$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timothy H.
Business
LA, California
Feb 6, 2014

Awesome room IN the Caribbean

Great hotel, wonderful time. Our room was the only situated ON the ocean. The waves literally lapped up against our suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Plaza
Business
Chicago
Apr 29, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

Great location with wonderful beach, all staff are very friendly, sure we will back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK11231
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Great, non-AI hotel, right on the beach

Wonderful experience. Wonderful location if you're staying in Playa Del Carmen. Food was fantastic. Prices for drinks were great. Beach was beautiful. Plentiful palapa's and chairs. Helpful staff. Quick Service. Nice and quiet as opposed to loud and annoying. Cute little bungalows with hammocks at every room. No TVs, Phone's or WIFI in rooms made for a great escape. Could there be a few improvements? Sure. But all in all a great place at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garrett P.
Business
Birmingham, MI, USA
Mar 19, 2012

The 1st resort I will definitely return to.

Mahekal is the phonetic spelling of magical in Spanish, an appropriate name for this very special, intimate Caribbean getaway. It felt like "Fantasy Island" - a village of one and 2 story thatched roof palapas. It has the look and feel of a south Pacific or Hawaiian fantasy resort. Our room was on the small side but big enough - you don't spend much time in the room itself. Each unit, or caseta, has a porch with 2 hammocks, table and chairs. That's where you spend much time, along with walking thru this magical village, at the outside bar, at the beach or pool. The breakfast buffet was very good, lunch was also very good. Their dinner -- not so much. So we traded dinner for lunch, preferring to sample the numerous restaurants in the area, many within a very short walk of Mahekal. For us, this was a perfect retreat. It is not a big, glitzy, palace with lots of pools and restaurants - we don't like that type of place. So this resort won't be the place if you want that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants within a short walk are excellent, and among the better ones in all of Playa. They don't have the barkers out front hailing "amigos" to come in. The north end of 5th Avenue, right by the Mahekal, is low key compared to the carnival atmosphere some blocks to the south.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSSH
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 25, 2012

Well Run Resort.

1. Very good food and attentive waitstaff. Manuel went out his way to accommodate my dietary requirements. 2. Medical help provided very quickly for partner (not related to resor stay). 3. Excellent value for accomodations and meals. 4. Wonderful environment - 2 pools, great grounds. 5. North end of Playa - great location -quiet. 6. Not a party resort - good for young couples with or without children and older adults - vollyball, table tennis, pool tables great grounds to walk. 7. 1- 3 story bungalows - very clean and spacious with large shower and bathroom area. 8. Nice linens, beach towels and plenty of chairs and shade in beach area. 9. Bikes with helmets - 10 minute ride to other end of 5th Avenue Michael and Sheryl 60+ and fit. Suggestion: 1. Add a dressor to the rooms and a refrigerator (limited no. avail.) Drink plenty of water to avoid dehydration. 2. Post sign about dangerous rocks in ocean in front of Aventura Restaruant (Breakfast Rest) There is plenty of other beach frontage to accomodate entire resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main dining room - evething you need and a great atmosphere - buffet and menu items - good quality food you will not go away hungry -We are thin and trim and ate more than we should have.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaRM
Business
Orinda, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Low-key all inclusive resort, good for families

It was a VERY relaxing vacation, with our biggest decision all day being "should we go to the beach or the pool?" The food at the resort was really good! Wish they had more Mexican nights, they switch up the type of cuisine every night. The location was great, it felt very secluded, but was a couple blocks from the main drag of town, which was very chic and cool, this was surprising for Mexico! Great architecture, clubs and restaurants along the main avenue. The rooms were very unassuming, not fancy, which is fine for us, but it was expensive for what you got I thought, especially in Mexico. I would go again though, it was a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A fun Cuban restaurant on 5th Ave (the main street through Playa) for a big group was La Bodeguita del Medio. Great food, music and dancing lessons too!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrjuju
Business
Oakland, CA
May 29, 2012

Very Relaxing Vacation

Resort is in a perfect location, beautiful beach and very close to Playa. Cheaper rooms face the air conditioning motors of the rooms in front, so relaxing on the hammock was not really an option - I recommend an ocean view room (although there is no fridge to store needed beer for a true hammock relax experience...) Food and music was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don from Philly
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jun 9, 2012

Perfect Quiet Get Away

The Mahekal Beach Resort is a quiet, well landscaped and near perfect get away vacation spot. It is located on the beach at the northern end of 5th Avenue where most of the stores and restaurants are located. Initially it seemed like a hardship with no TV or telephone in the room, but it was not missed! This was an excellent place to catch up on rest, reading, sun bathing, and swimming. The centrally located bar/gathering place had pool tables, table tennis, and internet access available. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The beach was clean with plenty of palapas available. Overall, I would rate this a great vacation and will definitely consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to convert US dollars to Pesos. Many Merchants give good discounts if you use US dollars. Even if no discount offered, they all provide the current conversion rate.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TNAS
Business
Lancashire, England
Aug 11, 2012

Great Family Holiday

Dinner at the hotel was generally really good, with a couple of exceptions where it was 'OK'. We started in a beach-front room in the Caribe section, which was nice but quite small with not much storage. After a problem with ants on a couple of occasions, we asked to be moved and were given a 'penthouse' in the Aventura section across the road; these rooms are much bigger, with more storage and bigger bathrooms. The staff were friendly and helpful and did all they could to make this a great holiday. All-in-all this is a really nice hotel close enough to the lively 5th Avenue, but far enough away to be quiet at night. If we were to come back to Mexico, we'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're not away from the hotel for lunch, check the dinner menu at reception before 12:00 and, if you don't fancy what's on offer, let them know that you'll take lunch in the hotel instead, then have dinner at one of the excellent local restaurants; we'd recommed GiGi's which is a 10 minute walk down 5th Avenue. La Cueva del Chango is only a couple of hundred yards from the hotel and is a really nice spot for lunch, with good food and service.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark the DE PT
Business
Milton, DE
Dec 4, 2012

Great for us

Perfect for those looking to unplug and avoid the all-inclusive resorts when visiting Playa del Carmen. Not very heavy on the amenities, but very relaxing and beautiful. The staff isn't in your face trying to get you involved in activities, but are there for you when needed. The food varied in it's quality from very good to mediocre with dinner. Breakfasts were same menu all week which suited me - especially the fresh juices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Wi-Fi was only available in bar and main entrance and spotty.

Back to menu Return to top