$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

3 stars
135 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
62 reviews
Convenient, Comfortable & Friendly Stay

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Latham hotel in Philly. The room was clean, comfortable,... See full review

  • clarinetmj
  • Jul 18, 2014
Great mid-week getaway.

Prime location, friendly helpful staff, great room. And parking in center city is free aftyer 5pm... See full review

  • amy impulse traveler
  • Jul 11, 2014
The Latham Hotel's turn-of-the-century facade and huge glass door open to high ceilings and parlors lined with monochrome photos of classic movie stars. Planted on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel was built on the site of university founder William Bucknell's home, but is now thoroughly modern in its amenities, from the free in-room Wi-Fi to the fitness room with its Walnut Street panoramas. The atmosphere is still decidedly boutique with the wine bar, craft beers and rustic Mediterranean-style bites at the Urban Enoteca restaurant - check in for happy hour from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, and enjoy a discount cocktail.
Key facts
  • 139 guestrooms and suites
  • Restaurant/bar: Urban Enoteca
  • Fully-equipped fitness center
  • Chauffeured car services
  • In-room dining services
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Fitness center
  • Pets allowed (dogs only, under 30lbs, fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Latham sets you down in the Downtown area of Philadelphia, right around the corner from Rittenhouse Square stores and restaurants and on the same thoroughfare as Walnut Street Theatre. Explore the city's celebrated past by visiting the National Constitution Center and the Liberty Bell, both of which are located only a few minutes' walk away. Or follow the Avenue of the Arts on and around nearby Broad Street, for local galleries, performance centers, and the ornate architecture of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts.
Hints and tips
If you're after a stay with a conscience, the hotel is part of the Clean the World Program and recycles bath soaps, distributed globally to those in need.

Don't miss out on experiencing the neighborhood in style, with a cruise in the hotel's chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan - it's first come, first served, but completely free.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe King Accessible with Roll in Shower
The design elements will provide for contemporary modern sophistication complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking, with roll in shower
Deluxe King Non-Smoking
The design elements will provide for contemporary modern sophistication complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. King bed, non smoking
Deluxe Two Double Non-Smoking
The design elements will provide for contemporary modern sophistication complimented by the preeminent location of the hotel. Two double beds, non smoking

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9501 -75.1689
Area served
Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International
Area description
Within 5-15 minute walk or taxi from all of Philly's most popular attractions. Liberty Bell, Independence Mall, Art Museum, Franklin Institute Science Museum, National Constitution Center, Please Touch Children's Musuem, Philadelphia Zoo, Wachovia Center, Lincoln Financial Field.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Latham Hotel is the perfect setting for small business meetings and events. The Hotel is located just a stroll away from many of Philadelphia's most prestigious corporate offices and renown attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JasmineKardelen
Gaithersburg
Jul 21, 2014

Good hotel in perfect location

Except the high parking rate, which you could avoid by simply parking at nearby parking lots, everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yo Adrienne
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

Great overnight stay

Staff was most friendly and helpful. Room clean with all of the right amenities. Centrally located so convenient to restaurants and shopping. Park nearby as well so easy for walking dog. Only issue was corner room located on street so heard traffic at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Always as the doorman or front desk staff to recommend a place where locals would eat and that is convenient.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Andy 62
Business
Brighton, Michigan
Jul 19, 2014

Good

I have begun to look for CountryYards by Marriot, They have always been a great place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clarinetmj
New Fairfied, CT
Jul 18, 2014

Convenient, Comfortable & Friendly Stay

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Latham hotel in Philly. The room was clean, comfortable, and the staff was very efficient and friendly. Though we had to use a nearby parking garage, we found that the complimentary car service the hotel provided to us more than made up for the parking fee. We were able to see much of Philly with no waste of time due to the wonderful informative drivers. We will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Panini's or Effie's for lunch or dinner.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amy impulse traveler
rebersburg, pa
Jul 11, 2014

Great mid-week getaway.

Prime location, friendly helpful staff, great room. And parking in center city is free aftyer 5pm on Wednesday, if you are lucky enough to get a spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free on street parking after 5pm on wednesday in center city.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bermuda Dave
Bermuda
Jul 7, 2014

Great location, great staff

Booked this hotel on short notice, and was not disappointed. The location was excellent, with easy access to almost anywhere you wish to go in the city. The staff were very attentive and made our stay worth it. If I do visit Philly again, this is where I'll stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many options near the hotel.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAW9
Business
Hopkinton, MA
May 22, 2014

An overnight

The Latham Hotel is in a great location in the Rittenhouse Square area - shopping and good restaurants close by. Valet parking, check-in/out were quick and easy. Staff was welcoming and helpful. The room (King rm) on 12th floor was nicely appointed, comfortable, and quiet. Electrical receptacles were in a good location, where it was easy to plug in my laptop and work at the desk with plenty of room. Bathroom was very clean, contemporary, and comfortable. While just there for an overnight on business, it would have been very comfortable to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I like the Devon restaurant on Rittenhouse Square.

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SiouxsieSiouxBklyn
Brooklyn, NY
May 6, 2014

great location...not sure if I'd stay there again

The positives: it's a really great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed, pillows and linens, and nice Keurig, although they were a little chincy on the sweeteners and cups! The negatives: the room we had on the 2nd floor had a pretty small television (30-odd inches) and it was an analog signal which added to the disappointment. The digital clock provided was very dimly lit and looked a bit beat-up. The shower had a semi-scraped label stuck on it from the manufacturer. The sink had shelves beneath it for towels; when you bent down to take a towel, you can see the sink pipe. The small table by the closet was a little dusty. We don't stay in hotels that often, so I was hoping it would've felt a little more luxurious. I would recommend to a friend for one or two nights because it's a central location but I would probably try another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Johnson
New York, NY
May 5, 2014

Awesome location!!!

We had a great weekend in Philly!! The Latham hotel was conveniently located in the heart of Center City. Lots of shopping and great food!! We utilized the free car service which was perfect for getting to our dinner reservations!! I highly recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monk's Cafe is a short walk away!!! Great beer and mussels!!

Review of Latham Hotel Downtown- Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creative Iatrogenist
Business
Denver
May 3, 2014

Three-star acts like a four-star

Wonderful restored and updated gem a few blocks off Rittenhouse Square. Short walk to everything in Center City. Clean as a whistle (thanks, Barbara). Crisp sheets. Spacious rooms. Wonderful architecture. Updated and modern old school building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of Center City is less than a 15-20 minute walk

Back to menu Return to top