

The building is gorgeous with a wonderful patio and rooftop terrace. The staff was kind and courteous. I am especially grateful for the personal attention given by GM Andrea. This is what a boutique hotel is all about. As for the negatives, the first room I was given and that cost me over 100 USD was small and purely lit. The only window had an opaque glass so there was no natural light whatsoever. The next day I upgraded to a superior room which was fantastic. I also felt that the breakfast that was included in the price was not adequate. You basically got a couple of slices of toast, coffee and juice. I have stayed in several boutique hotels around Mexico and I feel that if they want to charge over 100 U s d for a room with breakfast that they should at least include full breakfast as other hotels do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshines
Ocean Grove Victoria
Feb 21, 2014

Perfect hotel

We loved our stay in Casa de Sierra Azul in Oaxaca. A beautiful renovated colonial building. We were one block from the main square so we could walk everywhere. The hotel even had 3 bikes we could borrow to ride around on and see the local town. The breakfast was a wonderful taste of Mexico and the owner made everyone feel really special and important. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a authentic taste of Mexico.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bikes on offer and ride around the different blocks and to all the lovely local parks.

Review of Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laurita1211
Chicago
Jun 7, 2013

Great Value!!!

This hotel was perfect for the price. The staff was super friendly and helpful! The rooms were clean and beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and that patio made it extra special!!!! Absolutely coming back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EKS1
Mexico
Jan 28, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere, great location

Staff was extremely kind and helpful and we really felt right at home. One of the few hotels in Oaxaca that accepts pets. They were extremely accomodating and really made an effort to make our trip as pleasurable as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JR212
Business
New York, NY
Jan 13, 2013

An OK hotel in a good location

This hotel is in a good location, just a couple blocks from the main square. The rooms are nice, but the quality from room to room seems to vary, and Internet signal strength was not that great. I had a superior room and I'm not sure there was much of a difference between it and the standard rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FentonS
Los Cabos
Mar 15, 2012

Nice. Clean. Ideally located. Nice, large room

Very nice. Great breakfast, good ambience. Central to the whole city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hire a tour guide

Review of Hotel Casa de Sierra Azul

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daizo
Not Provided
Jul 1, 2010

観光に最高の立地。美しいパティオのあるコロニアルなホテルです

観光に最高の立地。美しいパティオのあるコロニアルなホテルです。 部屋もバスルームも広くて清潔です。中庭は噴水や植木で飾られ、メキシコらしいスペイン建築を楽しめます。年配の人も落ち着けると思います。 屋上にも上がってくつろいだり町を眺める事が出来ます。 英語スタッフはいますが日本語スタッフはいません。

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top