$328 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

3 stars
51 Hawks Cay Blvd, Marathon, FL 33050
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
14 reviews
Needs better amenities, restaurants are expensive and not good

Our villa was too close to the pool and very noisy, kids were screeming all day long until late at... See full review

  • Carla Maria
  • May 27, 2014
Beautiful Vacation, definitely will return...

Villas are perfect for a family style get away. I had three teens plus myself they all enjoyed the... See full review

  • Dxtreem1
  • Apr 25, 2013
Spacious well-equipped vacation villas perfect for families and groups

Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay makes up part of the Hawks Cay Resort -- located on Duck Key, near Marathon. This sprawling, 40-acre resort compound sits on a private lagoon surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf of Mexico. The resort offers everything one could need for a vacation, from sun lounges to sailing schools, charter boats to programs for kids. Duck Key Villas guests have access to five swimming pools and a marina with slips for 85 boats, and the accommodations include two-, three- and four-bedroom vacation homes in four different "villages."

Highlights
  • Villas include two-, three- and four-bedroom vacation homes
  • Resort features include five pools, a marina and 7,000-square-foot spa
  • Guestrooms have wireless Internet access (included in resort fee)
Rooms
Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay offers beautifully appointed vacation villas with two, three and four bedrooms in the Harbor, Marina, Sanctuary and Sunset Villages. Rooms come equipped with queen or twin beds, and all villas feature living and dining rooms, full kitchens, and up to two-and-a-half baths. Outdoor terraces provide garden or water views, and all villas have wireless Internet access (included in the resort fee).
Features

Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay is a part of the Hawks Cay Resort, a sprawling compound where guests receive complimentary transportation around the resort in vans and electric carts -- the resort also provides bicycle rentals. Guests can find most anything on-site, including a bank, grocery store, laundry rooms, beauty salon, a business center, five swimming pools, and a tiered sun terrace with access to the private salt-water lagoon.Other on-site amenities include a fitness center, a full-service spa, five restaurants and a rum bar, and Hawks Cay Resort features 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting spaces, including conference rooms, ballrooms and banquet facilities.

Recreation
The resort operates a full-service, 85-slip marina from which guests can arrange a multitude of water sports. Excursions include diving, fishing, snorkeling and dolphin encounters, and Hawks Cay Resort even offers a sailing school.
Transportation
  • Florida Keys Marathon Airport (9.8 mi/15.7 km)
  • Miami International Airport (98.3 mi/157.3 km)
Attractions
  • Dolphin Research Center (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Turtle Hospital (13.4 mi/21.4 km)
  • Bahia Honda State Park (25.5 mi/40.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 20,000 square feet of flexible event space
Policies and fees
  • $25 daily resort fee includes housekeeping gratuities, wireless Internet, parking (valet and self), and access to the Indies Club and Calm Waters Fitness Center

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay Rooms

2BR/1.5BA
This two-story individually decorated unit offers 780 square feet of living space, which includes a living and dining room, full kitchen, and one-and-a-half baths. The outdoor terrace provides either garden or water views. This vacation rental features a Queen bed in the Master and Two Twin Beds in the second bedroom.
2BR/2BA
This two-story individually decorated unit offers 900 square feet of living space, which includes a living and dining room, full kitchen, and two full bathrooms. The outdoor terrace provides either garden or water views. This vacation rental features a Queen bed in each bedroom.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Dining

Bar & Restaurant
Alma, Bar at Alma, Terrace, Beach Grill, Tom's Harbor House & Bar, Coffeee bar and Indies Grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carla Maria
Miami
May 27, 2014

Needs better amenities, restaurants are expensive and not good

Our villa was too close to the pool and very noisy, kids were screeming all day long until late at night. The villa was comfortable, but the bathrooms are too small and there is no space to put anything, very small lavatories. The amount of towels and soaps were very good. The complex is pretty and well planned, the entertainment for adults is poor We traveled to Key West one of the three days we spent there to find things to do. We went to the restaurant and walked around the main area. The food was expensive and not that good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

All you can do is get into a man made lake/ beach area, go to a restaurant and listen to some music playing outside. If you want to just relax and read and get out of your work, it's fine, if you want to have fun, I don't think I will recommend it It's not like going in a cruise where you have a choice of what to do. Or bring children, they will be in the pool all day long and have fun jumping in and out and screeming. If you have a boat, it's fine because you go some place else, but it's too expensive to go there just to sleep.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dxtreem1
Chicago
Apr 25, 2013

Beautiful Vacation, definitely will return...

Villas are perfect for a family style get away. I had three teens plus myself they all enjoyed the trip. Only advice stay away from the on site boat and jet ski rentals. Very shady owners are not affiliated with the Hawks Kay Resort but operate on the resort. Long story, many off site places you can use off the resort. Scuba at the resort was great as well Dolphin lagoon was excellent as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Winn Dixie grocery story will give a visitors save club card if you ask. Shopping is approx 15 min toward Key West outside of the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Willie
Waldorf, Maryland
Jul 18, 2012

Fantastic Stay!

I would like to thank Hawks Cay for an enjoyable 5 day/4 night stay! Our 1st floor king room overlooking the pool & ocean was awesome! The enitre staff was polite & helpful. Not one staff member we ran into had a negative attitude. The tranquility pool was nice, clean & relaxing (no children...they have their own pool). My wife hasn't stopped smiling since her Dolphin Connection experience, to me that's priceless! Our sunset cruise was great even though the weather didn't cooperate. Rich (the captain) & Chad (first mate) keep the music & laughter going the whole trip. The new addition & grand opening of the Tiki Bar overlooking the saltwater lagoon was a nice surprise. We didn't want to leave & are planning our next visit. My wife was so impressed that she's thinking of having our 25th Anniversary there instead of Las Vegas. Thanks again & I will highly recommend Hawks Cay Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Key West is 60 miles away & is a nice day trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
upset spender
Miami
Aug 9, 2011

Not what we anticpated!

We paid a lot of money to stay in a 2bdrm/ 2bth villa and we got a 2 bedroom 1 bath villa. We were treated like trash when we took our snacks and drinks to the main resort - yet others took full blown mealsand nothing was said to them. One tram driver in particular acted like he belonged in the jungle in how he dealt with people and our children. I am truly Saddended by this trip overall!!!!!!!!!!! Next time I spend near $2k - i'll make sure to spend it where we will be respected!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Key Biscayne, FL
Jul 14, 2011

Great service

Very warm welcome, great service everywhere. Would wish to have a little bigger Beach Grill Menu. Breakfast was good, but Terasse room has no atmosphere. Not to crowded in summer time and good to make trips from there Childrens pool, Laguna, Family pool are great for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Mitchell, KY
Jun 6, 2010

2nd Trip to Hawks Cay

This was our second stay at Hawks Cay, the major difference being that we stayed in a 2 bed, 1 1/2 bath villa versus a 2+2 previously. Frankly the room was not great and the appliances were not the best, but the service was always good and attentive whenever there were any issues. Those issues included a lack of pots and pans and a broken toaster. Small things like that should not take away from the fact that the facilities at Hawks Cay are top notch. We were right by the Sunset Pool, and the other pools and lagoon were a short walk (or shuttle ride) away. Location in the Keys is beautiful, and Marathon is only 8 miles away for restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not such a short drive, but it's worth taking the time to visit Key West on a Tuesday to Thursday, before the cruise ships come in. There are lots of great bars and restaurants, and there are quite a few options for the kids too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
May 31, 2010

Fantastic Resort for the whole family.

We could lay by the pool, go to the beach lagoon and look at the dolphins all within a few steps. We felt very safe with our kids walking around the three areas. One day at the kids pool with pirate ship and all was great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

All you want and need within the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boca Raton, Florida
May 16, 2010

Family Stay at Duck Key Villas

The accommodations were good, but the service from staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie AS
marblehead, ma
Mar 19, 2010

hawks cay

we had a wonderful time and it was very engaging for our 4 yr old. He loved the pirate ship pool! There is no real "beach" but a man made lagoon with rather rocky sand......not quite the same as being at the beach but quite enjoyable and the lagoon was really nice to swim in. overall a great trip! we would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Duck Key Villas at Hawks Cay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Beach
Nov 3, 2009

hawks Cay

It was a nice place nice pools clean but was not told about the resort fee of $20.00 plus tax a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top