$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2014 Check-out: May 16, 2014

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
233 reviews
Kona Seaside

Very warm and friendly staff. Hotel is clean. With lots of aloha. Reception area is welcoming with... See full review

  • robstercraw
  • Apr 15, 2014
Last minute getaway

We had business in Kona and decided perhaps we should stay in town. We didn't want to spend a lot... See full review

  • Clara bear
  • Apr 10, 2014
Kailua value hotel offers Island-style rooms near waterfront and shops
The budget-friendly and family owned Kona Seaside Hotel offers great perks just off the waterfront in downtown Kailua-Kona. The property features two swimming pools and two all-day restaurants, plus some guest rooms have ocean views. Just around the corner, Kailua's oceanfront Alii Drive is bustling with charming shops, restaurants and historic sites, including Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.
Highlights
  • Book an oceanview tower room with private balcony and enjoy views of the pier, bay, paddlers and big-game fishing boats
  • Location in the heart of Kailua town, near restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Cool off in two on-property swimming pools, perfect for Kona's year-round warm weather
  • Two restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
Rooms
Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available in either the hotel's mid-rise tower or the garden area. Selected Kona Seaside Hotel rooms offer nice bay views. All are furnished in simple Island style with turquoise and red patterned bedspreads, bedside lamp and nightstands. Guest rooms include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, clock radio, ceiling fan and private balcony. Units include high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Some also have microwaves.

Features
Kona Seaside Hotel offers guests two restaurants: Tanti's and Paleo's Bar and Grill, both open daily. Additional casual and fine dining is plentiful throughout the neighborhood, especially on the waterfront Alii Drive. Kona Seaside Hotel is across the Kaliua Peir, the ocean activity center on the Big Island. Guest enjoy two pools, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Parking is available (fees apply). Day trips to Volcano National Park promise an easy route from the property.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)


Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (93 mi/151 km)

Kona Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Tower: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, refrigerator,coffee and tea maker,black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, A/C and large private lanai.Free Wi-Fi
Superior Garden: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board,tropical ceiling fan, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, refrigerator, and air conditioning. Free WiFi
Superior Pool: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our popular Tower area near the lobby, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data refrigerator, A/C and large private lanai with a view of the ocean.Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6418 -155.9963
Area served
Kailua Kona
Nearby airports
Keahole Airport
Area description
From the Keahole Airport turn right onto the highway and travel nine miles into Kailua-Kona. Hotel is located at the corner of Kuakini and Palani.

Dining

Splashers
Oceanfront dining with lunch and dinner specialities of fresh kona caught fish, steaks and chops.
Tante's
This Oceanfront restaurant specializes in local favorites

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
robstercraw
California
Apr 15, 2014

Kona Seaside

Very warm and friendly staff. Hotel is clean. With lots of aloha. Reception area is welcoming with ice cold water infused with orange slices. Close to downtown Kailua.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Clara bear
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 10, 2014

Last minute getaway

We had business in Kona and decided perhaps we should stay in town. We didn't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel so decided to check out the Seaside as we had heard they has great service & rooms. We enjoyed our evening in town at the beach, dinner and a comfortable and friendly stay. Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Maxwell from Idaho
Coeurdalene Idaho
Apr 7, 2014

Max needed R & R

The rooms were clean, the staff helpful, the views were beautiful. The food was great. However someone backed into the car in the parking lot and broke out a headlight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Chelance
Paauilo
Mar 19, 2014

Too pricey

Too expensive for what it's worth not going to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Monkey bidness
Spokane, WA
Mar 11, 2014

Great Value and location

Hotel is centrally located for eating, drinking , and shopping. You can walk to most places you might want to go in the local Kailua vicinity. Staff is friendly and helpful at all times and the rooms are generally clean and well maintained. We have stayed here in the past and will stay again when in the Kailua/Kona area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kona Steakhouse. Very close great prices on food and drinks and the food is good.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Bob and LaVon
Wisconsin
Mar 9, 2014

Very nice place to stay

The staff was great, helpful and friendly. the room was very clean. Had a little trouble with the room Wi-Fi. It is right on a main street so at night when you had the windows open it was a little loud, but all in all we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Honestly1
Boston, MA
Mar 1, 2014

Bait and switch

Overall, our stay was fine. Paid around $114 for one night stay for the convenient location. The room was clean which was my ultimate goal, however I felt taken advantage of when learning that the $25 breakfast voucher I was supposed to receive was not a $25 breakfast voucher. Instead it was a limited selection of either eggs/bacon/potatoes, or yogurt/granola, or banana-Mac nut pancakes (worth $15 if you went to the restaurant and paid cash for 2 people). It was suggested to put down a $4 tip (for 2 people) in addition to the voucher. The food was good and had a nice view, but I don't like being told I am getting one thing and then finding out I'm getting something else. If I hadn't felt like I was being lied to, I would give a slightly higher rating. I chose to pay extra to stay at this hotel because of the value-add of the full breakfast, instead of staying at Uncle Billy's Hotel for $95/night with free contiental breakfast. So the room was clean, had to keep shades closed as our room faced the major road, but there was good laundry facilities, air conditioning, free wifi, the beds were comfortable and room was quiet even though it was right next to the road. Suggestion: if you are planning to stay here but check in after 3pm, call ahead and ask them to save you a parking spot. It is not "ample" parking like they say on their website and they are likely to run out unless they hold a spot for you. The free public parking down the street fills up quick because everyone parks there to go shopping or to the beach. People were constantly circling the lot like vultures, waiting for a spot to open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Call ahead to save a parking spot before you checkin. You will waste time on your vacation looking for a spot in the free lot.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
kona repeat stay
orland park, illinois
Feb 28, 2014

great for the price

why pay many more dollars, when this hotel is steps away from the water, right on the main drag, Alii drive. the staff is always very nice and helpful. old time Hawaiian aloha...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to include breakfast with your room reservation. the restaurant is right next door, overlooking the ocean.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
lamont10
Business
Tulsa, OK, USA
Feb 9, 2014

friendly staff

And close both to tourist and real kailua-kona (longs drugs, l&l drive in, mask gay bar, etc)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Recent mainland transplan
Big Island, Hawaii
Jan 26, 2014

Good value in Hilo

Good value for the price. Great location, central to all of Hilo. Good base for exploring the volcano.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top