$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Ramada Calgary Downtown

3 stars
708 8th Avenue S.W., Calgary, AB T2P 1H2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
25 reviews
Great for price

The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. I was disappointed there wasn't a fridge in the room... See full review

  • Female business traveler9
  • Oct 30, 2013
awesome

we have fun the staff are freindly and accomodating especially from front desk they are awesome. See full review

  • ricky64
  • Sep 5, 2011
Great facilities for an affordable rate near Plus 15 Walkway
Stay in the heart of Calgary without breaking the bank at the comfortable Ramada Hotel Downtown Calgary. The on-site fitness center is available for a great workout just about any time of the day. Open from May through September, the heated outdoor pool is the perfect place to cool off or have some fun. Make sure to save time for a meal at Cheers Restaurant, which is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. See the sights comfortably in any weather via the Plus 15 walkway, accessible in the building adjacent to the Ramada Hotel Downtown Calgary.
Highlights
  • Half a block to the LRT
  • Pet-friendly property
  • Operable windows in all rooms
Rooms
These inviting guest rooms with traditional decor include all the modern amenities and conveniences travelers look for. Large televisions with cable channels, coffee and tea service, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) are available across the board at the Ramada Hotel Downtown Calgary. Rooms on the executive floors offer upgraded amenities such as an iPod docking radio, a plush bathrobe and bottled water. Ask about extras like Jacuzzi rooms and refrigerators (additional fees may apply).
Features
Only steps from the Plus 15 Walkway and half a block from the nearest light rail transit station, the Ramada Hotel Downtown Calgary is in an excellent spot for business or leisure travel. Take the kids to the nearby Calgary Zoo, or if the weather is less than ideal, spend the day at Telus World of Science for educational fun. Calgary Tower is also nearby and has a view of the city that is hard to top. Banff National Park is about an hour away, and absolutely worth the trip.

After a day of sightseeing or meetings, come back to the Ramada Hotel Downtown Calgary for a hearty meal at Cheers Restaurant or the Red Fox Pub. Relax in the heated outdoor pool from May through September, or hit the fitness center for a strong end to the day.
Transportation
  • Light rail transit station (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Calgary International Airport (9 mi/15 km)
Attractions
  • Calgary Zoo (2 mi/4 km)
  • Canada Olympic Park (6 mi/10 km)
  • Banff National Park (67 mi/108 km)
Business
  • Meeting and conference rooms available
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees apply)
Policies and fees

Small pet allowed: fee applies.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ramada Calgary Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Calgary Downtown

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BusTraveler564
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Nov 20, 2014

Fair price for downtown Calgary

If you are looking for a convenient downtown location at a fair price, this is it. The hotel is tired and dated. There were stains in the carpet, peeling wallpaper, mildew around the ceiling of the bathtub area, all indicative of an older hotel that just hasn't been kept up as much as it should have been. I was there for two nights and the television lost signal on most channels the second night. Not a big deal for me as I was using it more for a distraction but they need to fix that issue. There were no weather issues at the time so there isn't really any excuse for that. The wifi also seemed spotty. If you are trying to work from your hotel room it can impact productivity. Really expected better from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OKturtle
Oklahoma
Jul 15, 2014

Excellent location for attending Galgary Stampede

Average experience. Hotel did not have a pool, which would have been nice to relax in after being at Calgary Stampede all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The LRT is quite close and handy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H. Albertan
Edmonton, AB
Jul 9, 2014

Cramped, No parking, Service Lacking

For the price ($360 mid-week), this hotel does not deliver at all. The parking lot was full and I was told afterwards that it normally is during the week. I had to park down the street and was told I would be refunded when I check out. I was not told that I would be refunded THE DIFFERENCE. So I did not get back the money I expected to. Also, the room was tiny. 2 double (not queen as I had expected) beds practically filled the room and it was hard to move around. Even the desk chair bumped into the bed when pushed back slightly. With 4 people in the room the luggage took up any walking space there was. This location was good, close to the C Train, but everything else about this hotel was forgettable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the C Train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBSB
Vancouver
Dec 8, 2013

Average but good value

Right in the middle of they city, older hotel so quite tired furnishings but good value for money; we picec it cause of location to saddledome and t was a 5 mnute train ride away. Parking avail for $18 a day. If your looking fr fancy and 5 star: don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Female business traveler9
Business
Gulf Shores, AL
Oct 30, 2013

Great for price

The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. I was disappointed there wasn't a fridge in the room but it really was too big of a deal. My room was neat and clean and perfect for just one person. Easy access to everything. The business center needs a copy machine but the manager allowed me to use the hotel staff copier. The carpets in the hallway leading to my room need to be replaced and the elevator is old but it is an older downtown hotel. I had an overall great experience which I was worried about after reading the reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Looking for a great meal? Go to the Farm on 17th. It is amazing. All local, grown food. Staff was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
happy raveler
Business
so florida
Oct 10, 2013

Just ok!

This hotel needs a renovation. It was very dated and worn out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JoJacobs
Denver, Colorado
Jun 3, 2013

Needs to be razed!

We were told that the rooms had been refurbished but the floor was filthy, the bathroom was old with crusty buildups along the edges of the floor, cramped, with no towel racks. Valet parking was slow and the valet was unkempt and surly. We couldn't wait to conclude our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler00777
Business
columbus, oh
Oct 17, 2012

not a good deal

the hotel is very outdated. the room was clean but the overall ambiance depressing. the staff wasn't consistent in providing the check out time, so it makes you wonder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lee shine long
Singapore
Jun 1, 2012

Holiday from Asia

I am satisfied with the location as it is accessible to the train. It will be good if they provide complimentary bottle water for the guest upon arrival with a tray of simple fruits. The hotel staff are friendly and patient. I stayed 4 days there. The price can be more competitive. The wireless connection is not that high speed and it breaks connection frequently. Need to improve on the connection. This keeps me having second thoughts to stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Banker hall provides some good shopping and food. There is a free zone and you need not pay for a ticket as long it is within the free zone. The u & me Chinese restaurant open 20 hours a day. It is located near the Chinese culture centre. Worth dining with value of money. Big portion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Calgary Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
swasnsea UK
May 31, 2012

Lovely staff

From valet parkers to reception staff, all were very friendly, could not do enough for us. The room was large and clean, we did not use any of the in house facilities. Wonderful experience for our first visit to Calgary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top