$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

SW Hotel

3 stars
615 Broadway Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
8 reviews
great location!

we spent two nights in this very handy hotel near Chinatown - staff were really helpful and... See full review

  • linda b
  • May 24, 2014
A great hotel in Chinatown

I was looking for a good value hotel in Chinatown. This place was great: very clean, modern, and... See full review

  • thgiah
  • Mar 30, 2014
LOCATION- SAN FRANCISCO Steps away from Coit Tower, The Transamerica Pyramid. The SW Hotel invites you to experience the most animated neighborhoods in San Francisco, Chinatown and Northbeach. Don't forget to dine in the neighborhood's award winning restaurants.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Tour desk
Barber shop
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SW Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7978 -122.4074
Nearby airports
(SFO), 25.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for SW Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SW Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kookie Kevin
Quad Cities, Illinois
Sep 19, 2014

Not living up to potential

We were assigned a room on the top floor next to the elevator. The elevator movement and resulting noise of personnel entering/leaving made the room annoying enough that sleep was hard to achieve. The room layout was also a bit strange, causing the gap between the bed and the wall to be close enough that we bumped our knees on the bed. The room and restroom also lacked reasonable storage space; the bathroom in particular had no shelves for toiletries. The hotel had WiFi, but the signal strength was poor. We were two rooms away from an access point and the strength was so poor that it would be at one bar and get weak enough to disconnect frequently. The TV was a high definition TV but all the channels were standard definition. The room was clean for the obvious areas, but it looked as though the area under the bed hadn't been cleaned in months. The staff was the high point. They were friendly and courteous. The continental breakfast was adequate. Nothing too remarkable in either the good or bad direction. Overall, though, I would not recommend this hotel because the hotel room design made the room awkward and the noise made the room poor for its primary purpose of sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SW Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dulich
Washington
Sep 16, 2014

average experience

Room was too small for a deluxe size. Bed was uncomfortable. Water pressure in the shower was weak. Old school tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Alcatraz audio tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SW Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
linda b
melbourne, australia
May 24, 2014

great location!

we spent two nights in this very handy hotel near Chinatown - staff were really helpful and friendly, rooms were comfy and well-appointed and we could walk just about everywhere - will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SW Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thgiah
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2014

A great hotel in Chinatown

I was looking for a good value hotel in Chinatown. This place was great: very clean, modern, and very well situated at Grant & Broadway. It was very quiet !! Breakfast was not much to speak of, but who cares? I would definitely go back here & would definitely recommend the SW Hotel to anyone who wanted a reasonably-priced, safe and clean stay in Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The heart of San Francisco Chinatown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SW Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reyrey1228
Vallejo, CA
Feb 18, 2014

Valentine's weekend getaway / Chinese New Year Parade

Great staff, clean rooms, middle of everything in Chinatown, lots of restaurants and Asian markets within walking distance. We were just down the street from the Chinese New Year Parade so it was an easy walk, garage was full due to the Parade but staff gave us info on garages we can use for public parking. Complimentary breakfast was ok, something quick and light before you head out. Overall it was a great experience for Valentine's weekend and Chinese New Year Parade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You's Dim Sum got a variety of Dim Sum at a very affordable price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SW Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skywalker1981
Business
Morgantown, WV
Jan 19, 2014

You won't find any better for the price.

So, I booked this last minute for a conference. It was by far the most reasonable options with only a week before my arrival. The location leaves a bit to be desired, but it was by no means bad. In fact, there was a great dive burger joint across the street named Sam's which had been featured by Anthony Bourdain (and the burgers were awesome). The rooms were small, but very clean and well maintained. The bathroom worked well. My favorite part was that it is a small hotel, so there was not a lot of traffic throughout and it was very quiet. The staff was wonderful, and the complimentary breakfast was very much appreciated. When I go back to San Francisco, I would definitely stay here again. It is not a luxury hotel, but if you are on a budget and want to stay close to the center of town, this place was great. I have absolutely no complaints and am very grateful to have found it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sam's - right across the street. Don't blink or you may miss it. It is a very small hole in the wall kind of place. But the burger was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SW Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Intern
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 21, 2013

Convenient Location

Hotel is at a convenient location. Close to Chinatown, shops, and restaurants. Good place to stay for a few days. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SW Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ECP
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 28, 2009

Great choice for a budget

I was in San Francisco for four days to visit friends, and wanted to book a reasonable hotel in a central location so as not to always have to take cabs (San Francisco's public transportation system leaves something to be desired). The SW is on a pretty loud and somewhat seedy looking block on the edge of North Beach and Chinatown, but is entirely clean and quiet on the inside. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and I had the advantage of a room which faced the inside air shaft of the building, which cut down on noise considerably. Clearly, there was no view, but unless you're planning to spend a lot of time in your room, I'd recommend requesting one of these rooms on the inside of the building. My guess is that they are cheaper, and there is a lot of street noise in this area so the added quiet is the secret bargain. The hotel is a little generic in its decor, which could use a little updating and personality, and there aren't amenities like a gym, but I would happily stay there again if I wanted to book something central, clean and inexpensive in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk easily into Chinatown, North Beach, and even the Union Square or Embarcadero areas from this hotel. It's worth checking out maps in order to choose direct routes which don't involve climbing steep hills, but you can do a lot with little commuting time on foot from here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top