$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Ocean Palms Beach Resort

3 stars
2950 Ocean St., Carlsbad, CA 92008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
27 reviews
Sweet spot!!

Right next to the beach and super nice!!! We will most certainly be back. See full review

  • Skyfall
  • Jun 20, 2014
character, charm, beach access

We were given a free upgrade to a two-bedroom luxury suite, consisting of a living room, 2... See full review

  • Saoirse M
  • Jun 4, 2013
For generations/ families visiting San Diegos North County for fun and relaxation on Americas greatest beaches have enjoyed staying at the Ocean Palms. Our casual Carlsbad resort is ideally located along the coast in Carlsbad Village/ home to one of Southern Californias best collections of shops and restaurants. The Ocean Palms offers a wide choice of Carlsbad accommodations. From comfortable budget rooms to luxury suites/ 1/ 2 and 3 Bedrooms/ some with ocean views/ every room offers a fully equipped kitchen. We have the unique ability to provide you with the exact sleeping arrangements you need. Whether its adjoining rooms or a suite/ we can get you the space you need at a rate youll love. Enjoy a continental breakfast/ with fresh fruit/ fresh-baked cookies/ Danishes/ and fresh-brewed coffee. Enjoy the laid back atmosphere and the lush landscaping. Were pet friendly/ theres free WiFi/ a heated pool and Jacuzzi. We love families who cant get enough of the beach/ so we provide free beach chairs/ beach towels/ boogie boards/ and even free surfboards. The beach is right across the street/ and the charming Village of Carlsbad is just a block away. Visiting Legoland Were only a 10 minute drive. Were also just three blocks from the Coaster railroad station/ so you can ride the train and take in all the attractions in San Diego/ from a Padres Game at Petco Park to a tour of the historic aircraft carrier U.S.S. Midway. Here in North County San Diego/ e

Ocean Palms Beach Resort Rooms

Standard Studio
All one room with a queen sized bed fully equipped kitchen cable TV and in-room phones with voice mail. Sleeps up to two.
Luxury Kona Suite
Double Queen -sleeps 4- Luxury Kona Suite. Completely renovated. First class and modern amenities in an ultra Luxury Room. All one room with a full galley kitchen/Bamboo flooring/bathroom has a shower in addition to a bathtub. 46 Flat Screen LCD television .Stainless appliances/including a large refrigerator
Luxury 2 Bedroom Suite /sleeps 6
First class and modern amenities large enough for a big family. Marble or travertine showers/ 2 Queen beds and a pull out sofa. Stainless appliances/ including a large refrigerator in a full kitchen with granite countertops and all the utensils. Ipod dock alarm clock and music player. Sleeps up to 6.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Express checkout
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Palms Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.158 -117.3527
Nearby airports
Airport Information Not available, (SAN), 35.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Dining

Restaurant
Carlsbad offers restaurants ranging from American to Italian and everything in between including fine dining and fabulous night clubs

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skyfall
Chandler AZ
Jun 20, 2014

Sweet spot!!

Right next to the beach and super nice!!! We will most certainly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Focal
Melbourne, Australia
Apr 2, 2014

Great location for beach goers.

Great location for beach goers. It was perfectly located to allow for easy transport between Dana Point and San Diego when needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crewof6
Mn
Mar 15, 2014

Beautiful landscaping!

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. We stayed in the Maui Suite. The hotel grounds were beautiful - a tropical oasis. Our suite was one of the more updated suites but a few things seemed to need attention. The furniture in the master bedroom was kinda beat up. It seemed relatively clean but some items (front of stove and fridge) seemed to need a good wipe down. Our kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The pool (30 people max) and hot tub (6 people) are kinda small but worked for us as not a lot if people were using it when we visited in March. Fire pits (3 of them) were lit every night. - a nice place to gather at the end of the day for a cocktail and conversation and also you can hear the ocean waves crashing on shore. They were working on updating a few of the older rooms - a good thing as I know a few reviewers complained about some rooms needing an update. Might want either a top unit or one without a second floor as we noticed the noise from walking and chairs being moved above us got a little loud a few days into our stay. Hotel is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Ocean access is across small road and down some stairs - very close! We would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

No hair dryer in our suite but can be borrowed from front desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
violetterose
CA
Jan 8, 2014

Nice hotel in heart of Carlsbad

We wanted to stay in the heart of Carlsbad and needed handicapped access.The room appeared to be redone recently, but bathroom floor looked like it could have been cleaner and woodwork throughout hotel needed attention. Blanket for pullout couch looked old. The grounds were nice, but the "breakfast" was plastic wrapped danishes and coffee. We enjoyed the pool and ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saoirse M
Sunnyvale, CA
Jun 4, 2013

character, charm, beach access

We were given a free upgrade to a two-bedroom luxury suite, consisting of a living room, 2 bedrooms, bathroom, and full kitchen. Each bedroom had a large comfortable bed, windows on two sides and a ceiling fan. The bathroom was fully tiled and included a double shower and plenty of towels. The kitchen was amazingly well equipped with appliances, cookware, utensils, and tableware. While there was no private patio or balcony, there were chairs and a small table outside the room where we enjoyed our morning coffee and the sound of the sea. We loved the close beach access during the day and the fire pits at night. Next time we will stay longer and take advantage of more of this resort's offerings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

No closets, and the wardrobes in this room could not accommodate long garments. Pack foldable clothes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angela super mother
Eden, NY
Apr 7, 2013

First time trip to Cali!!

Went to visit our son who is in the Marines, Great location, they were very help full when we asked for anything! Everything we needed from stores to beaches to dinning were within walking distance. Would come back and stay for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ready to return
Minnesota
Apr 1, 2013

Great location

Couch was broken and could not be used as a bed as needed. Would have preferred upstairs view. Fire alarm in room went off twice at 3 am after letting staff know they were malfunctioning. Frustrating. Breakfast as promised in plan was not breakfast. Store purchased danish and an apple or banana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast at Pacific Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desert Dude98
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 29, 2013

Aloha Carlsbad

This hotel was right on the money. The amenities such as fire pits, BBQs, pool and jacuzzi, right at the beach, and all the great landscaping made our trip just perfect. The staff was very friendly and helped out whenever we asked. Can't wait to stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Naked cafe was great for breakfast and lunch. Have always loved the knockout pizza right up the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeiYee
Menlo Park, CA
Mar 25, 2013

Great service and location.

We requested early check in because our 6 year old was ill. They got our 2 bedroom cleaned asap and Kelly came to the parking lot to find us. We were in our room before noon. Pleasantly surprised with a partial ocean view from both the living room and the front bedroom. The ocean is literally across the street. Ocean access is maybe 50 feet from front door. Downtown Carlsbad is just around the corner. Awesome location. Look forward to our next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Palms Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Galama
Bonita, Ca.
Mar 25, 2013

Great place

This is the third time we've stayed at the ocean palms With our golden doodle. You must love dogs to stay in Carlsbad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top