$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2015 Check-out: Feb 13, 2015

The Highland Inn

3 stars
644 N. Highland Avenue,, Atlanta, GA 30306
Hotel Overview

3.5/5

Overall score

82%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1
Quirky inn with European ambiance
The Highland Inn is located in the Poncey Highlands area of Atlanta, which is well known for being one of the trendiest neighborhoods in Atlanta. Three miles northeast of downtown, the surrounding area is full of hip boutiques and interesting restaurants. The Highland Inn is conveniently close to many of the popular Atlanta attractions, including Fernbank Museum of Natural History and Georgia Aquarium. The neighborhood has an artsy, alternative feel and hosts numerous festivals celebrating film, food and music.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Near to the Atlanta Film Festival
  • Complimentary continental breakfast provided
  • Unique historic inn for those seeking a change from cookie-cutter brand name hotels, with a European-style bistro attached for dining
The Highland Inn Rooms
Guests appreciate the quirky interiors and interesting mismatched furnishings in this original hotel, built in 1927. Enjoy comfortable guest rooms with distinct personalities. Rooms have cable TVs and free Wi-Fi. Hair-dryers and ironing equipment are available. Accommodations are available in single, queen and double categories, and there are suites offering extra space with seating area. There is a 24-hour concierge room with a microwave, self-serve teabags, and maps and brochures, giving information about the local area. A 24-hour front desk service is also available at Highland Inn. Guests have a coin-operated laundry at their disposal on the premises.
Things To Do:
  • Druid Hills Home and Garden Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Atlanta Film Festival (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Fernbank Museum of Natural History (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Martin Luther King Jr National Historic Site (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Atlanta Botanical Garden (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Georgia Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Michael C Carlos Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport (13 mi/20 km)

The Highland Inn Rooms

Single
The room offers 1 full size bed individually decorated with art deco/nouveau prints and found objects, cable tv, complimentary toiletries, box air conditioning, central radiator heating, desk or drawers, direct-dial phone, iron/ironing board/hairdryers available at front desk, housekeeping, private bathroom, wake-up calls. No Smoking!

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Dining

Eclipse Di Sol
Eclipse Di Sol is a charming European cafe and bistro that is attached to the front of the Inn. The lively covered patio is great for people watching and the bright, cheery interior with a sun-themed decor attracts a diverse crowd of neighborhood patrons and young professionals alike. With an eclectic menu, drink specials, a friendly hospitable staff, Eclipse Di Sol provides a pleasant atmosphere for romantic dates or casual dining.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Highland Inn welcomes the business traveler to discover our charming facility and its extremely affordable and flexible hourly meeting rental space located downstairs in our Historic Ballroom. Many area options for the business traveler to relax in between meetings with a multitude of restaurants, movie theaters, taverns, an onsite massage therapist ("Attune") and even a 8 hole golf course less than a mile away.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for The Highland Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackcai
Shanghai
Jan 24, 2015

Happy experience

This European style hotel is cozy and clean. It is located 5-minute walk away from the Carter Center, convenient for sightseeing, shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DB.202
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

business trip

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the last month for business. I really like the location and the staff. The hotel is quaint and charming and meets my needs as a business traveler. It is convenient to many restaurants and bars. My only complaint and it hasn't been this way in past visits was that the plumbing in the shower was very loose and the shower didn't drain. I believe i had a room that was recently being renovated and it wasn't completed properly. But overall a nice place to stay at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murphy's in Virginia Highlands is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Culture Traveller
Titusville
Jan 15, 2015

Excellent Choice

Our stay exceeded our expectations. The location was ideal in the main drag. The room was comfortable and had all the modern amenities while maintaining its rustic history. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only recommendation would be to improve their selection for breakfast - it was not as diverse as it could be. Otherwise, I would stay here again in a heartbeat if I am every visiting the Atlanta again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackcai
Shanghai
Jan 12, 2015

Comfortable stay

Overall, my stay at the hotel was comfortable. The room's clean, the location in downtown convenient and the price reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aries929
Business
Seaside
Jan 7, 2015

Outstanding value!

I like old no frills places, and the Highland Inn is just that. Creaky wood (but carpeted) hallway floors, full of charm. Room was small (one double bed), but it's all I needed as a single business traveler. Comfortable upholstered chair, good working desk, speedy wi-fi, free parking and an excellent rate. Place is pet-friendly but I noticed no aroma of previous critters in my room. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from Manuel's Tavern, a favorite Atlanta landmark.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David C.
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Zoe Wedding

My family stayed here for a wedding and found it to be wonderful. A beautiful venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amber R.
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Don't Take your Pets!

I was in a position where I had to bring my dog on my last trip. The Highland Inn id pet friendly so, I had no worries about bring my dog. We had stayed at the Highland Inn many times before and felt that our fur kid would be ok. However, when we returned to our room after New Year's Eve celebrations, we found our door unlocked. Thankfully, out little guy was fine. I went to the desk to see what happened. The desk clerk informed me that people had complained about barking, and that he decided to take my dog out for a walk. I was never called, and we even had a "do Not Disturb" sign up. He literally told me that he did not do it to be nice, that it was to get my dog to be quiet. Additionally outrageous was that he told me I was lucky he hadn't taken my dog home (I told him that luck was reversed). A guest standing by was concerned about our room being unlocked, at which point the clerk stated he had left it open. I let him ramble about how unruly my dog had been, excused myself to let my dog out, and when I came back in, I asked him why he had lefty our door unlocked. He looked like he had been caught in something, he stated that he guessed he just forgot. I called the hotel and spoke with he manager, he apologized and offered me a free night however, he never asked for any of my contact information. I will not be staying at the Highland Inn again. I find this severely disappointing because I had always enjoyed the place in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joanna C.
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Awesome 2 day stay

Great area. Close too everything. Decatur, va highlands, 5 points, Druid hills all very close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Dec 9, 2014

Visiting old friends by myself

This hotel is a very good value. Not a whole lot of amenities, but its very close to a lot of prime locations in Atlanta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a close by movie theater

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamofpearls
Florence, AL
Dec 8, 2014

Great Price, Great Location

We had a great experience. Loved the Inn, and will definitely stay again. I didn't think the shower got hot enough, but when my wife used it, she let it run bit longer, and the water got hot enough for her. I chalked it up to being an old building. Disappointed that I didn't see a ghost, as some reviews said it was supposed to be haunted. But I didn't deduct any stars for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Manuels Bar and Grill. Majestic Diner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top