$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Bastille de Launay

3 stars
View map of 42, rue Amelot, Paris, 75011

Hotel Overview

4.4/5

Overall score

90%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9
Ideally located in the heart of Paris and in a quiet street just a few steps away from Place des Vosges, close to the Marais, the historic district and one of the most dynamic of the capital, the Hotel Bastille de Launay offers the calm in the city center, the service of a hotel and the atmosphere of a private residence. The hotel enjoys convenient access and direct public transport. From Place des Vosges to the Luxembourg Gardens, you are within a short walk of most famous monuments of the capital, such as Notre Dame Cathedral on Ile de la Cit, the Picasso museum, the Louvre and Orsay and that of the Opera de la Bastille and the Opera Garnier. The welcoming at the Hotel Bastille de Launay is very friendly with attentive service and good quality. Our 36 quiet and comfortable rooms are furnished with elegance and sobriety; they have modern and functional equipment.

Bastille de Launay Rooms

Double Standard room
Furnished with elegance, the rooms are a studied simplicity: a colored wall, design and functional furniture. A relaxed atmosphere for bright rooms, quiet and comfortable. Rooms completely "non smoking", equipped with a shower, one double bed, a desk, a minibar, a safe box, a direct dial telephone, a service alarm clock, an LCD flat screen TV with satellite, a hairdryer, air conditioning and individual heating and free WIFI.
Double Superior room
Furnished with elegance, the rooms are a studied simplicity: a colored wall, design and functional furniture. A relaxed atmosphere for bright rooms, quiet and comfortable. Rooms completely "non smoking", equipped with a shower, one double bed Queen size , a desk, a minibar, a safe box, a direct dial telephone, a service alarm clock, an LCD flat screen TV with satellite, a hairdryer, air conditioning and individual heating and free WIFI.
Single Standard room
Furnished with elegance, the rooms are a studied simplicity: a colored wall, design and functional furniture. A relaxed atmosphere for bright rooms, quiet and comfortable. Rooms completely "non smoking", equipped with a shower, one single bed, a desk, a minibar, a safe box, a direct dial telephone, a service alarm clock, an LCD flat screen TV with satellite, a hairdryer, air conditioning and individual heating and free WIFI.
Twin Superior room
Furnished with elegance, the rooms are a studied simplicity: a colored wall, design and functional furniture. A relaxed atmosphere for bright rooms, quiet and comfortable. Rooms completely "non smoking", equipped with a bathroom, two single beds or one double bed King size , a desk, a minibar, a safe box, a direct dial telephone, a service alarm clock, an LCD flat screen TV with satellite, a hairdryer, air conditioning and individual heating and free WIFI.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bastille de Launay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Bastille de Launay

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aiko S.
N/A
Feb 15, 2015

shower room was broken

shower room's door was broken, so the floor was flooded with water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just For A Short One
London, UK
Feb 26, 2014

A good base

The room was on the compact side, but as it was looking onto a small courtyard, it was quiet. The bathroom was clean, but very small. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The official room rate was about €120 I think, but I managed to get a weekend deal for about €75. It's very close to Bastille, and the Marais, so not the best area in Paris, but still lively and convenient. On the whole I would stay here again if I could get a bigger room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scholarship
Chicago
Sep 27, 2012

great bargain

Terrific little hotel in a great spot; tucked away on a side street near a great shopping street; terrific young and attentive staff that put up with my bad French and spoke English when necessary. Room was very clean, and obviously newly renovated. It was small, especially the shower, but sufficient and very clean. Easy walk from the Chemin Vert metro stop; and all at a terrific price. I will go back if I get the chance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mikestage
USA
Aug 14, 2012

Okay place, don't expect much, but clean and pleasant

This is a difficult review to write. Everyone at the front desk has been very nice and easy to deal with. I have had no problems to speak of. However, I have been disappointed for many reasons in this hotel. First, the good. The bed is very comfortable with enough pillows and a good size. the reception area is very nice, with places to sit and read, and plenty of brochures about Paris to keep you busy and informed. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. The room was spotless and cleaned every morning. The bathroom is adequate, big enough, but the shower, while big enough for me, might be daunting for a larger person. The other. .. . .. . Check-in is at 3pm. My room was not ready so I had to walk around Paris (not a bad thing) for 7 hours before I could take a shower. I know that is not the hotel's fault and the front desk guy assured me he would have given me a room if one was available but they were sold out. The room is small, even by french standards, at least mine was. I am laying in my comfortable bed right now. There is a 2 foot gap from my bed and the wall on all sides. There is a closet with a very small safe, although large enough to accommodate my ipad. There are plenty of hangars and a mirror on the door. My bed faces two large windows covered by plain green drapery that do a decent job of blocking the light. The view is of other rooms and presents problems when changing. You have to draw the curtains or the other guests can easily look into your room. That was a big issue for me. I like natural light but don't want people watching me sleep or watch TV. There is a small flat screen TV on the wall, with primarily french stations although it had CNN International. Also the room had great A/C. There is an elevator that, while small, did the trick. The breakfast was 12 euros and consisted of pastries, breads, muesli, fruit salad, juices, coffee and tea. It was fine and compared to what 12 euro buys at local cafes, it was comparable. It is served in the cellar in a room that gets very congested when all guests are in there. It is not really comfortable and got claustrophobic the morning I was there. The location of the hotel is the worst part. When I arrived Sunday morning, the area was completely dead (to be expected on Sunday morning). It is just off the Rue Beaumarchais, a large shopping street. The street the hotel is on is absolutely dead. Nothing around at all, but a block away there are a few restaurants. The Marais, now my new favorite place in Paris, is about a 10 minute walk to the edge, and a good 25 to the center of the Marais. I love walking so I didn't mind. The left bank is about 40 minutes away. There is a metro stop near the hotel but doesn't really go anywhere except to the next stop, Bastille, that connects to everything. You can walk to the Bastille station in about 15 minutes. From the Gare du Nord, where I arrived, you have to take a metro to Bastille and walk to the hotel, or take another line one stop up to the station near the hotel. The price was good, 130 per night, which is a bargain for a clean hotel in Paris. This is a clean, decent place, but very plain, and not near much. Next time I will stay more centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne S.
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Erinomaisella alueella

Rauhallinen sijainti. Lähellä paljon erilaisia kauppoja, ravintoloita ja kahviloita. Hotellissa ystävällistä palvelua.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pierre
Not Provided
Dec 3, 2010

Charmant petit hôtel accueillant,

Charmant petit hôtel accueillant, proche de la Bastille

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 23, 2010

Très bel hôtel contemporain

Très bel hôtel contemporain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taeko
Not Provided
Sep 29, 2009

非常に清潔で、部屋のセンスも良く、ロケーションも大変便利でし

非常に清潔で、部屋のセンスも良く、ロケーションも大変便利でした。 次回もパリを訪れる際にはぜひ利用したいです。

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 10, 2009

Très bon accueil, hôtel dans une

Très bon accueil, hôtel dans une rue très calme, chambre confortable : à recommander

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bastille de Launay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Apr 11, 2009

チェックインの時からレセプションの対応が大変良く、バスタブ付

チェックインの時からレセプションの対応が大変良く、バスタブ付きの部屋に変更希望を伝えたところ、空きが出たら直ぐに変えてもらえました。新しくはありませんが充分手入れは行き届居ており、スタッフはみな親切で以前に泊まった三ツ星ホテルよりずっと快適でした。ただ二つ星にしては正価が高めと思います。プロモーションがあればお勧めです。 バスティーユ、マレ地区にも徒歩圏内で最寄のメトロの駅もすぐ。近くにスーパーも在りますが裏通りなので夜遅くは注意が必要だと思います。

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top