$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

The Majestic Hotel South Beach

3 stars
660 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
24 reviews
Perfect couple getaway

This was my boyfriend and mines first vacation together and I couldn't have picked a better hotel... See full review

  • CEEnES
  • May 6, 2013
Perfect Bachelor Party Location

Went with group of 8 guys for bachelor party in Southbeach. Perfect location, close to beach and... See full review

  • Chicago Groom
  • May 6, 2013
Art Deco landmark hotel on Ocean Drive

This newly renovated Art Deco hotel enjoys a precious spot on South Beach's legendary Ocean Drive. Lummus Park is right across the street, and the lively clubs, restaurants and boutiques that made this area famous are also nearby. A neon-lit sign and palm-tree lined entrance welcome visitors in true Miami fashion. Amenities such as outdoor dining and picturesque views of the Atlantic Ocean add to the appeal.

Highlights
  • Art Deco boutique hotel on famous Ocean Drive
  • Indoor and outdoor dining at Ocean 7 Cafe
  • Bar at the sister property the Carlton South Beach Hotel
  • Passes to local nightclubs
  • Free access to the pool at sister property the Carlton South Beach
Rooms

Recently refurbished superior and partial oceanview rooms reflect simplicity and classic Miami Beach boutique style. White duvets ground the space and contrast with terracotta-colored drapes and oversized wood headboards. In every room, guests have LCD TVs, Wi-Fi access, waffle bathrobes and designer bath products.

Features

One of the first carbon-neutral properties in the US, The Majestic offers guests an eco-friendly property with key amenities such as guest room recycling, high-efficiency baths and more. The hotel does not have a pool, but guests are welcome to swim at the neighboring property, the Carlton South Beach Hotel.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Jewish Museum of Florida (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Art Deco District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Off-site meeting space can be arranged for groups
  • Catering services
Policies and fees

  • Guests must be 21 years old to check in.
  • The hotel charges a $12.50 USD daily resort fee that covers items such as beach towels, local and toll free phone calls, property-wide Wi-Fi, in room safe and nightclub passes when available.
  • Valet parking costs $27 USD a night. On street metered parking or municipal/private parking garage available as well.
  • Upon check in, a room deposit of $150 USD is requested and held against a guest credit card or debit card for incidental charges. Generally, when the guest Credit Card Company or Bank sees the final hotel transaction, they will release the hold. However, depending on the policy of the Financial Institution, their processing centers may take seven to 10 days after departure to release the hold or return funds to guest debit card accounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amenities or costs listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change upon availability.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Majestic Hotel South Beach Rooms

Majestic Superior Double
Room with two double beds is traditionally decorated in Art Deco style and includes individual climate control, telephone with data port, LCD TV, cable TV, and alarm/clock radio.
Partial Oceanview
Partial Oceanview Room with one queen bed is traditionally decorated in Art Deco style and includes individual climate control, telephone with data port, LCD TV, cable TV, and alarm/clock radio.
Majestic Superior Queen
Room with one queen or two double beds, subject to availability, is traditionally decorated in Art Deco style and includes individual climate control, telephone with data port, LCD TV, cable TV, and alarm/clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Majestic Hotel South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.777 -80.1317
Area served
Miami Beach.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
The Majestic is in a great location - from the outdoor cafes and restaurants, to the bars, clubs, world class shopping and recreation offered along Miami Beach. Guests staying in this Art Deco District hotel can walk to just about everything, including the beach, which is across the street. Business travelers will find the Majestic convenient as well with the Miami Beach Convention Center just 10 blocks away. Miami International Airport is about 15 minutes by car or taxi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Overall score

2.9 / 5
24 out of 24
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
2.9

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
Steph71409
Hialeah
Apr 9, 2014

Great location

Right in the beach centrally located in between all the main shopping and clubs of south beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
Hector the vogager
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 3, 2014

Good for a weekend

The hotel is good for a short weekend stay. Rooms are clean but not comfortable. If you are not at a room to the front of the hotel your outside view will be walls and alleys. The location in excellent, as good as any hotel at beachfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the room only to sleep.

Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

2
Gigi 1013
Miami, Fl.
Sep 11, 2013

Birthday Celebration 2013

There were hidden fees. The hotel was not inviting at all. had continuous issues with the room key and on one occasion as I was sitting on the bed naked after getting out of the shower, so one unlocked the door and proceeded to walk in. I later discovered that the man was an employee. When I asked why was he attempting to enter the room, I was not given and answer. The literature in the room states that room service is provided by the onsite restaurant, which was also false. Lastly, while searching the internet for a hotel, the Majestic advertised that the hotel had a pool on site. Upon checking in, I was advised that pool access was granted at their sister hotel, The Carlton. The Majestic is located between 6th and 7th street. The Carlton is located at 14th. So if I wanted to relax in the pool, I would have to walk almost seven (7) blocks. I would not stay at this hotel ever again, nor would I recommend it to anyone searching for a place to stay. Thank you for allowing me to voice my concerns. Marian

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Regardless of which way you go in the South Beach area, there are lots of great shopping opportunities. There is something for all fashion styles and budgets.

Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
mrsmcrray
nj
Aug 30, 2013

Trip was amazing - hotel room was just okay

I look at this way, you get what you paid for... The room I was in has a nice view of Ocean Drive but the carpets are very out dated and you can tell they need to be replaced.. Room is a comfy size for 4 but the windows were really dirty so I had to open the window just to get a good picture of the ocean view. Blinds in the bathroom were broken and the shower curtain was dirty too (eww). Staff on the other hand, were very helpful and and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
TFow
Maryville, IL
Aug 27, 2013

Girls Trip

This was the first trip to a series of trips me and my friends will be taking. When we arrived the check-in was fast and simple which is a good thing. The guy at the desk, Benny, was very helpful. The rooms were a little small for the 3 of us that went but we made it work. While we stayed there we went walking, of course to the beach and a few clubs. One thing they said they provided and didn't was passes to clubs. We never received them. The only real bad thing about the hotel was the restaurant staff. They were extremely rude and management didn't seem to help very much. Other than that we had a great time. Unfortunately I wouldn't stay or recommend this hotel because of that. If the staff was more friendly and find that something that they are missing then I would definitely stay there again. And it would of been great if they had a shuttle to and from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
Toni Ann
New York, New York
Jul 29, 2013

Decent for the price

I stayed here for nine days with my three friends and let's just say it obviously didn't look like the photos online. We discovered that Miami is ridiculously expensive so surprisingly this hotel was a good deal. We weren't looking for anything too extravagant considering we are young and just wanted to experience Miami. I will say that it was a disappointment to learn that the pool was located at a different hotel which was quite far away, but other than that this hotel had an amazing location. It was literally steps away from the popular nightlife of South Beach and had so much to offer. Our room had some plumbing problems at one point, but the staff was accommodating. The woman behind the desk was a pleasure and offered up great advice on sightseeing and things to do. It wasn't a five star resort but it did its job and provided me with an enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was so easy to find popular nightlife, just walk down the street.

Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

2
Maira A.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Jul 9, 2013

PERFECT LOCATION

The location of the hotel was perfect but the room was just too small...barely any space to walk around. It was four of us staying in one room and it was a tight squeez. Nothing too speacial about the room but the location was great, walking distance to almost all the attractions we were there for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

1
Travler Katie
New England
Jun 26, 2013

Nice Location, Bad Hotel

From the outside, the hotel appeared similar to the other hotels along the strip. The hotel is in a prime location right on Ocean Avenue and directly across from the beach. Inside the lobby was clean. When we got to our room, it was smaller than expected (and the photos led to believe) and appeared clean from a far. However, actually settling in to the room and hotel, it was sub par. The air conditioner and vents must not have been cleaned in years due to the amount of dust they had acquired. The shower head gave only a mist like flow, it was impossible to rinse out shampoo, let alone conditioner. There three of staying in the hotel and we were left two towels, one hand towel, one face cloth, and a bath mat each time the room was serviced. We had to ask for an additional towel everyday. Our room was only serviced three times in our five night stay and we had to request our sheets be changed. Our hairdryer did not work. The beds had strange pieces sticking out at shin height causing bruises on all of our shins. These pieces could not be seen due to the sham and were only known about after taking a hit to the shin. There was an air conditioner in the room, but did not work well. There was a safe that worked just fine. The room did have a flat screen TV, but would not always work. The ice machine in the dingy basement worked on alternating days. However, the front desk was extremely helpful. The attendants were always pleasant and accommodating. When I asked for a working hairdryer, one was brought to the room in five minutes. The resort fee was for providing beach towels upon request. Beach chairs and/or umbrellas were not included in the fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe del Mar is two blocks down on 7th street and had delicious fresh sandwiches.

Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

4
LB30
Pittsburgh, PA
May 29, 2013

Love South Beach

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in April and had a blast! The rooms were pretty small, and could use some remodeling. The staff was helpful and friendly. Everything was in walking distance, the location is perfect, the beach is right across the street, and there are bars/restaurants EVERYWHERE. I will definitely go back to this hotel! Also, if you are looking for a quite get-a-way... this is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a fun night out, go to the Clevelander..

Review of The Majestic Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
Lilia87
north brunswick nj
May 26, 2013

Rooms are small

To all who are planning a girls getaway bathrooms are very tiny. Not enough room for three girls to stay in one bathroom. The Satff is very nice though they need some work in actually being at the front desk when you need them. But still very nice. This place also does not have parking; They do have vallet however at 28 dollars a night. Dont get me wrong this has the best location. Close to all the major clubs and lots of places to eat and drink on the strip. For the price of the hotel not bad but could have been a little better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning in Miami is expensive I would def rent a car so you can venture away fromMiami to eat

Back to menu Return to top