$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
101 reviews
Great Stay

Stayed here during the Days of the Dead convention in February. The location was fantastic, close... See full review

  • UnconventionConventionist
  • Feb 21, 2014
Great

Small but comfy. Only stayed one night but the staff was very helpful. See full review

  • Ginger365
  • Feb 2, 2014
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.772 -84.3529
Area served
Midtown Atlanta, Virginia Highlands, Little 5 Points, Inman Park, and Candler Park.
Nearby airports
Hartsfield International Airport (ATL).
Area description
The Highland Inn is 3 miles northeast of downtown, and convenient to all major Atlanta attractions. The Highland Inn is accessible from Interstate 20 and 75/85. The Inn is nestled between Virginia Highlands and Little Five Points areas and located about 13 miles/25 minutes from Hartsfield International Airport.

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
101 out of 101
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
happy guest 67
fort payne alabama
Mar 31, 2014

close to it all

The room was small with a small bed but big enough for me and my 7 year old. The place is old but they have done a good job making it a comfortable, charming retreat. It was definantly in the trendy area, and so close to down town and the zoo. I would recomend it, especially if you are a people wathcher like me and my little girl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
GA Educator
Business
Elberton, GA
Mar 20, 2014

Good Value, Comfortable Bed

Stayed for one night while in Atlanta on business. Best value in town, comfortable bed, good wifi connectivity. There was quite a bit of noise (I assume from the restaurant / bar downstairs) until around 11 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
trumpetboy
Madison, WI
Mar 19, 2014

plumbing needs updating

Had to get to a conference downtown early one morning, and had no hot water in the shower. Person at front desk said I needed to run it for at least 10 minutes, since it was an old hotel. Continental breakfast extremely minimal (fruit, bread, coffee). Cool neighborhood with restaurants within walking distance. Try Sweet Auburn BarBQue restaurant. Convenient to busline. Not so much to rail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sweet Auburn BBQst

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
Georgiagirl05
Augusta ga
Mar 17, 2014

Fun wkend getaway

The inn felt like a B&B. The staff was great. Location was perfect, w/in walking distance to restaurants & bars. My only complaint was the bed. We had to fold a blanket several times & put under a bed post to make the bed even. Mattress was not comfy. We will go back & give them another try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Manuel's Tavern for dinner & drinks.

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
Sunny Z.
West Palm Beach, FL
Mar 8, 2014

Clean Room

It was a charming little hotel. The building is very old and needs much upgrading. The hot water and cold water knobs were reversed and the front desk staff said the hot water can take up to 15 minutes to reach your room. But in terms of clean...it was immaculate. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff was friendly. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
FJAA
Atlanta
Mar 7, 2014

Small Hideaway

This was a quick stay. Hotel kinda reminded me of a hostel. It was clean but certainly not a Ramada.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
Miss DJG
Nashville, TN
Mar 2, 2014

Not a three star hotel

Old and weird. The heating unit in room was very loud. Bathroom had no heat and was freezing. Hot water took forever to heat up. I had to take a lukewarm shower. No hot water until I was ready to step out of the shower. Also, the water from the sink faucet came out brown. Had to let it run a few minutes before it was clear. It was a cheap room close to a show I was going to, and it was adequate for one night. It was okay but I think calling this a 3 star hotel is a stretch. Desk staff attendants were nice. Limited free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
UnconventionConventionist
Baltimore, Maryland
Feb 21, 2014

Great Stay

Stayed here during the Days of the Dead convention in February. The location was fantastic, close to public transportation, and not too far to walk to Downtown Atlanta. The room was comfortable, the staff was extremely helpful, and the free breakfast was great! I will absolutely stay here again when I visit Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rocky Horror Picture Show plays every Friday night at Midnight at the Plaza Theater, just one block from the hotel. I recommend experiencing it for yourself!

Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
Speller Girl
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Feb 18, 2014

Quaint and charming

Cozy rooms, remarkably quiet - considering it is right on the street. The staff is friendly and the price is right. I was pleased that it is so close to the Jimmy Carter center and the Martin Luther King, Jr Memorial. Easy access to downtown Atlanta. Parking is a little tricky, since the entrance to parking is a steep driveway that is shared with other establishments, but I did not have to park on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
AnnaW
Business
Savannah, GA
Feb 5, 2014

Loved it

Loved our stay at the Highland Inn. A little old and a little funky , but it certainly was comfortable and the service was great. We were pleased they had automatically upgraded us to queen size bed without our needing to ask. Convenient to the oldest tavern in Atlanta, Atkins Park where we had a delicious reasonably priced meal just a short walk from the inn. it was a very easy commute in rush hour without traffic to downtown... Minutes away. Would have given it 5 stars, but it was a little worn (ie missing slats in the window blinds and waiting about 10 minutes for the water to get hot.) but it was a welcome relief from cookie cutter motels and a great value! We would definitely stay there again when we are back in Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Atkins Park

Back to menu Return to top