$495 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

3 stars
3AAA Gallows Point Road, St. John, 00831
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
31 reviews
Great Experience

First off, the location can't be beat. We walked everywhere in town. We had a fantastic ocean view... See full review

  • FMMJeff
  • Jul 17, 2014
Excellent location near town, walkable, good snorkeling

We came here for a special anniversary and were not disappointed. The grounds are well maintained... See full review

  • balcfam
  • Jul 12, 2014
Secluded resort on Cruz Bay walking distance to St. John restaurants
The Gallows Point Resort recently completed a renovation that highlights the property's  spectacular setting. The resort, set on five acres of a lushly landscape peninsula, is an adventure wonderland. Enjoy exceptional snorkeling just steps away from the resort patio. While sipping a signature tropical at the manager's reception, guests take in panoramic views of many other Virgin Islands from this oceanfront resort.
Highlights
  • Private coral beach for snorkeling
  • Fully-equipped kitchens
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas
  • Oceanfront pool and Jacuzzi
Rooms
The suites at the Gallows Point Resort are individually decorated with a tropical flair, and many feature expansive views of other Virgin Islands. In each fully-furnished kitchen, guests stay in for as many, or as few, meals as they wish. The rooms have an airy wide-open feel, thanks to tall ceilings and ample windows. Each suite has a king bed and queen sofa sleeper. Standard amenities, including daily maid service, are included.
Features
Thanks to its location on a peninsula, the Gallows Point Resort feels like it is at end of the world, truly a private getaway. Yet, it is really just a short walk to more than a dozen of Cruz Bay’s best restaurants. Guests also opt to stay on the property for dinner at Zozo’s, one of St. John’s most popular fine dining spots. Just steps from the resort is some of the best snorkeling on the island, and Gallows Point Resort also is close to some of the islands most beloved beaches.
Transportation
  • Cyril E. King Airport (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
Attractions
  • Elaine Sprauve Library and Museum (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Honeymoon Beach (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Caneel Bay (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Jumble Beach (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Trunk Bay (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Virgin Islands National Park (3.7 mi/6 km)
Business
  • 200 square foot conference room
  • Three outdoor wedding locations on the property
Policies and fees
Complimentary parking. Jeep and car rental reservations on site. Outdoor grill area. Laundry facilities (fees apply). Resort fee charged at check in. Pets not allowed. Non-smoking rooms available.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only Rooms

OCEAN LOWER SUITE
Ocean Front Lower Room - with one King bed, Queen Pull Out sofa, Rollaway on request. This is a spacious one bedroom, one bath, suite with fully equipped kitchen, sunken living room, outside patio. The lovely arched windows look out over the beautiful water and islands of the Caribbean.
HARBOUR LOWER SUITE
Harbor View Lower Room - with one King bed, Queen Pull Out sofa, Roll away on request. This is a spacious one bedroom, one bath, suite with fully equipped kitchen, sunken living room, outside patio. The lovely arched windows provide views of sailboats in the harbour.
HARBOUR UPPER SUITE
Harbour View Upper Room - with one King bed, Queen Pull Out sofa, Rollaway on request.This is a two floor suite. On the first floor is a fully equipped kitchen, living/ dining area, bathroom and balcony. The loft bedroom has half bath. The lovely arched windows look out over the boats in the harbour.
OCEAN UPPER SUITE
Ocean Front Upper Room - with one King bed, Queen Pull Out sofa, Rollaway on request. This is a two floor suite. On the first floor is a fully equipped kitchen, living/ dining area, bathroom and balcony. The loft bedroom has half bath. The lovely arched windows look out over the beautiful waters and islands of the Caribbean.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Dining

Ocean 362
The wonderful Ocean 362 restaurant is the on site restaurant open in the evening, with a fabulous sunset view. Gallows Point Resort is also within walking distance of the many restaurants in Cruz Bay and a short taxi ride from other island eateries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank from Raleigh
Raleigh, NC
Sep 29, 2014

Fantastic couple getaway

My wife and I recently stayed at Gallows Point. We were celebrating an anniversary. The location is great. You are close to the restaurants and bars in Cruz Bay and a short drive to amazing beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Landing and Beach Bar are great places to grab a bite and hang out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jkkz
New York, ny
Aug 27, 2014

Solid Hotel

Our suite was clean, spacious and well equiped. Room service was great about cleaning up and extra towels. The WiFi went in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FMMJeff
Minnesota
Jul 17, 2014

Great Experience

First off, the location can't be beat. We walked everywhere in town. We had a fantastic ocean view that was the start and end of each day. We didn't really utilize the kitchen, tv or living room. Yet it was all an option. Staff was great, the only complaint at all was that the staff didn't clean out the coffee maker. Not the worst things in the world, and the only blemish on the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Coal Pot. If you want to experience authentic Caribbean cooking...it's a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
balcfam
South Florida
Jul 12, 2014

Excellent location near town, walkable, good snorkeling

We came here for a special anniversary and were not disappointed. The grounds are well maintained and tropical, location is the best in St John. Loved the pier which provided easy access for snorkeling and the raft. Housekeeping was great. My only critical comments are the pool will need maintenance soon, liner is worn, and the air conditioning in the living room could be a little cooler (cold in the bedroom). We loved the place, would definitely come back yearly to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Starfish Market was terrific for groceries and beverages, very modern and clean with somewhat high prices but worth the walk for variety of selections.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genevagirl
Mass.
Jun 18, 2014

Lovely location

lThis is better described as a group of condos, not a hotel or a resort. Great location just outside Cruz Bay. Views, access to small beach, nice pool and decks. Lots of stairs up to units, and lots of steep paths--not good for anyone with mobility issues.Staff is outstandingly helpful and kind. No common indoor areas. Minimal food service--pricey attached restaurant serves dinner; gift shop has takeout breakfast items, sandwiches & drinks, and provides concierge services, arranges bookings, rentals, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

ZoZol;s at Caneel Bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DFTravelers
New York, NY
Jun 13, 2014

Convenient Location

Comfortable hotel and convenient location to be able to walk to Cruz Bay restaurants. Also walking distance from the ferry dock. We didn't use the kitchen to cook, but it's pretty spacious and well-equipped. Still rented a car to visit other beaches, but overall it was a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
honeymooner extraordinar
Hendersonville, TN
May 20, 2014

great location

We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was fantastically beautiful, close to all restaurants and shopping it only took about 10-15 minutes to walk anywhere we never took a taxi or rented a jeep. The staff is extremely friendly especially the staff at the on-site gift shop and they set up all kinds of activities for us with no extra charge. We went during the end of the peak season so it was quiet and we even had the hot tub to ourselves. We had a room with the harbour view and it was great yes it does get loud at night around 10pm but we are able to sleep through noise so it wasn't a problem for us. We were there for a week and didn't want to leave, we will return to st. John and will only stay at gallows point resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the banana deck to eat!!!!! Great drinks too

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barry and Barb
Plymouth, CT
Apr 18, 2014

Paradise in St. John

Expensive, but well worth it. Our room overlooked the water with views of the harbor and the open sea. Beautifully manicured grounds with everything well taken care of in our unit. The staff was very accommodating. Any minor concerns were corrected immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Morgan's Mango in town, phenomenal food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimchipoop
Boston, MA
Mar 31, 2014

Mini Honeymoon in St. John at Gallows Resort

My husband and I were looking for a good deal that was located close to Cruz Bay. The Gallows Point Resort (GPR) was a 5 minute walk from "downtown" Cruz Bay which was very convenient and offers a complimentary shuttle from the ferry. There is a convenient store located on the property which helps you take care of virtually everything: food, groceries, gifts, activities, etc. The Room: It was like it's own little 1-BR apartment. Huge shower, lots of towels, king size bed, ceiling fans in all rooms, full size kitchen and large sitting area. Central air was nice on the hot days and the wall to wall doors on the porch for the cooler nights. My husband and I got some bacon and eggs from the convenient store and made ourselves breakfast after the first morning. it was much more economical given how expensive the food can be on St. John. Resort Grounds: Huge pool but we never used it given the clear blue ocean is just steps away! Plenty of beach chairs and hammocks to lounge in. There is also a hot tub but again, why use it? The floating dock was pretty cool, too. Housekeeping came by each day to freshen our room. They even put the dishes away for us! There are laundry facilities on site, if you need to use them. Every one says hello and offers a smile as you walk past. Anna at the front desk was a huge help and just so very friendly! The hotel bar/restaurant is pretty expensive so we only had one so-so drink there and didn't go back. Given the cheaper options in Cruz Bay, we didn't go back. My husband and I would definitely go back and will bring some frozen steaks with us next time as they provide facilities to grill!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best shrimp: Cruz Bay Landing (it's on the appetizer list) Local fare: Sogo - West Indian food (best bang for your buck and it's a little bit of the local culture) Kekoa: sunset cruise (staff is super friendly and chill, awesome snorkeling and fun atmosphere)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gallows Point Resort -Adults Only

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimi N
Centerville, OH
Jan 16, 2014

Beautiful resort with great location

Our condo was very attractive, clean throughout, comfy bed and a well appointed kitchen. Friendly and courteous staff. Not inexpensive, but lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top