$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 27, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
68 reviews
Good place for a family vacation

It was a little difficult to get there by driving; there was no sign, and somehow even some locals... See full review

  • SM Princeton
  • Mar 30, 2014
The best of Playa del Carmen!

The staff! The locale! The Mexican experience! The food! Can't get any better! Breakfast on patio... See full review

  • Kathy from Alaska
  • Nov 7, 2013
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Ocean Front
These spacious rooms are individual casitas situated oceanfront, with a private terrace enjoying wonderful views to the Caribbean Sea. The Ocean Front rooms are located in two sections, Caribe and Aventura, both sections offer a unique and relax atmosphere. These exclusive rooms are equipped with two Queen-size beds or 1 King-size bed, air conditioning, fan, safety deposit box, private Mexican tile shower bathroom, terrace ceiling fan and hammocks.
Garden view Pueblito
The cabanas in the Pueblito section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms; and while these are our least expensive rooms, they are also our newest! Pueblito rooms are within 300 feet of the beach and are steps from the Caribe pool. From spacious terraces and balconies of these bungalows you will enjoy overlooking and interior courtyard with tropical gardens. These rooms are equipped with: 1 King-size bed Air Conditioning Safe deposit box Private Mexican tile shower Terrace or Balcony Ceiling Fan Hammocks
Ocean View
The Ocean view rooms are located in two sections, Caribe or Aventura, and are either individual bungalows or individual rooms in a two-unit, two-level casita. The cabanas in the Caribe section are the classic Mahkal Beach Resort hotel rooms and are perfect for people who love nature. From the balcony of these bungalows you will enjoy the natural beauty of tropical gardens and the breeze of the Caribbean Sea. The rooms in the Aventura section are located in three-story buildings where the rooms with ocean views are on the first and second floor. These rooms are equipped with: 2 Queen-size Beds or 1 King-size bed Air Conditioning Safe deposit box Private Mexican tile shower bathroom Terrace Ceiling Fan Hammocks
Garden View Caribe
The cabanas in the Caribe section are the classic Mahekal Beach Resort rooms and consist of individual bungalows or individual rooms in a two-unit, two-level casita. Garden View units are close to the Casa Club -Our poolside bar and social gathering spot.The Caribe pool, and only 200 feet from the beach. These rooms are equipped with: 2 Queen-size beds Air Conditioning Safe deposit box Private Mexican tile shower Terrace or Balcony Ceiling Fan Hammocks

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Dining

Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
6 out of 68
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Frequent Flyer to Playa del Carmen
Boston, MA
Jun 7, 2011

Good location right on the beach

We had an ocean view room which was seconds from the sandy beach. Cute property. Staff rather grumpy though there was an ant problem (all over our sink(and deck, but deck is outside). I didn't particulatey like the food package, although brakfasts were great. Beds were incredibly comfortable. Overall, decent property, but they need training for staff to improve quality of service and smile more. Assistant general manager asked us about our first day and I told her our lunch was awful. She should have followed up with some other courtesy. Can't beat the location though on the beach! I got a good package deal - would never pay the full price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk up and down 5th avenue for fun bars, shops and restaurants.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New Castle, CO
Feb 9, 2011

Nice resort, but a bit overpriced

We went to Cancun in October and stated at the Le Meridien. To compare the hotels is not entirely fair as the Le Meridien is a fancy full service hotel and the Mahekal is a bit more primitive. The Mahekal theme is primitive, no tv's, no phone, no clock, etc. That is all fine on paper but in our opinion for a hotel that lacks those things should be less expensive. They market their higher price being due to the included food. But unless you really enjoy buffets and very similar food for every meal you will want to wonder off resort to mix it up. Only other interesting things was the beach blanket situation. They make you initial next to your name when you check in, but they do not elaborate on why you are doing so. But if you leave your beach blanket on the beach they inform you that there is a $50 USD charge to get another one. I guess beach blankets are very rare in Playa Del Carmen. Overal we liked it, locals very nice, felt safe in town and didn't have any problems with the water. But if we were to do it again we would prefer going back to Cancun and staying at the Le Meridien.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The small pizza place within a block or so from Mahekal had great food and was very reasonably priced. The service was a bit slow but when you are on vacation in Mexico who is in a hurry anyways.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Timothy H.
LA, California
Feb 6, 2014

Awesome room IN the Caribbean

Great hotel, wonderful time. Our room was the only situated ON the ocean. The waves literally lapped up against our suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
CoopDee
San Diego, California
Nov 10, 2013

Mahekal Beach resort

I really enjoyed the Mahekal Beach resort. Great location and staff. The rooms are small but who wants to stay in your room all the time when you are in paradise? Be prepared, the rooms do not have TV or wi-fi but they have free wi-fi in the lobby area. They have two pools that are ok, but the beach is AMAZING!!! Two meals are included with the room. The food was good for the most part. I enjoyed the buffet days the most. Jose and Marcos, who are some of the servers are excellent!!!! Of course find out what type of weather it is typically like when you plan your trip. Unfortunately it rained 3-4 of the 7 days I was there. Use the bug spray they provide for free. Do NOT be like me thinking the bugs won't get you. It is literally "a jungle out there" and with jungles come bugs!! A few blocks away it La Pirata a local seafood spot. Make sure to visit. I would say probably the BEST place I ate in all of playa del carmen. The bottom line,,, I would definitely return to this location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two things,, 1. taxi's are double if you get them outside your hotel. Save the money and walk to 5th avenue which is a block away and get a cab there. 2. If you want really good food, eat where the locals eat. Do NOT waste your money at places on 5th avenue. Its all touristy and the food is just ok.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Luke N Amanda
Tampa, FL
May 29, 2013

Destination wedding

We had such a wonderful time at the Mahekal Beach Resort. The Mahekal Beach Resort is a hidden gem and we cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Kristia
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Fantastic!!

Mahekal Beach Resort is unique, amazing, and a gem! I travelled with a friend and did not want to be with all the craziness of Cancun yet be close to restaurants, bars, and shops. On 5th Ave., a short walk from the resort there are lots of shops, restaurants, etc were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Sundays there is an open air concert at the park usually for locals and local bands are playing at times mexican rock which were impressive. Food at the restaurants are great, i.e. the Argentinian restaurants. Also, great clubs such as Parrot Beach and other clubs around the area played some great music.

Back to menu Return to top