The Steinhart

3 stars
952 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
19 reviews
A great location for a small family

We chose The Steinhart because of our 18 month old, and our need for a kitchenette to prepare... See full review

  • leylandrichard
  • Feb 11, 2014
Very comfortable apartment

We had a one bedroom apartment with fold down "Murphy" bed. It was roomy, light and well set out.... See full review

  • Julie56
  • May 6, 2013
Hollywood-style glamour at 3-star prices

Housed in an elegant 1930s building in the cultural district of San Francisco, the Steinhart Hotel and Apartments have charm and style in abundance. Responsible for the design of such fashionable boutiques as Gucci and Ralph Lauren, interior designer William Sofield created an exclusive 1930s-inspired design ethic that would not be out of place in a classic Hollywood film, but with modern conveniences such as high-speed Internet access thrown in. The Steinhart Hotel and Apartments also allows pets, by prior arrangement.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Interior design featured in House Beautiful magazine
  • Cooking, barbecue and picnic facilities included
  • Complimentary use of fitness center nearby
Steinhart Hotel Rooms

The Steinhart Hotel and Apartments offer a choice of either a deluxe studio, with 450-480 square feet of space, or a one-bedroom apartment, which provides a more spacious 690-700 square feet. There are 57 accommodations in total, and all come with televisions and DVD players. The gracious design by William Sofield extends to polished wooden furniture with a classic Art Deco style, to soft lighting, elegant sofas and chaises, and beautifully accessorized kitchen and living areas, with thick drapes, chic lamps, fruit bowls and well-chosen, discreet artworks on the walls. Microwaves, refrigerators and full kitchen services are available in the rooms. The Steinhart Hotel and Apartments offers a safe deposit box, laundry and concierge services. Complimentary features include high-speed wireless Internet access, toiletries, and free local calls, as well as free entry to a nearby fitness center.

Things To Do:
  • Grace Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Union Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel offers 24-hour front desk.
  • Guests who check out prior to scheduled departure date will be charged with a penalty of 1 night room rate plus tax. An early departure fee is also enforced on long-term stays for 30+ nights. A 30-days cancellation notice is required on monthly stays to avoid any early departure fees. Guests may change and confirm the departure date upon check-in. Any changes made after check-in will incur an early departure fee.
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Steinhart Rooms

One Bedroom Apartment
Standard One Bedroom Apartment comprises of a master bedroom with a queen bed, a living room with a murphy bed, a large closet, and a full-kitchen with a fridge, stove and oven, microwave, cookware and dishes (690 - 700 sq ft). Please note that the front desk is attended daily between 8am and 5pm. To check-in outside of these hours guests must pick up their welcome packet(including keys/codes for the Steinhart) at our sister property Hotel Diva, located at 440 Geary Street(between Taylor St. and Mason St.)
Deluxe Studio
Deluxe Studio features a convenient and comfortable murphy bed, a large walk-in closet, and a full-kitchen with a fridge, stove and oven, microwave, cookware and dishes (450-480 sq ft) Please note that the front desk is attended daily between 8am and 5pm. To check-in outside of these hours guests must pick up their welcome packet(including keys/codes for the Steinhart) at our sister property Hotel Diva, located at 440 Geary Street(between Taylor St. and Mason St.)

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Steinhart also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7885 -122.4162
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
12 Miles away from San Francisco International Airport. 25 Miles away from Oakland Airport.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for The Steinhart

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leylandrichard
Cambridge, UK
Feb 11, 2014

A great location for a small family

We chose The Steinhart because of our 18 month old, and our need for a kitchenette to prepare meals. It proved a great choice, and we would be happy to stay there again. The building itself is a beautiful, historic building. It's maybe 7-10 minutes walk from Union Square, so feels well connected. There are a couple of nice cafes within 5 minutes - We recommend the chintzy charm of Lori's Diner. The staff were flexible and helpful - Though not always there. When we needed a cot and some extra items they were provided very quickly and without fuss. The rooms are a little dated, but clean and functional, and on a par with other local hotels which are more expensive (for example the Union Square hotel, which is owned by the same company). The pull down bed was comfy and we actually liked being able to fold it away to create space. In short, this is a good hotel. Excellent value for money, beautiful building and comfy bed. Slightly dated, but then so are most of the hotels in downtown SFO, and it's cheaper than most. If you have a family and need a kitchenette, then it's unbeatable. If you're making a hotel decision, The Steinhart will serve you well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asdfasdfadf
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Dec 16, 2013

decent hotel for decent price

Needed a cheap hotel for a 5 day trip. Hotel was clean and staff were courteous. Only concern is proximity to bad areas of town, but the staff was kind enough to provide guidance of areas of town to avoid and how to get around safely. The hotel is nothing fancy, but very sufficient if all you need is a clean place to sleep while in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie56
New Zealand
May 6, 2013

Very comfortable apartment

We had a one bedroom apartment with fold down "Murphy" bed. It was roomy, light and well set out. There was a pleasant view towards the hills. Although it faced the street, it was not noisy. We were able to cook a meal in the kitchen (after the staff kindly and promptly located an extra cooking pot). The location is close to downtown and there are some good restaurants nearby. Grocery stores are also close by. However, it is fairly close to the more seedy areas of town and we didn't always feel completely comfortable on some of the nearby streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the great farmers' market at The Ferry Building (approx 15 mins walk) and buy great ingredients to cook in your apartment (and the wine to go with it).

Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Villijer
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 30, 2013

Great convention stay

I like saving money, and I don't need a lot of attention at a hotel. I just wanted a place to crash for a long convention week. I would not have been proud to show off my room, but I saved money here and felt good about it. My room had a kitchen and there's a Trader Joes's about 3 blocks away - so I saved money on several meals as well. I did ask for a room with a better view (mine looked onto a blank wall) but they had no other rooms for the week I had booked. Christopher tried to accommodate, but there really was little he could do. Mine was a convention stay for a week. Worked out really well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stock up on food and guilty pleasures on the cheap at Trader Joe's market near Hyde & Bush, three blocks from the Steinhart Hotel

Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ozzie
Miami, Fl.
Oct 22, 2012

Maid service

The only thing I did not like was that I had no maid service. The staff was very helpful in getting me around san francisco and there is a market next door that will have what you need. Luckily I was alone and the room was well stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

learn the bus and street cars EARLY! San fran is expensive and taxis are not cheap! Do NOT rent a car because parking SUCKS and EXPENSIVE! Also, you're better off walking!

Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
De the world traveller
Montreal Canada
Oct 18, 2012

Great place for a long stay

The staff was very friendly and our appartment was super clean. The bed was too small for two people, I don't think that it was even a double bed. The location was good, we walked everywhere except that we were very close to a seedy neighborhood and there were a lot of homeless persons on the street. Overall, we would stay there again it was nice having the space of a studio instead of just a hotel room and even if we stayed out late we felt safe at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Italian restaurant IDEALE on Grant and Columbus

Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S. Magnus
Manhattan/New York City and Oslo Norway
Sep 19, 2012

Great in every way for 5-day long-weekend

Value for money (1 x bedroom apt.): excellent. Location: part of main/best city district - services/restaurants/shopping, and general easy city (walking + transport) - all superior, safe, convenient. Cleanliness: spotless; well-maintainted (room + common areas) Service: cozy; hospitable; friendly; accommodating; interactive but non-intrusive. Appointments: all equipment superior; loved the I-phone docking station for playing on in-room stereo; two flat-screen TVs - most generous; and high-quality furnishings. Spacious; nice windows in multiple rooms/fine cross-street view. Overall atmostphere: quiet; relaxing; and stop-in visiting friends from London were most impressed. Recommendation: Highly recommended. Definitely keep this on any SF-trip hotel list ! Submitted from: well-travelled/experienced international clients - with absolutely no hidden agenda or 'special' commercial connections, interests, or incentives. This is a totally objective, independent personal customer review from September 2012.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town restaurants - authentic, high-quality/tasty and good value. Rest of City is great too. Just look around and enjoy!

Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rich71
Chorley, Lancs, UK
Aug 10, 2012

A fantastic base to explore San Fran.

A great hotel combining old style and modern furnishings. A good quiet location with friendly, helpful staff. The appartment was spacious and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of good places for breakfast and dinner as you walk along Sutter Street and in the nearby Union Square area.

Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Cheng
Hong Kong
Jul 4, 2012

more like a suite

very nice room, with a fully functional kitchen, feels like a suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Steinhart

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ghyman
Business
Greenville, SC, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Beats a standard hotel room any day (well, 7 days at least)

If you plan to visit for a week or so, this is an excellent alternative to a hotel room. Apartments are large, quiet and include everything you have in a hotel, plus an equipped kitchen. There are two markets on the block, so very easy to pick up something for a meal in-house. And it was a very easy walk to Union Square...and a longer casual walk to Golden Gate park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Golden Diner across the street for great, inexpensive breakfast - Coffee house end of block for deserts and Thai Stick two blocks away for eat-in, pick-up

Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map