The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

4 stars
View map of Carretera Transpeninsular KM 22.5, San Jose del Cabo, 23400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Salt Lake City, UT
May 3, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, Somewhat Pricey

The Westin Los Cabos is truly a great "resort-type" hotel. It is secluded with its own private beach and all the amenities that you would expect with a high end hotel. The view from the lobby is amazing as well. It is pretty much what you would expect for a resort like this. I attended a wedding here for an extended 4-day weekend. I have been to Cabo several times in the past and have always stayed closer to downtown, although never in as high-end a hotel. My one gripe is that because the hotel is so secluded, they charge an arm and and a leg for everything: $25 nachos, $10 bottled water, etc (this is in 2010). There is a little market on the timeshare side of things where you can get bottled water if you are willing to do some walking. During my past Cabo visits, I have stayed closer to downtown Cabo San Lucas and had access easier access to a variety of restaurants, shops, night-life, etc. The Westin is closer to San Jose Del Cabo where you could probably take a taxi to pretty inexpensively. However, if you are planning on going into Cabo San Lucas, it may cost $45-$50 per way in a taxi. Overall though, I cannot complain. We had a great weekend and were there with a great group of wedding guests. Also, I have 1 tip: if you are staying on a lower-level room, keep your sliding door shut at night! We left it open 2 nights and got some bug bites, however we shut it the last night and had no problem. I asked the concierge, and they said that they spray weekly. But better safe than sorry :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sports Authority Hater
Couples
San Jose, CA
Apr 26, 2010

Beautiful but Expensive!

This hotel is beautiful and most of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, however money was taken from our room so please use the safe and if the safe is broken have them fix it immediately! The cost of food and drinks are outrageously expensive! Our relaxation was ruined every day by the low-class, rude and ignorant attendees (mostly managers) of the Sports Authority Convention!!! Make sure no one from Sports Authority is there and you will have a relaxing vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
ATL
Apr 8, 2010

Great resort, expense food & beverages

Great beach. However, the surf can be very, very rough. Watch out for rouge waves. The resort is fantastic. We saw whales each day from the beach. Food & beverages at the resort are outrageously priced. A beer at the pool is about $7. We took a cab to the nearby Mega supermarket in San Jose & bought a six-pack of the same beer (Pacifico) for the equavalent of $6. My wife & daughter had the breakfast buffet one day, combined cost $50. As the resort is on "The Corridor" between San Jose & Cabo San Lucas, cabs are expensive; $15 to San Jose; $35 to Cabo. You can walk out to the main highway & catch the bus to Cabo for 17 pesos (~$1.50 US). Overall, great resort, just bring your entire bank account with you if you plan on eating/drinking there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go snorkeling on the Pez Gato, booked through the hotel's activity's desk. I have been on a lot of snorkeling/diving trips. The crew on this one is the best. Lunch, open bar, snorkeling, whales all for $45. Great value.

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Denver, Co
Mar 21, 2010

a rlaxing and gorgeous getwaway

It was a quiet and relaxful resort that was beautiful. The infinity pool looking right into the ocean was perfect. The weather was perfect. The ocean was too rough for much swimming. The sand was a little rocky, but small price to pay for beauty. The staff was wonderful - polite and fun. They loved for you to try any Spanish! It is far from downtown Cabos but there are shuttles on the hour stopping at 9:30PM (of course you have to pay for it.) The rooms are beautiful and large and the partial ocean view was plenty of ocean view! I'd highly recommend this resort. Although I didn't have little kids to test those waters but they had a separate pool for adults and for kids and there was a swim up bar in the adults. Restaurants were very good food but a little expensive compared to downtown. Don't miss the Cielo Italian restaurant. Breakfast and lunch were wonderful but only 1 restaurant each to eat in for those meals. We took the Sunset cruise on a catamaran that I highly recommend. It was called the original Cabos sunset cruise, but it is actually the "booze cruise". Despite the fact we were on with mostly young adults we had a great time and a beautiful spin on the ocean for 2 hours and the crew was very polite and friendly. The liquor was included in the cruise but you didn't have to drink or you could drink as much as you wanted. We didn't do much else other than relax and read books and family bonding which is just what we intended/wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

expensive

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tough customer Donna
Family
Washington,DC
Mar 19, 2010

Adult spring break

Very nice staff, excellent Mexican Buffet dinner, stunning location, fantastic architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Royal Beach Club access worth the extra cost

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Phoenix
Mar 3, 2010

Nice, but could have been better

The resort is beautiful. The person checking us in was not very friendly, but the free margaritas were delicious! If you have trouble walking, it's not a good place to stay as the property is spread out over a large area. It is quite a trek to the lobby from the rooms. They don't provide printed maps, so it takes awhile to learn your way around. They seem to be understaffed. It took quite awhile to get someone to assist in the business center. When booking a room, make sure to ask what floor you will be on. We had a deluxe ocean view room, but it was on the second floor and the view was mostly of the miniature golf course. Even though the hotel was only 40% occupied, they wouldn't move me to a different floor. Since I was so close to the ground floor, I came away with a lot of mosquito bites. The pools are nice, but not the best for small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Malibu
Feb 28, 2010

hotel

Great architecture. Astronomically priced food for what you get. $25 plain buffet breakfast, $28 hamburger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother with 2 ckids under 8.
Family
nc
Dec 31, 2009

Excellent service

Espectacular views, excellent customer service, beautiful pools, good food and many choices of ammenitises for all inthe family. Over all excellent experience, unforgettable memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, TX
Dec 6, 2009

Great Time!!!!

The hotel was great. It has an amazing view and the staff was very friendly. We had staff members stop to talk to us when they were off duty. There was some construction but should be done by Christmas time so really a non-factor. I would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again. I rented a car and went to the grocery store to save some money. It is easy to drive here because there are only two main roads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

RENT A CAR!!! It is very easy to drive here and you will save HUGE money by not having a cab and going to the grocery store to pick up food and drinks. There was also a 2 for 1 Happy hour at the pool from 1-2pm so take advantage of that!

Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Los Cabos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
san diego
Nov 29, 2009

great getaway

peaceful and relaxing. just what we were looking for. service was superb....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

pool bar was great and they didn't rip off your head on the drink prices

Back to menu Return to top