$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
501 Taylor Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
30 reviews
Convenient and Comfortable

Our stay was just for overnight, during a football game weekend and the town was crowded and this... See full review

  • Hokie Bruce
  • Sep 21, 2013
So good, I'll be back in a few days!

Work is bringing me back to Columbia, SC. Will definitely be staying at the Holiday Inn Express &... See full review

  • Romy Rome
  • Sep 2, 2014
Hotel in downtown Columbia near USC with free Wi-Fi, breakfast, pool

The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia – Downtown is located just off I-126 and Huger Street in Columbia, South Carolina. Guests mingle at a free daily manager's reception with beer, wine and snacks. A free daily Express Start breakfast offers trademark Holiday Inn cinnamon buns. Travelers stay in shape in the fitness center and swim in the outdoor pool. The University of South Carolina historic Vista district and the Columbia Riverfront Park are nearby.

Highlights
  • Free Express Start breakfast
  • Free daily manager's reception with beer, wine and snacks
  • Fitness center, outdoor swimming pool
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Whirlpool suites available
Rooms

All 81 rooms and 16 suites at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia – Downtown are decorated in shades of red, gold and mahogany. Accommodations include 32-inch HDTV with HBO and in-room video games, free Wi-Fi, desk, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, and coffee-maker. Private bathrooms offer tub/shower combo and hair-dryer. Suites provide a sleeper sofa, whirlpool tub, stove and mini-bar.

Features

Business guests capitalize on the hotel's business center, equipped with print, copy and fax services (fees may apply). Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary.

 

Work out on cardio machines in the fitness center or swim in the outdoor pool. Parking at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia – Downtown is free.

Dining

A free deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning. The savory spread features items like cinnamon buns, eggs, bacon, Smart Roast coffee, tea and juice. Each evening, Holiday Inn Express hosts a complimentary manager's reception with beer, wine and snacks. Local restaurants are only a short drive away.

Transportation
  • Columbia Amtrak (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
Attractions
  • South Carolina State Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • EdVenture Children's Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Columbia Museum of Art (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • South Carolina State House (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • University of South Carolina (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Riverbanks Zoo & Garden (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Williams-Brice Stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Fort Jackson (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
Business
  • 552 square feet of meeting space for up to 30 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • 24-hour business center with print, fax, copy service (fees may apply)
  • Executive club level rooms available

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0037 -81.047
Nearby airports
Columbia Metro Airport, (CAE), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Dining

Blue Marlin
Seafood along with southern dining choices, from shrimp and grits to a bowl of she crab soup. Great salads and fish choices.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romy Rome
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 2, 2014

So good, I'll be back in a few days!

Work is bringing me back to Columbia, SC. Will definitely be staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bkwc
Jefferson, SC
Jun 23, 2014

getaway

There was dirt on floor in the bathroom the whole time we were there. The room was noisy and hot. You could the people next door talking. The traffic outside was loud. The breakfast was nothing. They were out of eggs when we went down, no fruit, the pancake maker did not work. All in all it was not what I expected for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of shops within driving distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alex traveling
North Carolina
Dec 16, 2013

Getaway

We had a real good time at Holiday Inn express. It has a wonderful location a block away from the SC Museum an a few blocks from main street. The hotel serves a good breakfast and has a nice ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hokie Bruce
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Sep 21, 2013

Convenient and Comfortable

Our stay was just for overnight, during a football game weekend and the town was crowded and this (like other area) hotels was booked solid. The room was great (clean with nice furnishings, roomy, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious). The staff was very friendly and helpful (true Southern charm). The complementary breakfast was awesome. The pricing was a bit higher than I would have liked to have paid but not out of line with other hotels on this busy weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
usc family
huntington, new york
Aug 15, 2013

great location for visiting USC

The staff was very helpful, but some of the amenities (like the loud air conditioner) could stand to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gamecock Mom
Marietta, GA
Jul 13, 2013

College Visit

Just needed a place to rest our head before hitting the USC campus the next morning for move in day. This was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brycegrad
New Orleans area
Jun 12, 2013

Visit to family

Lack of Signage made finding the hotel challenging. Staff was very professional and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nick201
Greenville SC
Jun 8, 2013

Absolutely fine

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Holiday Inn in Columbia, SC. The staff was very nice and accommodating, the room was fairly large and very comfortable, the breakfast was fine, We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dshreves
Troy, MI
Apr 4, 2013

Nice Place

I really liked staying here. The room was nice and the breakfast was good. I will definitely stay here again when I come to USC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites COLUMBIA - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USC Grad07
Rock Hill, SC
Mar 26, 2013

Fabulous breakfast!

Overall, we had a great stay at this hotel. It was clean and the breakfast was hot, wonderful, and was constantly restocked. When we first arrived at the hotel, the original girl behind the desk was rude and told us that we would have to wait another hour to check in. 15 minutes later, a nicer gentleman was able to help us and apologized for our wait. He said that normally, we would have been able to check in by 2. Overall- great stay and would stay here again. Parking was free and had no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top