$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Portofino Beach Resort

4 stars
View map of P.O. Box 36, 6 Miles North, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro,

Hotel Overview

4.4/5

Overall score

93%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4
Relaxing tropical haven in Ambergris Caye
Travelers looking for a tranquil Belize getaway book a stay at the stylish accommodations of Portofino Beach Resort set right on the shores of San Pedro in the tropical island of Ambergris Caye. Vacationers at this posh retreat can engage in water recreations like swimming, snorkeling and surfing in the private beach. Check out the lagoon with mangroves, birds and the occasional crocodile found at the back of the resort. Guests can also take refreshing dips in the freshwater pool and unwind at the spa during spare time.

At Portofino Beach Resort, patrons relish mouth-watering Euro-Caribbean cuisines and French and Italian dishes at Portofino Restaurant. Have a sip of cocktails or imported wines at the on-site Green Parrot Beach Bar. The property also provides tour desk, airport shuttle and laundry services for added convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Spa and freshwater pool
  • Private beach
  • Restaurant serving Euro-Caribbean dishes
Portofino Beach Resort Rooms
Each of the spacious spaces at Portofino Beach Resort is furnished with thatched roof, tropical bamboo furniture and local art pieces. All rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi access, television with CD/DVD player, air conditioning, mini refrigerator, private bathroom with shower and hairdryer and balcony with chairs and hammock. Select units come with whirlpool or kitchen.
Things To Do
  • Belizean Reef (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • GoFish Belize (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • TMM Yacht Charters (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Central Park (6.0 mi/9.7 km)
  • Iguana Reef (16.7 mi/27 km)

Portofino Beach Resort Rooms

Treetop - Suites
Measuring 600 sq feet, the Treetops are stunning suites that are elevated on the second floor. Massive picture windows line the front of this suite, letting in the breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea that seamlessly meets the clear blue skies. French doors open to a large private balcony with chairs, hammocks and a table where you can enjoy private dining. A marvelous hand thatched palapa roof ascends 18 feet in the air and beautiful exotic wooden floors showcase natural beauty and create a dramatic effect. A custom made Bamboo king size bed draped with decorative netting and layered with pure cotton sheets and a super soft cover for added comfort, is the centerpiece of this room. Treetop Suites are complete with air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom amenities, cable TV, CD player, ceiling fan, DVD player, internet access and small refrigerator.
Beach - Cabana
Set in the sand, only footsteps away from the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean Sea and the magnificent Belize Barrier Reef is the charming Beach Cabanas, offering breathtaking views of the Caribbean and the gorgeous swimming pool. These buildings are set up as duplexes. Each one is comprised of two Beach Cabanas that are side by side, each measuring 400sq feet. Each building has a shared porch with wooden chairs and hammocks, where you can relax and feel the soft caress of the tropical breezes, and delight in the most amazing sunrises. Authentic hand thatched palapa roof, individual artwork from talented local artisans, custom made furniture and exotic hardwood floor. Beach Cabanas are complete with air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom amenities, cable TV, CD player, ceiling fan, DVD player, internet access and small refrigerator.
Beach Front Suite
The Beach Fronts are only steps away from turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea as well. Located just below the Honeymoon Suite, the two Beach Fronts, each measuring 400 sq feet, feature beautiful hardwood ceilings and floors, and large French windows that offer unobstructed Caribbean views. Edged with lush tropical plants, porches are outfitted with wooden clam chairs and hammocks. Centered in the room is a king size bed draped with decorative netting and layered with pure cotton sheets, and a super soft cover, for added comfort. Inspired by Belize's history, these rooms are adorned with colonial-inspired light fixtures. Spacious bathroom feature a walk in shower. Beachfront Suites are complete with air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom amenities, cable TV, CD player, ceiling fan, DVD player, internet access and small refrigerator.
Colonial - Suite
Located just below the Treetop Suites, the 800 sq feet Colonial Suites offer partial Caribbean views. Featuring a large private balcony with chairs and hammocks, these suites are just perfect for those seeking accommodation with multiple bedding. Each offer two queen beds layered with pure cotton sheets and a super soft cover, a dressing area with a reach in closet, and a sitting area with cushioned custom-made bamboo chairs. Beautiful hardwood floors flow throughout this spacious room that is outlined with large French windows and doors that let in the dancing sunlight, making the Colonial Suites refreshingly light and airy. Onyx light fixtures give an added touch of luxury. Colonial Suites are are complete with air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom amenities, cable TV, CD player, ceiling fan, DVD player, internet access and small refrigerator.
VIP - Suites
Private, luxurious, and very comfortable, the VIP Suites are on the sand, only footsteps away from the Caribbean Sea and the gorgeous swimming pool. Each suite is a building of its own offering 800 sq. feet of interior space, with a large private balcony outfitted with comfortable chairs and hammocks for you to relax and enjoy the warm Caribbean breezes, or perhaps the breathtaking views of the glistening waters of the Caribbean Sea, as the sun rises above the horizon just behind the Belize Barrier Reef. A custom made King Size Bamboo bed draped with decorative netting and layered with pure cotton sheets and a super soft cover for added comfort, is the centerpiece of this room. are complete with air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom amenities, cable TV, CD player, ceiling fan, DVD player, internet access and small refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Portofino Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Top hotels

Dining

Portofino Restaurant
Portofino Restaurant is one of the most popular and talked about restaurants on Ambergris Caye. Located on the second floor, the Caribbean view, to say the least, is nothing less than spectacular! Established in March of 2003, Portofino Restaurant was created with concepts of Euro Caribbean Cuisine. The chef's background in French and Italian Cuisine, highlights 'Nouvelle Cuisine' concepts in the mostly all saut Menu with individual custom plate presentations emphasizing on the freshest local seafood, meats and produce available in Belize. Portofino Restaurant has been so popular hotel is expanding to accommodate the Rising Star. The hotel is the only restaurant on Ambergris Caye that offers private Pier and Beach Dining. The subtle splashes of Caribbean Sea against the Barrier Reef and the bright and beautiful Mayan Stars complimented by your own personal wait staff; this is truly a magical experience. Pier and Beach Dining is popular with Honeymooners and other Special Occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Portofino Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. T
N/A
Apr 26, 2015

good for the money

The hotel staff were excellent and accommodating. It was a little far away from everything but they had a complimentary boat shuttle. There weren't many things to do at the resort unless you're a water sport fan. The rooms were ok, not the cleanest but the cottages gave you a rustic feel. It was a good resort for couples or honeymooners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Greco 6979
Baltimore
Dec 29, 2014

Great getaway

Well located hotel, away from the island's main drag, perfect for spending some relaxing time with your significant other. Room was spacious and very clean, staff very friendly and always eager to help and assist with our requests. Great spot! You will feel much appreciated and would want to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do some research on local excursions and day-activities. All major tour companies will pick you up free of charge from the hotel's dock.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Greco 6979
Baltimore
Dec 17, 2014

Great getaway

Well located hotel, away from the island's main drag, perfect for spending some relaxing time with your significant other. Room was spacious and very clean, staff very friendly and always eager to help and assist with our requests. Great spot! You will feel much appreciated and would want to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alison's Adventures
Phoenix, az
Sep 30, 2014

The best place I've stayed and I've been a lot of places!

Portofino was amazing! The staff can not be any more helpful, kind, attentive and wonderful. This place is like being on a private beach with a few other people and the experience was more than amazing! They even offered us a fishing pole and if we caught something they would cook it for free! We ran out of time to fish, but will be back in a few months for spring break and will only stay here. Giovani is the hardest worker I've seen and loves his job, as well as the manager mikayla and waitress Jessica. Bartender/cook/waiter Rafael and all of the front desk staff were top notch and so was the housekeeping and all the waitstaff. When you first arrive, you're greeted with a nice cold refreshing washcloth with eucalyptus and a complimentary drink! The private beach cabanas are adorable with thatch roofing and mosquito netting around the bed. Turndown service was over the top with fresh flowers and sweet messages and candles! The staff were always willing to do anything and everything to make your stay the best ever!!!!! We cannot wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great Vacay
Tyrone, Georgia
Aug 26, 2014

Great R and R

Great quiet place to relax on the beach and do nothing all day long. ALL the staff were WONDERFUL!! Beautiful landscape. Rooms need dusting, especially the ceiling fans and thatched ceilings. No hot shower, just cool water which is very refreshing. Inconvenient location (this resort is not accessible by road). If you want to go into San Pedro to eat, or just about anywhere else, you'll have to take a water taxi (US$11 per person one way) or try and catch the resort's complimentary water taxi, which runs only 2-3 times a day. Lots of delicious food and places to eat in San Pedro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip:

The Coastal Express water taxi company sells a multi-day unlimited use pass which is cheaper than paying for each ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn Bison
Brooklyn
Aug 11, 2014

Beautiful place

The food is excellent and expensive. The diving/snorkeling is excellent and expensive. The room and grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mambo at Matachica is terrific and a short walk or boat ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WorldTrav
Olympia, WA, USA
Aug 7, 2014

Best Choice on the island!

The staff was fantastic! The location was a lot farther north of San Pedro than I expected so you have to schedule your trips to town when the boat was going. But, if you want to relax or need some forced relaxation, this is perfect! We were still able to go on tours and see everything! Not to mention their massage therapist is awesome! $70 for 70 minutes....what a deal! Plus, they have free wifi and Direct TV in the rooms so you can still stay in touch with the world. I highly recommend Portofino!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip:

Bring a lot of Deep Woods (highest Deet) you can find because the Mosquitos in Belize are tenacious! If you want to buy bug repellant on the economy...expect to pay $20USD for a can! Don't worry, you typically don't have Mosquitos in the room....if you keep the door shut.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S12S
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 27, 2014

Low key with personalized service

Portofino was the perfect getaway for a quiet and relaxing vacation. It is 6 miles north of town and only accessible by boat so you feel quite secluded. However, if you wish to spend time in San Pedro the water taxi runs throughout the day or you can hitch a ride for free with the resort's captain if you time it with his scheduled travels. Being that far north does come with a higher price tag for all services (food, excursions, travel to town) but it is well worth it! Portofino is with 17 rooms and even when it is at capacity it never feels crowded. You may see people in passing or occasionally at the bar, but often times it feels as though you have the place to yourself -- and the staff treats you as though you are the only guest and cater to your every need. Everyone is very friendly and knows your name almost immediately. It felt as though we were staying with family. We stayed in a beachfront room which was fantastic with a beautiful view. I enjoyed having nothing but sand between me and the ocean. The room was nice and cool and cleaned thoroughly twice daily. It was equipped with a tv and refrigerator. The only thing that might make the cabanas more appealing than the beachfront is there is no room above you in the cabana. We had some noisy neighbors above us in the honeymoon suite -- a lot of stomping around. We were lucky in that this was mostly in the morning when we were already awake. The grounds are also well kept. They work hard to maintain the property and are always clearing the seaweed that washes ashore. Folks have commented on the seaweed -- to clarify, the seaweed is throughout the island, not just at Portofino. You simply swim off the dock where there is no seaweed. We did take advantage of the masseuse on site and ha a couples massage. It was one of the best I've had! The only thing that did not go smoothly for us was trying to book the excursion we wanted. There were not enough people to confirm a trip through the company the hotel uses. I tried to reach other companies myself but without cell service this proved to be difficult. A couple days later we went to town and found we could have signed up with any number of tour companies, but by this time it was so late. I wish the front desk had suggested this or been more helpful in making it happen. We were quite disappointed we did not get to experience the excursion. Overall, our stay was great and we would certainly return to Portofino! Ambergris Caye is a fantastic island and there is much to explore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely take the flight (15 min) to the island vs the boat (1.5 hr).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrubinstpa
Los Alamitos, CA
Jul 25, 2014

Little piece of paradise

This is a beautiful resort with friendly and helpful staff. They go over and beyond to help with any needs. If you are looking for a smaller resort with more privacy and seclusion, then this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

A bit pricey but would expect it from a hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Le La 628
New York, New York
Jul 7, 2014

Great Honeymoon Stay

My husband and I spent the first week of July this year at Portofino. We splurged for the VIP Suite (one of two) and it was well worth it. Yes it's a thatched hut but it's very big and very comfortable. We had air conditioning that cooled the entire space and a massive separate bathroom area that had a great shower with strong pressure (may not sound like much, but is a huge plus when traveling). We also had a mini fridge and TV with many channel options for any nights we wanted to stay in. Overall, we loved our room, it might have been my most favorite thing from the trip. We felt very at home. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our waiters were always very kind and nice to us. We also loved Moe, the in house boat driver whose in charge or shuttling guests back and forth from San Pedro town center. The pool is small, but more than enough to swim in and lay in. It's centrally located so visible from every room. There are amazing ocean views from everywhere at this hotel- especially the pool. The beach water is full of sea grass so impossible to swim in from the beach area- but you can walk to the end of the dock and swim in the water from there- it's shallow, about 4 feet or so until you start swimming out further. This is not an issue with the beach at Portofino, it's like this in all of San Pedro, there is lots and lots of sea grass, but there are many pockets you can swim in and there are so many water activities and sports, you will not really feel like you are missing out. The restaurant at Portofino is a bit pricey, but the food (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) is really good! We are from NY so prices were comparable to a night out at home ($125 or so for dinner with a bottle of wine). My one wish or recommendation would be to have some sort of lower end 'beach shack' food option for lunch and dinner as well- I think it gives guests a variety of selection and keeps them at the resort longer. With only one restaurant serving all the meals, it encouraged us to go into town for lunches and even sometimes dinner- which offered a lot more 'bar' type and less formal options. In addition, the last Portofino shuttle back from San Pedro town center to Portofino is at 6:30pm meaning you have to have dinner by then in order to get the free transfer to your hotel. If you choose to go back later which we did, along with many other couples, then you take the $11 per way water taxi which takes a bit longer due to all the stops and is a little more crammed and less comfortable than Portofino's private shuttle boat. I would recommend an option for guests to get back to the hotel around 9pm from town. The resort is 6 miles outside of San Pedro center so you cannot walk, but you do have options with the public paid water taxi service. We loved this resort and would not have chosen any other. You do not want to stay in the town center of San Pedro, it's more motel style hotels overlooking the streets. Any good resorts will be out of the town center at least 4-6 miles out like Portofino. We saw a few hotels in this distance from the boat ride and we were very happy with the choice we made with Portofino. It was a truly intimate and rustic experience, with a hint of the modern amenities that we're already spoiled to. Like Cheers, everyone there knows your name and makes you feel at home. We would highly recommend this resort if traveling to San Pedro, Ambergris Caye area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top