$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Holland House Beach Hotel

3 stars
Frontstreet 43, St Maarten,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
25 reviews
Excellent homebase for our first Caribbean vacation

We had never been to St. Maarten before, but saw that many patrons had really enjoyed the Holland... See full review

  • Gain
  • Aug 13, 2014
Romantic scape!!

The Hotel is excellent, the service, the food the experience was fabulous. I love very much!! I... See full review

  • Aleyoly
  • Jun 9, 2014
No need to rent a car in the Dutch capital of St. Maarten

Holland House Beach Hotel offers the perfect locale for beach lovers who like to take a break from the sun and go shopping. Located in Dutch St. Maarten's Philipsburg, the 54-room resort is steps away from Great Bay Beach while facing Front Street, the main shopping avenue in St. Maarten. Other activities such as casinos, restaurants, and the landmark courthouse are also within walking distance. All rooms have recently been refurbished and feature Caribbean colors with a chic European design.

Highlights
  • Located on the beach in Philipsburg
  • Easy stroll to duty-free shopping and nearby casinos
  • Beach furniture with oversized mattresses
Rooms

Accommodations vary from a standard room overlooking the street to junior suites with views of the beach. All guest rooms have king-size or full-size beds, flat-screen TV, private balconies, Egyptian cotton linen, cable television, air conditioning, kitchenette with fridge, safe, and private bathroom. Holland House also offers complimentary newspapers and complimentary high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi.

Features

Guests here love the extra thick mattresses on the beach chairs and the dark blue umbrellas that bring the shade when needed. An attendant is always there to take drink orders. The front desk can arrange a sunset cruise, 12-meter yacht sail, or a snorkeling charter for an extra charge.

 

The newly renovated Ocean Lounge offers a perfect vantage point of the beach and water. The Dutch-influenced menu features fresh seafood and other local products from the islands. The wine list offers more than 50 selections, including many imported from France. Or guests can simply grab some tapas and other finger food to wash down with a mojito or the island specialty, a guavaberry colada.

 

The hotel is in the middle of the duty-free shopping area of Philipsburg, with Cartier, Little Switzerland, Colombian emeralds, electronics, and clothing stores an easy stroll away.

Transportation
  • Princess Juliana International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Marigot (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Orient Beach (7 mi/11.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet and Wi-Fi
  • Catering staff for small parties

Holland House Beach Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Street View Superior Room offers king size or full size bed with Flat screen TV, air conditioned, electronic safes and coffee maker, small fridge.
STANDARD - ROOM
Street view Superior with king size or full size bed with Flat screen TV, air conditioned, electronic safes and coffee maker, small fridge.
DELUXE - ROOM
Beach view Deluxe room with 1 king size room or full size bed with Flat screen TV, air conditioned, electronic safes and coffee maker, small fridge.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Beach view room offers 1 king size bed with Flat screen TV, air conditioned, electronic safes and coffee maker, small fridge.
STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite beach view offers king size or full size bed with Flat screen TV, air conditioned, electronic safes and coffee maker, small fridge.
STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite beach view with 2 full size bed or 1 Flat screen TV, air conditioned, electronic safes and coffee maker, small fridge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Restaurant
The Ocean Lounge restaurant is the open air restaurant overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The Ocean Lounge was awarded 12 points by GaultMillau and won a silver medal on the culinary competitions. An extensive wine list is available featuring French and American wines. Many patrons from outside the hotel frequent the restaurant. Reservations are recommended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Holland House Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gain
Boston, MA
Aug 13, 2014

Excellent homebase for our first Caribbean vacation

We had never been to St. Maarten before, but saw that many patrons had really enjoyed the Holland House. After spending six days here, I can wholeheartedly agree that it was well worth the stay! The water-viewing balcony room we stayed in had a very comfortable bed, large walk-in shower, and was well cleaned every day. The breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day and charge the calorie batteries before a day of exploring beaches and sightseeing. The outdoor lounge area on the lobby floor looks out over the Great Bay and is steps from the beach- a perfect place to sit and chat, have drinks, read, or just look out over the pristine water. I would stay here again without hesitation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Pinel Island, a 25 minute drive from the Holland House on the French side. Ferries run every half hour to the island and back for $10 dollars. The island has iguanas that are not shy and will eat from your hand, and there are some nice beaches and restaurants. A great day trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wandering Couple
Montreal Quebec
Aug 11, 2014

Chic boutique hotel downtown

The overall experience was very positive. The hotel and lounge were very modern - located in the middle of the Phillipsburg boardwalk and steps away from the beach. The rooms were very clean and serviced daily. The best part of our stay was the hotel restaurant and bar. The food was amazing and the staff was great (especially Tory and Shaneika!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was more expensive to book tours and rent a car through the hotel so do that in advance or directly with the operators. There are plenty of tours as well as a car rental at Bobby's marina which is walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aleyoly
Puerto Rico
Jun 9, 2014

Romantic scape!!

The Hotel is excellent, the service, the food the experience was fabulous. I love very much!! I want to come back in a future. We celebrate the birthday of my husband and our 5th anniversary of relation. Thanks to all!! See you soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The bar in front of the beach was awesome!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madmomma
Philadelphia
Feb 13, 2014

charming seaside hotel

The location was excellent - for distance to cruise wharf and downtown Philipsburg for shopping. The hotel itself was lovely - airy and had covered outside restaurant that was romantic and charming. Food was very good. The rooms were comfortable and the bed was one of the best we've ever had. Would definitely stay here again if ever back in St. Maarten and would recommend it to all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill Powell
Michigan
Feb 24, 2013

Loved the Location!

We loved the location of this hotel. Glad we picked the Dutch side over the French side. Location is right on the water in the middle of all the action. Restaurant staff is a little uppity and restaurant is very over-priced. The town shuts down when the cruise ships roll out - so if you are looking for something to do at night you will have to go to the French side. All in all we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chesterfield's for breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy people
Boston, MA
Dec 13, 2012

Great location

This hotel was by far the best on this beach. We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant in the hotel was fantastic, but a short walk down by the marina is Greenhouse. Great food and happy hour drinks from 5-7.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Daddy 58
Beaumont, Tx
May 25, 2012

Nice Stay

We had a beautiful beach view. It was busy during the day when the cruise ships came in, but quite at night. My wife loves to shop and people watch so it was a great area for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shops. Price around before buying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fredyg
Rye NY
May 15, 2012

Ok

The place is ok, at night I was Very Leary of walking as there are no lights no stores open and shady people walking..I never even stayed at their beach as I went else well, lots of mosquitos in hallway and elevator. But to their credit, their is no real 5 star Hotels in St Martin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juggee
St Louis, MO, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Great experience!

I can not believe the great experience we had at Holland House. Kudos to the staff for making it a pleasure. Kizzi at the front desk was wonderful. I stubbed my toe and she was up in my room cleaning and bandaging it immediately. Everyday she would call the room and have me come down and clean it. She brought in a nail tech to repair it before we left. I have never had such an experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmef
West Babylon, NY, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Vacation

It was very nice. All employees were very polite and helpful. Steps away from the beach. Drink deliveries on the beach were quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The hotel bar is good for relaxing and having a few drinks at night. It's not a late night area. Several other spots for drinks on the boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top