$490 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

5 stars
Five Islands Village, St. John's,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
13 reviews
Romantic quiet getaway!!

Great vacation for rest & relaxation!! The people are friendly a& helpful. The rooms are right on... See full review

  • Bellavaca
  • Jul 19, 2014
Exceptional staff and unbelievable location

The resort staff at Galley Bay Resort and Spa made our honeymoon unforgettable. From bartenders and... See full review

  • Newlywed Nate
  • Jul 5, 2014
The adults-only, all-inclusive Galley Bay Resort is located approximately five miles from VC Byrd International Airport on 40 acres of Antigua's western shore and four miles from the island's capital city of St. John's.

Galley Bay Resort is the perfect "all-inclusive" retreat for the discerning traveler. It's secluded setting on forty-acres of tropical gardens lies adjacent to a bird sanctuary lagoon and a three-quarter mile beach on the Caribbean Sea. Great care has been taken to ensure the resort complements these natural surroundings. Thatch, bamboo and terracotta establish an ambience of refined rusticity in the public areas, while a picturesque wooden deck ensures maximum exposure to the ocean views. There is little disruption from the outside world as access to the resort is via a wooden bridge. All guests are welcomed at the historical sugar mill reception and whisked by golf cart to one of the 96 suites and cottages. More than three-quarters of the accommodations lie directly on the white sand beach; the remainder tucked away in the gardens and boasting their own private splash pools.

Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Beachfront Room - All Inclusive
One level accommodation has a Beachfront location with one King-Size Bed. Each Air-Conditioned Room has tile Floors, Cable/Satellite TV, Coffee/Tea, Ceiling Fans, and Louvered Windows, Bathrooms with Pedestal Sinks, a Walk-In Shower, Compact Refrigerator with Bottled Water, Soft Drinks & Beer, Turn-Down Service, and In-Room Safe. Stays include all Meals (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner); all Beverages (Name-Brand Liquors, House Wine, Caribbean Beer, Tropical Coolers and Soft Drinks by the glass); Non-motorized Watersports (Paddle Boarding, Sunfish Sailing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Hobie-style Catamarans); all Tips, Taxes and Service Charges.
Deluxe Beachfront room
Deluxe beachfront accommodations with one King-Size Bed. Each Air-Conditioned Room with peaked Wood Ceilings, Tile Floors, Cable/Satellite TV, Coffee/Tea, Ceiling Fans, and Louvered Windows, Bathrooms with Pedestal Sinks, a Walk-In Shower, Compact Refrigerator with Bottled Water, Soft Drinks & Beer, Turn-Down Service, and In-Room Safe. Stays include all Meals (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner); all Beverages (Name-Brand Liquors, House Wine, Caribbean Beer, Tropical Coolers and Soft Drinks by the glass); Non-motorized Watersports (Paddle Boarding, Sunfish Sailing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Hobie-style Catamarans); all Tips, Taxes and Service Charges.
Premium Beachfront Suite - All Inclusive
Accommodation features One King-Size Bed and One optional Rollaway Bed. Each Air-Conditioned Suite features a sunken living room with wet-bar- floor-to-ceiling windows- private furnished terraces or patios and expansive bathrooms with his and hers showers- double sinks and extra large corner soaking tubs. Each suite has peaked Wood Ceilings, Cable/Satellite TV, Coffee/Tea, Ceiling Fans, Louvered Windows, Compact Refrigerator with Bottled Water, Soft Drinks & Beer, Turn-Down Service, and In-Room Safe. Optional iPod docking stations- DVD players and wireless Internet. Stays include all Meals (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner); all Beverages (Name-Brand Liquors, House Wine, Caribbean Beer, Tropical Coolers and Soft Drinks by the glass); Non-motorized Watersports (Paddle Boarding, Sunfish Sailing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Hobie-style Catamarans); all Tips, Taxes and Service Charges.
Gauguin Cottage - All Inclusive
Accommodation includes One King-Size Bed. Each Air-Conditioned Cottages have separate Bedroom and Bathroom connected by a thatched breezeway, Plunge Pool, Terra-Cotta Tile Floors, Cable/Satellite TV, Coffee/Tea, Ceiling Fans, Louvered Windows, Walk-In Shower, Compact Refrigerator, and In-Room Safe. Stays include all Meals (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner); all Beverages (Name-Brand Liquors, House Wine , Caribbean Beer, Tropical Coolers and Soft Drinks by the glass); Non-motorized Watersports (Paddle Boarding, Sunfish Sailing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Hobie-style Catamarans); all Tips, Taxes and Service Charges.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

17.1206 -61.8933
Area served
Antigua.
Nearby airports
V.C. Bird International Airport (ANU).
Area description
Galley Bay Hotel is located near to Fig Tree Drive, The Grand Princess Casino & Entertainment Complex (nightclub) and the capitol city of St. John's near Five Islands Village.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Galley Bay's three restaurants have a casual elegance dress code. After 6.30pm, men are requested to wear collared shirts and long pants. Shorts, flip-flops, tennis shoes, t-shirts and tank tops are not permitted after dusk.

Dining

The Seagrape
Beachside al fresco restaurant serving breakfast, lunch & dinner blending European culinary techniques with tropical Caribbean flavors.
The Gauguin
Intimate dining option serving lunch and dinner in beachside thatched cabanas.
Ismay's
White glove fine dining experience by reservation only with supplimental cost $35 per person.
TeePee Bar
Informal seaside bar best known for it's signature drink, the Antigua kiss.
Lounge Bar
Opens at lunchtime serving cocktails, hors d'oeuvres and live evening entertainment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bellavaca
Freehold, NJ
Jul 19, 2014

Romantic quiet getaway!!

Great vacation for rest & relaxation!! The people are friendly a& helpful. The rooms are right on the beach & are immaculate. The food & drinks are adequate for an all inclusive. The beach & ocean are magnificent!! I would recommend for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newlywed Nate
Belmont, Massachusetts
Jul 5, 2014

Exceptional staff and unbelievable location

The resort staff at Galley Bay Resort and Spa made our honeymoon unforgettable. From bartenders and waitresses to the grounds crew, everyone greeted us each day with a smile. The food and drinks were delicious and high quality. The views are magnificent. Waterports staff are very helpful and give in depth tutorials for each item. Our Gaugin Cottage was quiet and peaceful with views of the nearby lagoon. Truly the experience of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you can book a trip near when the Leatherback Turtle eggs are about to hatch, you will not be disappointed. Releasing the young into the ocean is indescribable

Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Antigua
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Mar 23, 2014

Outstanding Vacation in Every Way

One of the top resorts that I have been to. Very attentive staff. Great accomodations. Fantistic meals.No brainer. Will be there again next year, if not before. They make it easy for you. No hard decisions to make once you get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't pay for the transfers. Much easier and expedient just to take a taxi to and from the airport to the resort.

Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob on the Beach
Media, PA
Mar 21, 2014

Idyllic Location

Superb setting; wonderful integration of the three first-class restaurants into the "beach". Staff thoroughly professional, friendly and helpful. Minor negatives: the "free" WiFi is very slow and undependable; a high-speed version costs extra. A bottle of water is $1. At an "all-inclusive" luxury resort? Still, undoubtedly one of the best of the many Caribbean resorts we've visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Notorious Eight
North Carolina, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Great Resort

We recently stayed at Galley Bay in March of 2013. This resort is a beautful property with a gorgeous beach. It is a very quiet resort and not geared towards the sun and fun crowd. Very nice for couples and secluded. Food was fantastic and staff was mostly very friendly. Great stay for the value. There was no beach service and the pool was small, but nice overall. The live music at night is great and adds a lot to the experience. Needs some updated beach chairs and beds, but overall was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Cool Catamaran tour with Wayne and Laura and get the lobster on the boat. Incredible day!!

Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tired of selecting name
State College, PA
Jan 24, 2013

winter get Away

Great staff, good food, great staff, nice suite, great staff, fabulous beach, great staff, super atmosphere, great staff, no children and quiet, great staff. The theme is great staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brian67
England
Dec 3, 2012

Tired Hotel

Location and staff are excellent, but the the room we stayed in looked tired and required a total make over. Entering and exiting the sea was very difficult due to very strong undertow. Restaurant staff were well trained and good at their jobs, but food was mostly over cooked, fish being much better than meat. $35 per person extra for Issmys in an all inclusive hotel is a bit of a con, only providing more space around the table, free chef's appetizers and free sorbet. Obtaining proper toast for breakfast was impossible, most fruit was not ripe and cereal stale. Pool and pool area very good, beach very clean with plenty of sun beds. Senior management very helpful and always available, showing a keen interest in their guests. If undertaking extra activities be aware that the hotel takes a 10% booking fee which they call a deposit. The internet is very, very slow, but Management state that fibber optic broad band is being installed throughout the hotel and not just in the bar and library.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CDMSRD
South Windsor, CT
Aug 3, 2011

Honeymoon Perfection

This place was everything we could have asked for on our honeymoon. No obnoxious kids/teens, lots of PRIVACY, a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, lots of perfect settings for romance, gorgeous and clean beaches, and truly all inclusive with the most courteous attendants we've had... all staff addressed us using our surnames and congratulated us on our honeymoon, even if we hadn't met them yet, Even the head chef came to our table! What was nice was many offered to take pictures of the two of us whenever they saw I had my camera! Our accomodations were charming, clean, and well stocked. The food was beyond words, truly gormet three times a day. We had a great time meeting other couples, mostly wealthy buisnessmen from England on "holiday" with thier wives, and other honeymooners. Do not expect this resort to be for the "family" but for adults looking for a private, romantic, serene, and tasteful getaway that makes you feel like a celebrity while you are there. And no, not everyone there was over 50 as another reviewer posted, we were both under 30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

St. John's has top of the line designer duty free shopping mixed with local flavor shopping, the best of both worlds

Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CDMSRD
South Windsor, CT
Aug 3, 2011

Honeymoon Perfection

This place was everything we could have asked for on our honeymoon. No obnoxious kids/teens, lots of PRIVACY, a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, lots of perfect settings for romance, gorgeous and clean beaches, and truly all inclusive with the most courteous attendants we've had... all staff addressed us using our surnames and congratulated us on our honeymoon, even if we hadn't met them yet, Even the head chef came to our table! What was nice was many offered to take pictures of the two of us whenever they saw I had my camera! Our accomodations were charming, clean, and well stocked. The food was beyond words, truly gormet three times a day. We had a great time meeting other couples, mostly wealthy buisnessmen from England on "holiday" with thier wives, and other honeymooners. Do not expect this resort to be for the "family" but for adults looking for a private, romantic, serene, and tasteful getaway that makes you feel like a celebrity while you are there. And no, not everyone there was over 50 as another reviewer posted, we were both under 30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

St. John's has top of the line designer duty free shopping mixed with local flavor shopping, the best of both worlds

Review of Galley Bay Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pop and Nan
Cedar Grove N.J.
Feb 7, 2011

A beautiful adults only Resort

The hotel grounds are quite beautiful and the hotel it's self is very nice. We enjoyed eating our meals alfrisco. It is an adults only resort, but I believe it is not suited for young adults. The average age appeared to be 50.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Not a great deal to do. Shopping in St John is a waste of time.

Back to menu Return to top