$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Santa Cruz Dream Inn

3 stars
175 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
97 reviews
Getaway

I absolutely loved my stay at the Dream Inn. My friend and I liked it so much that we stayed an... See full review

  • Cyn Cyn
  • Sep 18, 2014
Graduation trip for daughter and her friends.

Perfect trip, great location. The girls had a blast hanging out on the beach and walking to the... See full review

  • Lisa ZIrk
  • Jul 18, 2014
Retro chic beachfront surf city resort on the sand

Only in Santa Cruz is retro so cool. Instead of tearing down this 1960s relic, hoteliers embraced and retrofitted the 10-story property fronting Cowell's longboard wave as a chic boutique hotel in 2008. The only beachfront pool in Santa Cruz, fresh seafood and a flashy drink menu capture the free-spirited personality of this beach town while making it one of the coolest places to sleep on the northern Cali coast. All rooms view Monterey Bay. A set of binoculars comes in each room to help guests spot sea lions. Walk to the pier and Beach Boardwalk. 

Highlights

  • The only four-star luxury hotel in Santa Cruz
  • Beachfront deck has a heated pool, hot tub, kids wading pool, deck chairs, bar and fire pits
  • 100 percent non-smoking
  • Aquarius Restaurant serves sustainable seafood in unbeatable oceanfront setting
  • Free Wi-Fi 

Rooms

Santa Cruz Dream Inn is built so that all 165 rooms have ocean views from private balconies. Swanky, surfer-cool decor is sparse and bright with rich greens and deep browns calling to mind redwood forests. High-tech amenities include free W-Fi Internet access, iPod docs and flat-screen HDTVs. In-room safes fit laptops. Bathrooms have rainwater showerheads, plush robes and Lush bath products. Extras such as refrigerators, bathtubs and poolside patios can be requested. 

Features

From the street, the big-box Dream Inn is an understated white building. From the water, it's a different story. Occupying prime beachfront, the swimming pool deck has the makings of a modern beach party with a full service bar, fire pits and deck chairs. Inside, surfboards line the bar ceiling like light fixtures casting a glow on soul surfer patrons. The water's edge view at Aquarius restaurant impresses all kinds of water lovers. Breakfast, lunch and dinner might feature local farmers market veggies, Tomales Bay oysters and halibut ceviche, always within the guidelines of environmentally-sound seafood harvesting programs. Room service and children's menus are available. 

Transportation

  • Santa Cruz Metro Center/Greyhound bus station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (35.2 mi/56.6 km)

Attractions

  • Beach Boardwalk (Adjacent)
  • Downtown/Pacific Street (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (45.2 mi/72.8 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting space for up to 250
  • Catering

Policies and fees

  • The beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation works from 01 Dec 2014 to 12 Mar 2015. All works will be conducted during regular business hours from Monday to Friday.
  • Must be over 21 and have a major credit card to check in.
  • Parking is available for $20 USD per vehicle, per night plus tax.
  • Pets are not permitted at this hotel.
  • The hotel is currently upgrading the children?s wading pool. On certain occasions, as necessitated by the construction, the large swimming pool may be closed.  The front desk team will inform guests of the closing schedule on a day to day basis. The construction will take place during daytime, Mondays to Fridays.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Santa Cruz Dream Inn Rooms

Deluxe King
View of monterey bay the santa cruz municipal wharf and the santa cruz beach boardwalk private balcony complimentary high speed internet access.
Deluxe King
View of monterey bay the santa cruz municipal wharf and the santa cruz beach boardwalk private balcony complimentary high speed internet access.
Poolside Queen Queen
View of monterey bay the santa cruz municipal wharf and the santa cruz beach boardwalk private balcony complimentary high speed internet access.
Tower Suite
Tower Suite

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
In-Room Safe
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Santa Cruz Dream Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoriK
Falls Church
Dec 16, 2014

lovely hotel

location cannot be beat, decorations, atmosphere, pool, beach outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mading
Santa Rosa, CA
Dec 15, 2014

Birthday

Ordinary room Heater did not work well. Overpriced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HSU Grad Mom
West Sacramento, Ca
Nov 24, 2014

Room with a view

I really liked the location of this hotel. I could see the ocean waves from bed! Its right on the beach and an easy walk to the pier. Cool mod style. It's a fun upgrade of an older hotel. Valet guys were very nice even though I had to go in and out a few times the first afternoon. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cyn Cyn
San Francisco, CA
Sep 18, 2014

Getaway

I absolutely loved my stay at the Dream Inn. My friend and I liked it so much that we stayed an extra day. You definitely get the price you pay for. And the view is just breath-taking. I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa ZIrk
Red bluff, ca
Jul 18, 2014

Graduation trip for daughter and her friends.

Perfect trip, great location. The girls had a blast hanging out on the beach and walking to the boardwalk. The hot tub at the end of the evenning was perfect. The restaurant is great. The views were amazing and the girls can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jul S.
Stockton, California
Jul 16, 2014

Santos family getaway

We always have a great time at the Dream Inn in Santa Cruz. The location is perfect for walking to the wharf and boardwalk. And you can't beat waking up to the sounds of the ocean right outside the sliding glass door. The staff is always nice, friendly, and professional. Our family looks forward to visiting the Dream Inn again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many other interesting places to eat on Seabright Ave, a short drive from Dream Inn. We ate at Engfers pizza and totally loved the atmosphere!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
susanKC
San Ramon
Jul 1, 2014

The only Hotel on the beach.

We have been vacationing at the Dream Inn for the past 18 years and has watched the transformation of the property and it's wonderful. It's a great place to stay. Enjoy everyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Married Couple Traveling
Loveland, CO
Jun 25, 2014

Great Hotel on the Beach

We loved it for one night when we were passing through Santa Cruz on our way to SFO airport. The heated pool and hot tub were nice and we loved the view of the beach from our room and the pool. We had a lot of fun! Maybe a bit over priced, but you can't beat the location. Wish there was a sauna though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Boardwalk is a must! You can walk down the beach and right up into the boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommaneedsa Vaca
Livermore
Jun 21, 2014

best close to home overnighter we've ever had

This is a fun hotel, colorful, clean, on the beach, with ocean view rooms and a great location for walking to the pier, boardwalk and West Cliff Drive. Pool-side service and drinks were delicious and a huge plus!!! Fire pits in the evening made it perfect. Everything we were looking for! Can't wait to go back with the kids and or friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

stay over on a Monday, less crowded and the least expensive night of the week to stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Santa Cruz Dream Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbara World Traveler
San Francisco, CA
Jun 14, 2014

We loved the Santa Cruz Dream Inn

We made our way up the coast from LA and my family and I agreed that the Dream Inn was a dream! Staff was wonderful. We had a view room -- spectacular view of the ocean, allowing us to awake to watching pelicans feeding. We loved the pool and hot tub. The place has lovely decor and amenities. They are very accommodating,--allowing us to leave our car in their parking lot, bags with the bell hop, and use the pool until evening on check out. They're pricy, but a great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Kayaking from the Santa Cruz pier. Great fun! Lots of wildlife!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top