$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

4 stars
69-1029 Nawahine Place, Waikoloa, HI 96738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
34 reviews
Perfect family place

We had unit 21D, furthest from pool. The very new apartment was decorated in tasteful island style... See full review

  • LaChris
  • Sep 8, 2013
Good place to stay

Weloved the place. THese folks thought of everything a family needs in a home. See full review

  • Sunkariamar
  • Dec 5, 2013
Fully equipped oceanfront Waikoloa villas on a luxury-resort property
Experience oceanfront living at Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa in a deluxe villa with mountain, golf course or ocean views and upscale, contemporary décor. Located on the expansive Waikoloa Beach Resort in South Kohala, guests enjoy easy access to the resort's golf courses, shopping and dining. Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa offers an oceanfront swimming pool, children's pool, tennis courts, fitness center and restaurant. Parking and high-speed Internet access are complimentary.
Highlights
  • Swimming beach and exceptional shopping and dining within a few minutes' drive
  • Marvel at the Big Island's magnificently rugged black-rock coastline, created by ancient volcanic lava flows
  • Oceanfront pool, children's pool
Location
Located in the community of Waikoloa on the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Resort property, Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa a short drive north from Kailua-Kona. The hotel offers easy access to a sandy beach at Anaehoomalu Bay, Hawaiian historical sites, and excellent shopping and dining.
Features

Recreation

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa offers excellent recreational facilities, including a swimming pool and children's pool, whirlpool, fitness center, tennis courts and basketball courts.
Dining
All Halii Kai At Waikoloa villas feature a full kitchen for home-cooked meals. The Ocean Club Bar and Grill at Halii Kai serves dishes made from chef-grown herbs and vegetables, plus fresh seafood and local beef. Additional restaurants and cafés are nearby.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (19.1 mi/30.8 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (45.4 mi/73 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (103 mi/166 km)
Policies and fees
  • For check in procedures, guest must contact the property direct at 808-886-4307 daily to 8 p.m. local time.
  • Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.
  • A resort fee of $10.00 plus tax (per day, per room) will be charged upon check-in. The resort fee will include parking permit and entry gate electronic keycard.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa Rooms

2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Garden View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One King bed and either two twins or one full bed available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Premium Garden View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king bed and two full beds available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Ocean View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king bed and either two twins or one full bed available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Premium Ocean View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king bed and two full beds available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Oceanfront Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One King bed and either two twins or one full bed available.
3-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Garden View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king, one full and two twin beds available.
3-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Ocean View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king, one full and two twin beds available.
1-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One King bed available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.9256 -155.8816
Area served
Waikoloa. Closest Major City: Kailua-Kona.
Nearby airports
International Airport: Kona-KOA International Airport 18 miles. Domestic Airport: Kona International Airport -KOA
Area description
Halii Kai at Waikoloa is located oceanfront in the famed Waikoloa Beach Resort, along the Kohala Coast on the Big Island of Hawaii. The Waikoloa Beach Resort is just 18 miles north of the Kona International Airport.

Dining

Ocean Club Bar and Grill
Dining at the Ocean Club Bar and Grill at Halii Kai is unforgettable. Our chef prepares menu items using local fresh ingredients such as famous Waimea produce and Big Island Beef, our own chef-grown herbs and vegetables, and fresh-caught seafood Monday through Sunday. The Ocean Club Grill serves up delicious island-inspired lunches and pupus (appetizers) are served from 11:30 am - 6:30 pm; last call for food is 6:15 pm. The bar closes at 7:00 pm and last call for cocktails and beverages is 6:45 pm. The ocean-front setting is priceless; you may find that you lose all track of time in this beautiful outdoor restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
Sunkariamar
Chicago
Dec 5, 2013

Good place to stay

Weloved the place. THese folks thought of everything a family needs in a home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very expensive shopping center- queens market

Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

3
traveloso
san jose CA
Dec 4, 2013

Decent Family Style Accomodation in Waikoloa

Pros: Location is in the heart of Waikoloa. Rooms are spacious and amenities inside the room are very nice. Pool is good and the view from the pool is very nice. Cons: Not Ocean front for the room we booked. the beach access is a short drive, but would have loved to walk to it. Room not serviced for 5 days, while we cleaned every day this is something i miss from a resort dearly, clean sheets and towels and room cleaned out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A bay is awesome beach for kids and adults alike .. and SUrely get an ocean facing room.

Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
LaChris
LA
Sep 8, 2013

Perfect family place

We had unit 21D, furthest from pool. The very new apartment was decorated in tasteful island style (didnt think that was possible...) and had lots of space for us. The pool was perfectly located and beautifully near the ocean and felt almost private at times (was almost low season I guess), overall the place never felt busy at all (which we loved, compared to a big hotel resort!). The food at the pool is overpriced and mediocre at best but that did not matter. Overall a great place if you travel with kids and like to have a kitchen and fridge etc. Restaurants and shopping are close by but you will probably need a car at this place to get to beaches etc. Can only recommend this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed the Lava Lava Beach Club a lot, great food in a great setting.

Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
Sheli SF
San Francisco, California
Jul 6, 2013

Wonderful family trip!

Brought family of 6 and rented and 3bdrm, 3 bath oceanview townhouse. It was gorgeous but was not super clean when we arrived, layers of dust- not unhygienic. We were there for 10 days and although they say housecleaning on the 7th day, that is not correct. They will only bring new towels and take out the trash. That all being said, we had a wonderful time. The pool is gorgeous and better then the pictures, the staff is lovely and the grounds perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The kids enjoyed the Hilton pools.

Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
Honeymoon 2nd Leg
Seattle, WA
Oct 22, 2012

Great Trip

1st time on the Big Island and this place was amazing value and was nicely updated with great ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

3
MarcinPL
Poland
Sep 24, 2012

No that much of an Ocean View

So i was very excited about my first trip to Hawaii, wanted to get for my parents a really good comfortable place with great view on the ocean, paid all the extras all upgrade to premium to ocean view etc, Instead got unit 7D with a great view on Hilton hotel and its golf course.. yes if you look right an lean forward i could see an ocean, but it shouldn't be like that. There were 7 more houses (8units each) that were closer to the ocean than my premium ocean villa. I told stuff this is not what i expected and was told everything else was taken (in fact there were many free units) I am wondering is it because i booked via Or.bitz? maybe if i booked directly i would have got a better place? Anyway Hawaii was beautiful, just didn't feel right to pay all the extra premium & view costs to get a unit in the middle with a view on another hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
Happy Traveler 817
Arlington, VA
Aug 2, 2012

Wonderful Honeymoon

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it. The condo was spacious and beautifully decorated, the staff was friendly, and the property was lovely. Within a mile radius on the resort of Waikaloa, there are restaurants, shopping, and a white sand beach with incredible snorkeling opportunities. We stayed at the very front of the property, so we were about .8 miles from the pool, but when we drove we never had trouble finding parking. The pool was stunning, with a small waterfall, an outdoor bar and restaurant, and an outdoor fitness center nearby. We were very pleased and would definitely recommend this property, especially for the value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Lagoon Restaurant - this restaurant is outdoors and has entertainment Thursday-Sunday. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is wonderful.

Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
Mrs. Cantrell
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 1, 2012

Annual tradition!

We were lucky enough to have found this place last year as we went on our honeymoon through a travel agent. We made a special effort to repeat the same wonderful experience this following year. It didn't disappoint! Hal'ii Kai is the perfect solution to a perfect vacation. Its ideal location, wonderful amenities, beautiful landscape, excellent service staff, home away from home facilities...you can't ask for a better situation! This is our new family tradition, we will return every year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
currydude
phoenix, az
Jun 2, 2012

great experience and value

Took family of four children aged 9 to 14. Beautiful condos built around 2009 with granite counters etc. Beautifully landscaped grounds. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to pool for happy hour

Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

2
sfmike64
San Francisco, CA
Feb 21, 2012

The suburbs in Hawaii

I would not stay here again. We were expecting more of a resort experience like when we stayed at a Marriot resort in Maui. That's not what this is. This is not a hotel! It's a condo complex that either rents out unsold units or rents out units that owners don't use all the time. It's ugly and bland (it could be in any suburb of any city in the US) and the townhouses are nothing special. Ours was probably not owned by a person as it seemed to have no personal touches at all. We were annoyed to find that housekeeping services were only available after you had stayed for a week. We were also charged a resort fee for something, but we're not entirely sure what. I think that resort fees are just evil. It's pure profit for the resort. The pool is extremely tiny and the bar/snack bar closes at 8 PM. If you're looking for a nice pool, look elsewhere. All of this said, I think we simply were the wrong people for this place. If you had a large family and played golf it would be ideal (there were four of us). For us, wanting more of a non-golf outdoor experience, the Hilton next door might've been better. Finally, why is all the architecture in Hawaii so ugly?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top