$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

3 stars
2270 HOTEL CIRCLE NORTH, SAN DIEGO, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
123 reviews
Good getaway

We loved the lush scenery at the hotel and enjoyed the sushi bar as well! I don't like that they... See full review

  • Nena traveler
  • Jul 1, 2013
Quick stay

We loved the beautiful garden area, pool and hot tub. However, having to pay for wi-fi should be a... See full review

  • Ghudd
  • Apr 2, 2013
Family-friendly hotel in heart of Mission Valley
Situated just minutes from Sea World, Old Town and a number of other San Diego attractions, the 8-story Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley is conveniently located for multiple sightseeing opportunities. The family-friendly hotel features a heated outdoor pool, outdoor waterfall and discount tickets to local attractions. The on-site restaurant serves sushi and pupus, invoking a tropical theme present throughout the hotel.
Highlights
  • Close to Sea World and Old Town
  • Discount tickets to area attractions
  • Dine on sushi and pupus at on-site restaurant
  • Heated outdoor pool
Rooms

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley offers 417 rooms (including 12 suites) in varying size. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, CD player, coffee-maker and spacious work desk. Suites and executive club-level rooms also boast a microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego – Mission Valley completed an exhaustive renovation in 2009. It was during these improvements the hotel adopted a Polynesian theme.

Currently, all guests receive discount tickets to Sea World and other attractions in the San Diego area. Guests also have access to a heated outdoor swimming pool, as well as a complimentary on-site fitness center and free shuttle that takes guests anywhere within one mile of the hotel. The hotel offers 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). There's also a beauty salon on-site (fees apply).

The Islands Restaurant serves sushi and Hawaiian-inspired cuisine that invokes the tropics.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (3 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (5 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (2 mi/3 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (5 mi/8 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/10 km)
  • Old Town (8 mi/13 km)
  • Point Loma (9 mi/14 km)
Business
  • 26,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Indoor and outdoor meeting space
  • Catering services
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7612 -117.1835
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 5.50, MI; Montgomery Field Airport, (MYF), 6.70, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Dining

The Islands Restaurant
The Islands Restaurant is a casual, family friendly restaurant featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Seating is available inside or out on our patio overlooking the tropical poolside area.
Islands Sushi & PuPu Bar
Set in an exotic atmosphere of tropical surroundings, salt-water fish tanks and cascading waterfalls, The Islands Sushi & Pupu Bar in the Crowne Plaza San Diego is the place to be. Both local and hotel patrons can enjoy the fantastic and delicious array o

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
Nena traveler
Glendale, Az
Jul 1, 2013

Good getaway

We loved the lush scenery at the hotel and enjoyed the sushi bar as well! I don't like that they charge for parking, they should roll it into the room costs so I don't feel like I'm being nickle and dimed! Also they charge 9.95 per day for wifi! It's 2013, it should be included just like towels!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sushi in the hotel is delicous!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
Ghudd
Chico, California
Apr 2, 2013

Quick stay

We loved the beautiful garden area, pool and hot tub. However, having to pay for wi-fi should be a thing of the past. For the money, a complimentary breakfast should have been included. $5 for a cup of coffee in the restaurant?? C'mon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
markerbaseball
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Did the job well

Room was very clean, grounds were nice, and location worked well being right off the 8 in Mission Valley. Recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
Oplascen
Mexicali, Baja, Mexico
Nov 26, 2012

Very good and excellent Location

We were very comfortable, our kids were happy to stay there, the hotel is very near form shopping malls and San Diego down town, the only bad thing is that we had to pay $12.00 extra for Parking I do not understand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location and confortable

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
Hilblie
Simi valley
Sep 6, 2012

Labor day getaway

The hotel was nice a nice place to stay my room was ready when I got there and the staff was very helpful They even helped me get ticket for sea world at the last min at a discount price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Tickets

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

3
Tranlis
Las Vegas,NV
Sep 4, 2012

Fee for parking, WIFI, And Food is Bad

Despite the daily parking fee, and the fridge and microwave options by request only,Hotel staff are very accommodating and promptly work on the request .Food in "The kitchen "Restaurant should be avoided,and better spend your money outside .It is outrageously expensive, for such a lousy tasting food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

5
Kam The Hawaiian
Norwalk, Ca.
Jul 2, 2012

Family Get Away

Everything was great!!!!! Hotel, room, staff, parking, and food. Definately be back again. Our fourth trip to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
Kam The Hawaiian
Norwalk, Ca.
May 14, 2012

Mothers Day Get Away

Our Family showed up with our Boat and trailer attached to our SUV, the attendant opened the gate and showed us an open area to park. We went to check in and the front desk was very friendly and very quick. They were awesome and my family felt very comfortable. The Hotel itself was very clean, all staff especially at the restaurant were very polite. The food was perfect. Our room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. My kids loved the pool and begged me to go back again. For the price, looks like we found our new Hotel to stay at while in San Diego. Actually heading back down in a couple of weeks. Much Mahalos to the Staff of Crown Plaza Hotel for the hospitality. Look forward on seeing you again soon........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was excellent!!!!!!!!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
Jbergon
SLC, Utah
Mar 12, 2012

A "Grand" getaway!

Room was lovely w/ exception of what appeared to be cigarette burns in drapery?? Loved the drape closure clip to keep room dark in early a.m.. Stayed at end of hall so very cozy and quiet. Took my granddaughter on her first trip with just nana! We were SO excited to swim and went down to the pool only to discover it was FREEZING! Thought that was a little unfair advertising. Didn't tell me at check in when I inquired about the pool hours! OOPSIE! Didn't really see any hotel staff around to make comments other than in and out and both just fine... Beautiful trees and tropical feel all around inside of property. Very nice. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Quite literally only 8 minutes from Seaport Village! Pool towels are a little larger than dish towels so BRING YOUR OWN! Pool was FREEZING, so check first! In summer it would probably feel great...not so in March!

Review of Crowne Plaza SAN DIEGO - MISSION VALLEY

Reviewer score

4
WriteforLife
CA
Feb 20, 2012

Loved the Hawaiian feel!

I will come right out and say it, I HATED where this hotel was located. But I was staying there with a group and had no choice, so there I was and I had to make the best of it. Trying to find something to eat around there isn't easy and the closest restaurants are about 2 miles away at a shopping mall. That being said, location aside, I was very happy with this hotel. Yes, it's old, but it's clean and well-maintained. My experiences with everyone on staff, from housekeeping, front desk, to the parking attendants were very pleasant. The ambiance of the hotel is also really nice. It has a Hawaiian theme and they actually do a very good job of capturing that "feel" throughout the property. If I had to be back in that area for some reason again, I would certainly stay at that property again. Note: As others have said, there is a $12 fee for parking every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall is down the road on Hotel Circle North. You make a left out of the hotel and then turn left on Fashion Valley Road.

Back to menu Return to top