The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

4 stars
View map of Carretera Transpeninsular KM 22.5, San Jose del Cabo, 23400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 3, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, Somewhat Pricey

The Westin Los Cabos is truly a great "resort-type" hotel. It is secluded with its own private beach and all the amenities that you would expect with a high end hotel. The view from the lobby is amazing as well. It is pretty much what you would expect for a resort like this. I attended a wedding here for an extended 4-day weekend. I have been to Cabo several times in the past and have always stayed closer to downtown, although never in as high-end a hotel. My one gripe is that because the hotel is so secluded, they charge an arm and and a leg for everything: $25 nachos, $10 bottled water, etc (this is in 2010). There is a little market on the timeshare side of things where you can get bottled water if you are willing to do some walking. During my past Cabo visits, I have stayed closer to downtown Cabo San Lucas and had access easier access to a variety of restaurants, shops, night-life, etc. The Westin is closer to San Jose Del Cabo where you could probably take a taxi to pretty inexpensively. However, if you are planning on going into Cabo San Lucas, it may cost $45-$50 per way in a taxi. Overall though, I cannot complain. We had a great weekend and were there with a great group of wedding guests. Also, I have 1 tip: if you are staying on a lower-level room, keep your sliding door shut at night! We left it open 2 nights and got some bug bites, however we shut it the last night and had no problem. I asked the concierge, and they said that they spray weekly. But better safe than sorry :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sports Authority Hater
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 26, 2010

Beautiful but Expensive!

This hotel is beautiful and most of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, however money was taken from our room so please use the safe and if the safe is broken have them fix it immediately! The cost of food and drinks are outrageously expensive! Our relaxation was ruined every day by the low-class, rude and ignorant attendees (mostly managers) of the Sports Authority Convention!!! Make sure no one from Sports Authority is there and you will have a relaxing vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATL
Apr 8, 2010

Great resort, expense food & beverages

Great beach. However, the surf can be very, very rough. Watch out for rouge waves. The resort is fantastic. We saw whales each day from the beach. Food & beverages at the resort are outrageously priced. A beer at the pool is about $7. We took a cab to the nearby Mega supermarket in San Jose & bought a six-pack of the same beer (Pacifico) for the equavalent of $6. My wife & daughter had the breakfast buffet one day, combined cost $50. As the resort is on "The Corridor" between San Jose & Cabo San Lucas, cabs are expensive; $15 to San Jose; $35 to Cabo. You can walk out to the main highway & catch the bus to Cabo for 17 pesos (~$1.50 US). Overall, great resort, just bring your entire bank account with you if you plan on eating/drinking there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go snorkeling on the Pez Gato, booked through the hotel's activity's desk. I have been on a lot of snorkeling/diving trips. The crew on this one is the best. Lunch, open bar, snorkeling, whales all for $45. Great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
Mar 21, 2010

a rlaxing and gorgeous getwaway

It was a quiet and relaxful resort that was beautiful. The infinity pool looking right into the ocean was perfect. The weather was perfect. The ocean was too rough for much swimming. The sand was a little rocky, but small price to pay for beauty. The staff was wonderful - polite and fun. They loved for you to try any Spanish! It is far from downtown Cabos but there are shuttles on the hour stopping at 9:30PM (of course you have to pay for it.) The rooms are beautiful and large and the partial ocean view was plenty of ocean view! I'd highly recommend this resort. Although I didn't have little kids to test those waters but they had a separate pool for adults and for kids and there was a swim up bar in the adults. Restaurants were very good food but a little expensive compared to downtown. Don't miss the Cielo Italian restaurant. Breakfast and lunch were wonderful but only 1 restaurant each to eat in for those meals. We took the Sunset cruise on a catamaran that I highly recommend. It was called the original Cabos sunset cruise, but it is actually the "booze cruise". Despite the fact we were on with mostly young adults we had a great time and a beautiful spin on the ocean for 2 hours and the crew was very polite and friendly. The liquor was included in the cruise but you didn't have to drink or you could drink as much as you wanted. We didn't do much else other than relax and read books and family bonding which is just what we intended/wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough customer Donna
Business
Washington,DC
Mar 19, 2010

Adult spring break

Very nice staff, excellent Mexican Buffet dinner, stunning location, fantastic architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Royal Beach Club access worth the extra cost

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Mar 3, 2010

Nice, but could have been better

The resort is beautiful. The person checking us in was not very friendly, but the free margaritas were delicious! If you have trouble walking, it's not a good place to stay as the property is spread out over a large area. It is quite a trek to the lobby from the rooms. They don't provide printed maps, so it takes awhile to learn your way around. They seem to be understaffed. It took quite awhile to get someone to assist in the business center. When booking a room, make sure to ask what floor you will be on. We had a deluxe ocean view room, but it was on the second floor and the view was mostly of the miniature golf course. Even though the hotel was only 40% occupied, they wouldn't move me to a different floor. Since I was so close to the ground floor, I came away with a lot of mosquito bites. The pools are nice, but not the best for small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Malibu
Feb 28, 2010

hotel

Great architecture. Astronomically priced food for what you get. $25 plain buffet breakfast, $28 hamburger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother with 2 ckids under 8.
Business
nc
Dec 31, 2009

Excellent service

Espectacular views, excellent customer service, beautiful pools, good food and many choices of ammenitises for all inthe family. Over all excellent experience, unforgettable memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Macq
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 23, 2009

A Great Location; with the worst service

The hotel is really nice, the construction and design are great. The service is really bad I spend so many time awaiting for the server, I also call three times to the front desk in order to change fused bulbs in may room. They also charge you everything, believe me.... everything. Because of its ubication and the good design a could came again, but I know I can not expect more for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Nightlife is in San Lucas, there are many great restaurants and nice people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Macq
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 23, 2009

A Great Location; with the worst service

The hotel is really nice, the construction and design are great. The service is really bad I spend so many time awaiting for the server, I also call three times to the front desk in order to change fused bulbs in may room. They also charge you everything, believe me.... everything. Because of its ubication and the good design a could came again, but I know I can not expect more for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Nightlife is in San Lucas, there are many great restaurants and nice people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top