$321 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 7, 2014

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

4 stars
2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
149 reviews
Wonderful Stay!

We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge in June 2014. The room was clean and beautiful and the hotel... See full review

  • spooky23
  • Oct 19, 2014
Great experience for the family

Fantastic hotel for the family. Rooms are spread out but that was to be expected. Perfect decor.... See full review

  • MN Road Trippers
  • Oct 18, 2014
Watch animals grazing in their natural habitats, or take a quick tour through well-maintained conservation areas at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge in Orlando. Amazing creatures are right outside your window, so guests can see everything from zebras, giraffes, and gazelles to elegant pink flamingoes basking in the sunshine. Enjoy a range of African, Mediterranean, Indian and European cooking at one of the four restaurants attached to the lodge complex. Then dive into the pool or watch your kids squeal with delight, sliding down waterslides, clambering across the rope bridge, and playing in big (safely fake) Venus flytraps.
Key facts
  • 1,293 guestrooms
  • 5 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Health club
  • Fine dining: Jiko - The Cooking Place
  • Themed dining: Boma - Flavors of Africa, Sanaa and Jiko Wine Tasting
  • Quick-Service: The Mara, Maji Pool Bar, Uzima Springs Pool Bar
  • Lounges: Cape Town Lounges and Wine Bar and Victoria Falls Lounge
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • In-room childcare
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
Staying at the resort offers a great opportunity to explore Universal Studios and Walt Disney World, as well as the Animal Kingdom. Once you're done sun-worshiping, check out an Orlando show in the city or visit one of the local music venues, all within walking distance.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of Simba's Clubhouse, a supervised children's activity center, where you can safely leave the kids before going to sample South African wines nearby.
The resort is filled with jogging paths and bike trails, so burn off some of the great food by taking a morning trip around the pools or biking to the other resorts via wooded paths.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Rooms

Standard View
Rooms offer view of the parking area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Savannah View or Savannah View with Bunk Bed
Rooms offer view of the Savannah at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. Savannah View with Bunk Bed features one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed. Savannah View features 2 queen beds or one king bed and one single (day) bed. Both rooms offer table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Pool View
Rooms offer views of the pool area. Features two queen-size beds, one queen-size bed and bunk beds or one king-size bed, table and chairs, ceiling fan, private balcony, vanity area with two sinks and a bathroom. Amenities include in-room wall safe, voice mail, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View
Two queen beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people
Arusha View with Bunk Beds
One queen bed and one set of bunk-beds, Private furnished balcony with Arusha Rock view. Sleeps four people. Compact refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. hair dryer, ironing board/iron, Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Ceiling fan and air conditioning. In-room safe. Pak 'n Play Crib. Guestrooms are all non-smoking.

Maximum occupancy - 4 people

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.3564 -81.59
Area served
WALT DISNEY WORLD Resort
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport
Area description
DISNEY'S ANIMAL KINGDOM Resort Area

Dining

Sanaa
A restaurant offering flavorful tandoor oven and slow-cooked specialties inspired by the cultures along the historic spice route. While you eat, look for animals roaming the Savannah. Open for lunch and dinner only.
Mara
A quick-service restaurant open morning to night offering great food and poolside dining.
Boma - Flavors of Africa
Flavors of Africa, a family restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, captures the essence of vibrant life in the African marketplace. This family-fun buffet restaurant provides Guests with the opportunity to savor the African experience, with its multicultural influences. The restaurant showcases an exhibition kitchen, wood-burning grill and rotisserie.
Victoria Falls
A mezzanine lounge, serving specialty coffees and teas and a variety of beverages at night. The lounge overlooks Boma - Flavors of Africa.
Uzima Springs
A pool bar serving beverages.
Jiko - The Cooking Place
A signature restaurant open for dinner featuring Modern African cuisine with the unique blend of multi-cultural influences from Europe, India and Asia with respect for the African heritage and tradition. It's comfort food with a twist - creative and fun!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spooky23
Cary, NC
Oct 19, 2014

Wonderful Stay!

We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge in June 2014. The room was clean and beautiful and the hotel is definitely the most interesting on Disney property. Nothing beats being able to look at the animals from your balcony in the morning. Buses are a little slow, sometimes we waited close to half an hour for a bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MN Road Trippers
Minnesota
Oct 18, 2014

Great experience for the family

Fantastic hotel for the family. Rooms are spread out but that was to be expected. Perfect decor. Bathroom was a bit small / right but workable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Kissimmee was really close for dining options outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
itsme123
maryland
Oct 9, 2014

itsme123

great time at AKL, only detraction is long commute by bus to magic kingdom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iceman31
Pasadena Ca
Sep 16, 2014

Fun Anniversary Trip

Amazing Decor and ambiance. It was fun seeing all the wildlife roam around the resort. I would visit this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Epcot had amazing places to eat 20min bus ride provided by resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation Planner 52
Massachusetts
Sep 15, 2014

Family Vacation

Totally Awesome!!! Room upgraded with a bunk bed upon our arrival. My daughter was ecstatic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah M
New Jersey, USA
Sep 7, 2014

Fav Disney Resort!!

We have stayed at other Disney resorts on site in the past but dm this is our favorite resort by far. We had a savannah view, saw all sorts of different animals including mama & baby giraffs... And my kids loved it. It was a clean resort. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend to family and friends and come back here.. No questions asked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Disney is awesome
Jersey
Sep 2, 2014

Wonderful adventure

This hotel is an experience in itself. You are surrounded by animals and beauty. We didn't even go to a park one day This resort allows you to have an adventure without even leaving your hotel. Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack1117 in NYC
New York, New York
Sep 2, 2014

Disney with Kids

Animal Kingdom Lodge is a good Disney hotel. Couple of good points - safari animals out your window (can't be beat) and on the Disney property. Couple of bad points. Pool is INCREDIBLY crowded and hard to get a chair. Food quality and freshness is poor (but such is Disney), hotel is far (40 minutes door to door) from Magic Kingdom. I liked it, but would likely not return and find a different hotel near Disney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Magic Kingdom seems close, but factoring in drive, parking, and monorail, takes at least 40 minutes each way to get to the front gate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noramm
Orange park florida
Aug 31, 2014

Curios Florida resident

Very nice stay. Hotel grounds are beautiful. We ate at sanna, food was good but very expensive, average $40 per person. I had problems finding my room and I was running late for dinner reservation, I asked 4 staff members and no one offer to take me to my room. Shuttle to go from one area to the other was very old, dirty and small. We enjoy seeing the animals but we expect to see more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hakuna Matata Mimi
San Francisco, california
Aug 26, 2014

Overall Magical Experience

I loved staying here. All the staff was friendly, helpful, and completely willing to make your experience as amazing as it could be. My friends and i were completely lost, and everyone was happy to help us along during our stay. You really feel like you're in a whole new world at this resort. Service is prompt and kind. When room service cleaned our room, they left everything in place where we left it before the sheets and everything were cleaned, that was pretty cool. Our view over the savannah was amazing and the animals ended up being really close! It was amazing. Also, the food was super delicious. I'd love to stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top