$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Americas Best Value Inn

2 stars
10 Hallam Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
58 reviews
Nice little hotel on Folsom

The America's Best Value Inn SoMa on Folsom is a nice play to stay at a very reasonable price. The... See full review

  • Len Whitney
  • Jul 1, 2014
sleep then back to work

Good, close to downtown San Francisco, South of Market eateries and nightspots. See full review

  • moepea
  • Jan 26, 2014
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites SOMA-San Francisco offers the most value for your money when staying for business- pleasure- or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms with in-room Wi-Fi and free lite breakfast. All guest rooms include coffeemaker- hairdryer- satellite TV- HBO- iron- ironing board- desk with lamp- alarm clock radio- free local calls- and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy *11 and under in parent*s room*. For those guests that are in town on longer term corporate assignments or business trips we also offer special weekly and monthly rates- as well as direct billing options. For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke-free. Sorry- no pets are allowed. We are only 13 miles from San Francisco International Airport and close to several local attractions such as the Yerba Buena Gardens. We are conveniently located off of Bayshore Freeway/Highway 80- between Folsom Street and Hallam Street. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites SOMA-San Francisco offers ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for golfing- hiking- or to visit UC Hastings College of the Law- Civic Center- San Francisco Conservatory of Music- San Francisco Museum of Modern Art SFMOMA- Union Square- AT and T Park- Fisherman*s Wharf- or Pier 39. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites SOMA-San Francisco our goal is to provide our guests a great experience- not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites SOMA-San Francisco- We*ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow.

Americas Best Value Inn Rooms

1 King Bed Non-Smoking
1 King Bed-NonSmoking-Free WiFi- Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-Satellite TV-HBO-Iron-
2 Double Beds Non-Smoking
2 Double Beds-NonSmoking-Free WiFi- Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-Satellite TV-HBO-Iron-
1 King Bed Efficiency Non-Smokin
1 King Bed-Efficiency-NonSmoking-Free WiFi- Microwave-MiniFridge-Coffeemaker-Hairdryer-

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7756 -122.4086
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 12.90, MI, NW; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.30, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Dining

Citizen*s Band
0.1 mi.
India Garden Restaurant
0.2 mi.
AK Subs
0.5 mi.
Burger King
0.5 mi.
Rocco*s Cafe
0.6 mi.
Brain Wash Cafe
0.6 mi.
Extreme Pizza
0.6 mi.
Fondue Cowboy
0.6 mi.
Fino Bar and Ristorante
1.5 mi.
Kokkari Estiatorio
2.3 mi.
Sotto Mare Oysteria and Seafood
2.4 mi.
The Stinking Rose
2.4 mi.
The Codmother Fish and Chips
2.6 mi.
Radius
0.6 mi.
Basil Thai Restaurant and Bar
0.06 mi.
SoMa Inn Cafe
0.7 mi.
Triptych Restaurant
0.03 mi.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len Whitney
Hollywood, California
Jul 1, 2014

Nice little hotel on Folsom

The America's Best Value Inn SoMa on Folsom is a nice play to stay at a very reasonable price. The nicest rooms are the corner rooms with a lovely bay windowed seating area and renovated spa bathrooms. These are rooms #210, 310 or 410. They can be noisy because of street sounds and the bar downstairs, but if you are used to city noises, this is not a big problem. The staff is very pleasant and eager to be helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kaykhrystyne
Monterey
Apr 13, 2014

Okay. Good for one night

Well it took us 30 minutes to find parking since they don't have parking. The "continental breakfast" was a little muffin. And it's above a bar so you hear music all night till 3 am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moepea
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 26, 2014

sleep then back to work

Good, close to downtown San Francisco, South of Market eateries and nightspots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Brainwash Comedy night every Thursday right across the street from the hotel

Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hi Hate Frisco
Kansas City
Jan 15, 2014

Do not go there!

Dusty room. Shower did not work. Stains on bed sheets. You can hear people talking, walking in rooms next to yours. Breakfast is a joke. Refrigerator too old and noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kate1212
Ohio
Nov 18, 2013

Very nice people, but hotel was kind of dirty

Great people working there, good location to get around but could use a lot of cleaning and updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the app uber to get around town. Great value and people that work for it. This app was a huge help getting around town quickly.

Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ayala
Dallas
Jun 2, 2012

Get what you pay for

Not the best place but if you just need a place to crash for the night. This is it. You get the bare minimum. Don't think I would recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarahnorman
Norman, OK, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Nice place to stay if you don´t want to spend too much money

Stayed two nights at this hotel and although it´s an old building, they really try to make the best of it. Room was clean and pretty nice. They have a valet parking which you pay around $16 for, and that worked great for us since we didn´t want to drive around in the city anyway. Plus, we noticed some parking charging $30 per day! Location is okay but it´s a pretty long walk to the pier for example, but taxis were cheap. Staff was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cool bar just a few steps a way from the hotel if you want to have a few beers!

Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SammySam
Wisconsin
Nov 1, 2011

Great hotel at a great value

This was a great place for the money. It was recently updated but still retained its character. Its has a great location with easy access to SOMA, Mission, Market and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
business traveler 2011
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Oct 5, 2011

1 mile from conference center

Was way over priced for the quality of hotel and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amigamia
Business
Montreal, Canada
Jun 14, 2011

Not bad... but can be better.

The hotel is located in SOMA (south of Market st), a 15-20 minute walk from Union Square. Not bad if you are on business and want to be out of the hustle and bustle of the touristy area. The front desk personnel are friendly and helpful, but you have to consider that because this is a small, and sort of family-run hotel, there are times of the day there is no one there. Two kudos for them: I lost my flight and had to sleep at the airport, so I called and they had my room ready by the time I finally arrived (of course the room was paid in advance since I made online reservations); and, two of my cousins arrived the last night I was staying there, and was not charged any extra fee (not sure if this was because I had a two double bed room, though. But I certainly made the reservation for only one guest). They offer a light breakfast... never got it due to my own schedule. The bed was comfortable and had clean sheets. Some details could be improved. It's not a dirty place, but toilets could be better, and the entrance floors could be swept more often. You should also consider a couple additional things. If trying to save money by bringing your own food to the room (there was a minibar), there are not very many nearby places to do it. You would have to walk about 5 blocks to get to Trader's Joe on the 9th, or use one of the small convenience stores (with almost no real food options). There's a bar right at the corner of the street that may give you some background noise at bedtime if you get a street view room as I did. You should either be familiar with the transportation system/routes if you're not driving, or be aware that for getting to places like Fisherman's Wharf it'll take you a while and some taxi fares. There was no safe in the room or on site parking (the valet parking service they have works well and isn't expensive).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping area around Union Square (Market St and adjacent streets) is within walking distance (15-20 mins), and there is a handful of restaurants as well.

Back to menu Return to top