$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

2 stars
View map of 4590 Overseas Highway, 4590 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050

Hotel Overview

3.1/5

Overall score

70%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3
Modest guest rooms and tropical garden overlooking Gulf of Mexico
One of the only oceanfront hotels in Marathon, Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits directly on the Gulf of Mexico, just two miles from the Marathon Airport, within easy access of the shopping, dining and nightlife of the town center. Situated on 10 acres of waterfront property, Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers a tropical escape with an outdoor pool, tiki bar and sandy beach area. Banana Bay Resort and Marina guests can find convenient boat rentals and charters at its 35-slip private marina. Event groups have access to two small conference rooms.
Highlights
  • Waterfront location in downtown Marathon
  • Private marina with boat rentals, water sports
  • Internet access (included in resort fee)
Rooms
Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 61 guest rooms nestled among palm trees and tropical flowers on 10 acres of waterfront property. Guest rooms have either single kings or pairs of double beds, and they also feature porches or patios. In-room amenities include air-conditioning, cable TVs, clock radios, coffee-makers and work desks.
Features
Like many classic Keys hotels, Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers affordable waterfront accommodations with a decent set of on-site amenities. Guests can swim in the outdoor pool and hot tub or lounge in a sun chair on the small beach area. The property also features a pool-side tiki bar, two tennis courts, barbecue grills and bocce courts. The on-site marina features 35 slips, and guests can find boat rentals and fishing charters here. Banana Bay Resort and Marina has an outdoor gazebo for weddings. For event groups, it provides two conference rooms equipped with presentation equipment.
Transportation
  • Marathon Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (112 mi/179.2 km)
Attractions
  • Seven Mile Bridge (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Sombrero Beach (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Dolphin Research Center (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
  • Turtle Hospital (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • Flexible meeting spaces
  • Internet access (included in resort fee)
  • Policies and Fees
  • Daily resort fee collected at check out

Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon Rooms

Standard King
The room offers 1 King bed along with A/C, alarm clock, ceiling fan, color TV, Internet access and telephone.
Standard 2 Double
The room offers 2 Double beds along with A/C, alarm clock, ceiling fan, color TV, Internet access and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very unhappy client
Destin, FL
Aug 1, 2013

Awful Accomodations not what expected!

Upon arrival we expected a canopy bed with a kitchenette, we got a bed with a headboard glued to the wall, a dilapidated mattress, spiders in the corners, puke on the box spring cover stains on the carpet. We had called for accomodations for our boat ahead of time and upon arrival was told it was $200 a day and they had no space. Wouldn't be able to launch at the marina anyway because the ramp was in very poor condition. We had to move our boat to a better facility. Our hitch was stolen off the back of the truck while parked in the motel parking lot! I WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN! Cheap fares should remove them from there website or at least show photos of what you REALLY are getting. Oh yeah and the motel had the gull to charge a 6.00 a day fee onto my credit card. When I was told that there was nothing due on my arrival- RIP OFF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thesea
Florida
Jul 10, 2013

Quick Weekend

Well this booking company failed to tell the hotel of my reservation. However, even on July 4th weekend the hotel stepped up and made room. The (this website) rooms are older and the beds are really uncomfortable. The rooms are clean though. Its definitly old Florida style but the views on the gulf or if you need to dock your boat its perfect. I would stay again in an upgraded non (this website) room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PRam784
Miami, Florida
Jun 23, 2013

Decent roof over your head

If you're going to the keys, you're probably not going to be in the room for long and if you are, you shouldn't be in the keys. Marathon is a great halfway point if you want to explore the surrounding islands and Banana Bay resort is a good, cheap location to set up as your home base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Awesome restaurants and breakfast spots surround the hotel. Great options to hold you down throughout the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tropclthng
Osprey FL
Jun 13, 2013

Birthday Extended Weekend

My wife & I went to the keys for some much needed R&R and it coincided with my Birthday. Too bad Tropical Storm Andrea decided to visit that weekend also. We were centrally located on Marathon Key so it gave us options of going up the Keys or down. Was somewhat disappointed in the room although it was clean and about average. The 2nd night we were there the air conditioner decided not to blow cold. We spent the next day day-tripping and returned to a warm room. Maintenance came, looked at it and adjusted the temp and it bagan to work again. He stated that they had been going through the ac units in the rooms but didn't have a specific answer for our issue. We understood that the restaurant wasn't open and the Tikii bar could have been a little more. The Resort was quiet but could use some major refurbishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for a nice steak dinner, something other than the usual seafood fare try The Plaza Grill, great steaks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
okay place to stay
FLORIDA
Jun 10, 2013

Okay Place

It's an okay place to stay. Next time we will stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JcMags
Boston
May 22, 2013

Nice Surprise

On short notice we booked a room at the Banana Bay Resort and found it to be quite nice. The staff was great accommodating our needs at check-in; the room was clean and comfortable. This is more a quaint "Keys" motel than a resort (it is attached or part of a time share complex) and the amenities limited, the on-site Tiki Bar is convenient and reasonable. We had a good experience and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Most Marathon restaurants and bars have an excellent Happy Hour from 4-6, several are very close to this resort. I would suggest searching them out as they offer half priced specials.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
THomas C
Marathon Fl
May 18, 2013

Not so great

Very disappointed. Not even close to what the pictures showed. Has anyone been to a motel with two people and only get one wash rag? There was no dinning room as shown on web. Would not go back again. The room was clean but outdated. We did make the best of a bad situation as we did not want to move and all our stuff to another place if we could even get our money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California transplant
Cape Coral, Fl
May 12, 2013

Banana bay stay

This was a nice surprise. I have stayed at many motels and hotels in the keys and this is one of only a handfull that I would visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Key west and tarpon fishing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dolphin swimmer
San Diego, Ca
May 3, 2013

perfect location

I had a king size bed and a room with a view of the water. Awesome stay and great central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina - Marathon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLexy
Miami
Apr 22, 2013

nice

It was cool. Everybody look like they had fun. Nice experience for the first trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top