$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Dec 15, 2010

Mahekal beach resort playa del carmen

Relaxed hotel on beach, staff very friendly and accomodating, hotel clean, security great, food good, drinks great, short boat ride to scuba, the grounds were lovely and spread out right on the beach. No TV, No phone, No Clock but a safe in the room - which we love. If you needed a wake up call - security would knock on your door with a bueno dias. Easy walk to town. TV in bar - great happy hour 5-6. We happened to be sick during out stay to we will return for do over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovers Jenn and Chris
Boston, MA
Dec 13, 2010

Fantastic Lover's Retreat

This resort was really spectacular. The grounds are kept quite beautifully and the service is spectacular. We didn't really have much planned other than the chill by the beach and the pool. But there are people at the front desk that can help you plan out your activities and really help you out with any of your plans. This resort really is quite different from any other hotel I've ever been to. It's more of a village than just a generic building. The only downside of the hotel is that there are mosquitoes in the room. I guess this is inevitable since the rooms have thatched ceilings but I came home with tons of mosquito bites. Overall, I would definitely go back and was a beautiful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you take a walk to 5th ave. It gets pretty crazy and can be fun if you are okay with the hassling. The only thing was that we went out for dinner one night and sat outside to eat. But at night lots of poor children start begging for money or sometimes even for the food you are eating and put on a show to start getting money. LOTS of children will come by, so its best to sit inside.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrjuju
Oakland, CA
May 29, 2012

Very Relaxing Vacation

Resort is in a perfect location, beautiful beach and very close to Playa. Cheaper rooms face the air conditioning motors of the rooms in front, so relaxing on the hammock was not really an option - I recommend an ocean view room (although there is no fridge to store needed beer for a true hammock relax experience...) Food and music was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TNAS
Lancashire, England
Aug 11, 2012

Great Family Holiday

Dinner at the hotel was generally really good, with a couple of exceptions where it was 'OK'. We started in a beach-front room in the Caribe section, which was nice but quite small with not much storage. After a problem with ants on a couple of occasions, we asked to be moved and were given a 'penthouse' in the Aventura section across the road; these rooms are much bigger, with more storage and bigger bathrooms. The staff were friendly and helpful and did all they could to make this a great holiday. All-in-all this is a really nice hotel close enough to the lively 5th Avenue, but far enough away to be quiet at night. If we were to come back to Mexico, we'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're not away from the hotel for lunch, check the dinner menu at reception before 12:00 and, if you don't fancy what's on offer, let them know that you'll take lunch in the hotel instead, then have dinner at one of the excellent local restaurants; we'd recommed GiGi's which is a 10 minute walk down 5th Avenue. La Cueva del Chango is only a couple of hundred yards from the hotel and is a really nice spot for lunch, with good food and service.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Hagen
Barron, Wisconsin
Apr 16, 2012

Magical

This was our third stay at Mahekal in four years. Once again it was truley "Magical" as the name states. My wife and I like typically like to go to different locations in the Caribbean. However, since we went to Mahekal 4 years ago, we have struggled to steer away from it to try something new. Mahekal feels so much like a second home during the long cold winters of Wisconsin, we can hardly imagine wanting to go anywhere else. The only other time we've ever stayed at a resort more than once is Sandals in Antigua. Accommodations are very simple, which is just the way we want it. No TV, no radio, no clock. It may be low on frills but that is what makes it so quiet and relaxing. The rooms do have air conditioning, which is totally unnecessary because there was always a perfect breeze. Although we typically stay in an ocean view room and I can see how rooms farther from the beach, where the breeze may be blocked, may need to use the A/C. Otherwise the A/C only drowns out the rhythm of the waves at night, and the songs of the birds in the morning as the sun rises. I can’t understand why you would ever want to do that. The location is really what you pay for at Mahekal. You will not find a better stretch of beach with rooms in such close proximity to the ocean for a better price. It is on the best stretch of beach in Playa Del Carmen, and is literally a 10 minute walk to the heart of 5th Ave shopping and eating. The staff was very professional and friendly as always. By the third day the wait staff recognizes you and knows what you like. They were always more than eager to make you happy. Meals there are delicious, especially breakfast. We typically like to go out to town for dinner to people watch. In our past stays the dinners left a lot to be desired. However during this most recent stay the dinners were much improved - so much so that we stayed at the resort for dinner more nights than we typically do. The landscaping is meticulous. The pair of hammocks on your balcony are a perfect touch, making a late afternoon nap before happy hour almost ritual. My only complaint is that happy hour could be extended from one hour to two. This is not an all-inclusive mega resort, so you will not have to get up before dawn to reserve a chair by the pool or ocean. You will never feel pressure to get up and dance to some cheesy 90's one hit wonder blasting at the pool, and there are no time share salesmen or beach vendors hounding or harassing you. This resort has such a quaint and peaceful vibe that you can't help but succumb to it charm. It has a very private and intimate ambience. As your vacation comes to an end you will feel totally rested and rejuvenated; and probably a little depressed because you’re not all that ready to leave. Jason and Jen Hagen - Wisconsin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a cooler from Gabriel, the bellboy. They have plug in mini fridges or styrofoam coolers. Then walk to the convenience store a few blocks away, or to 5th Ave to get some snacks and refreshments to keep in your room. Remember this is not an all inclusive resort. Drinking at the bar is fun for the socializing aspect, but buying drinks from the bar all day long can get expensive.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kootenay Traveller
Kaslo , British Columbia
Feb 1, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort - We All Loved It!

I have to say I picked this Resort by the photos and reviews I had read and I was not disappointed at all. Happily my partner and grandson agreed that is was a better choice then an all inclusive for us. The staff were very helpful pre-vacation when I contacted them with a couple of questions about the area, things to do etc. I had let them know that we would be arriving late at night and they thought to hold our dinner for us, which was greatly appreciated since we hadn't stopped for any. The resort was quiet, and clean. The complimentary coffee was available at the bar by 5am, most mornings, (and very good) we would wonder off to the beach and watch the sun rise. The main touristy street in Playa Del Carmen, 5th Ave, was just a couple of blocks up from us, so when we wanted to shop, or dine out, or immerse ourselves in the banter and bartering, appreciate the artists and their work, it was close and easy and available anytime of day...and more entertaining this way, then just visiting from and all-inclusive for a day like we had done before. The resort was a partial inclusive, so we had breakfast every morning and then the choice of lunch or dinner. There were some fabulous meals served... If we choose to go back to the same area, we would definitely choose the Mahekal Beach Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
May 20, 2010

Rustic Paradise

Mahekal has a great location, within walking distance to 5th Ave. The beach is wonderful, but could be a bit cleaner, as there was routinely small amounts of trash, like a styrofoam cup here or there that seemed to be left over from the day before. We enjoyed the breakfast & lunch the most. There was one night the options at dinner service we attended did not suit our tastes. The drink prices are a bit high, but this seems common for the area. This hotel is great if you understand what you are getting before you go. Thatched roofs come with their own issues, so the room is more prone to having a bug or two, and the A/C may not be as cold as other hotels. The staff was great and always helpful. I definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a basic room that has some charm to it. If you want 5 star luxury, you should look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovers Jenn and Chris
Boston, MA
Dec 13, 2010

Fantastic Lover's Retreat

This resort was really spectacular. The grounds are kept quite beautifully and the service is spectacular. We didn't really have much planned other than the chill by the beach and the pool. But there are people at the front desk that can help you plan out your activities and really help you out with any of your plans. This resort really is quite different from any other hotel I've ever been to. It's more of a village than just a generic building. The only downside of the hotel is that there are mosquitoes in the room. I guess this is inevitable since the rooms have thatched ceilings but I came home with tons of mosquito bites. Overall, I would definitely go back and was a beautiful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you take a walk to 5th ave. It gets pretty crazy and can be fun if you are okay with the hassling. The only thing was that we went out for dinner one night and sat outside to eat. But at night lots of poor children start begging for money or sometimes even for the food you are eating and put on a show to start getting money. LOTS of children will come by, so its best to sit inside.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee EnJay
New Jersey
Mar 24, 2011

Mahekal = Mayan for Magical

Mahekal resort was really fantastic. We opted for a beach view and asked for a second floor room. The balcony was very large with two hammocks, two deck chairs and two lounge chairs. It was incredible. The room was immaculate. The staff are extremely friendly and the food was very good. The fish dishes were particularly delicious and fresh as were the breakfast fruits (watermelon juice is tasty). The meal plan we had included breakfast and dinner. Drinks were not included. I would recommend this hotel to any kind of traveler. You can find better prices if you choose to stay at a hotel not located on the beach, but for a hotel on the beach that includes two meals it is a very fair price. One negative that I'm not sure is typical of the Mayan Rivera year round - there was significant, constant wind. This made me less inclined to swim both due to the choppy waves and wind effect on warmth. I was actually cold at times. Also, there is no t.v., phone or wifi in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus service called Ado located on 5th and Juarez. To save money and have more time at sites you can go on first or second class buses rather than booking a tour to sites including Xcaret, Xelha, Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Dec 15, 2010

Mahekal beach resort playa del carmen

Relaxed hotel on beach, staff very friendly and accomodating, hotel clean, security great, food good, drinks great, short boat ride to scuba, the grounds were lovely and spread out right on the beach. No TV, No phone, No Clock but a safe in the room - which we love. If you needed a wake up call - security would knock on your door with a bueno dias. Easy walk to town. TV in bar - great happy hour 5-6. We happened to be sick during out stay to we will return for do over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top