$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 27, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
68 reviews
Good place for a family vacation

It was a little difficult to get there by driving; there was no sign, and somehow even some locals... See full review

  • SM Princeton
  • Mar 30, 2014
The best of Playa del Carmen!

The staff! The locale! The Mexican experience! The food! Can't get any better! Breakfast on patio... See full review

  • Kathy from Alaska
  • Nov 7, 2013
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Ocean Front
These spacious rooms are individual casitas situated oceanfront, with a private terrace enjoying wonderful views to the Caribbean Sea. The Ocean Front rooms are located in two sections, Caribe and Aventura, both sections offer a unique and relax atmosphere. These exclusive rooms are equipped with two Queen-size beds or 1 King-size bed, air conditioning, fan, safety deposit box, private Mexican tile shower bathroom, terrace ceiling fan and hammocks.
Garden view Pueblito
The cabanas in the Pueblito section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms; and while these are our least expensive rooms, they are also our newest! Pueblito rooms are within 300 feet of the beach and are steps from the Caribe pool. From spacious terraces and balconies of these bungalows you will enjoy overlooking and interior courtyard with tropical gardens. These rooms are equipped with: 1 King-size bed Air Conditioning Safe deposit box Private Mexican tile shower Terrace or Balcony Ceiling Fan Hammocks
Ocean View
The Ocean view rooms are located in two sections, Caribe or Aventura, and are either individual bungalows or individual rooms in a two-unit, two-level casita. The cabanas in the Caribe section are the classic Mahkal Beach Resort hotel rooms and are perfect for people who love nature. From the balcony of these bungalows you will enjoy the natural beauty of tropical gardens and the breeze of the Caribbean Sea. The rooms in the Aventura section are located in three-story buildings where the rooms with ocean views are on the first and second floor. These rooms are equipped with: 2 Queen-size Beds or 1 King-size bed Air Conditioning Safe deposit box Private Mexican tile shower bathroom Terrace Ceiling Fan Hammocks
Garden View Caribe
The cabanas in the Caribe section are the classic Mahekal Beach Resort rooms and consist of individual bungalows or individual rooms in a two-unit, two-level casita. Garden View units are close to the Casa Club -Our poolside bar and social gathering spot.The Caribe pool, and only 200 feet from the beach. These rooms are equipped with: 2 Queen-size beds Air Conditioning Safe deposit box Private Mexican tile shower Terrace or Balcony Ceiling Fan Hammocks

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Dining

Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
DK2014
LA
Apr 9, 2014

Sucks

Room smells like rott and humidity They refused to change it saying its the only one available Food is mediocre at best and lousy at times They charged us for lunch durig our last day although we paid for breakfast and dinner or lunch package and never used it Cocktails are overpriced and are not good Internet is super slow and only available at the reception lobby area Basically - it sucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Frequent Flyer to Playa del Carmen
Boston, MA
Jun 7, 2011

Good location right on the beach

We had an ocean view room which was seconds from the sandy beach. Cute property. Staff rather grumpy though there was an ant problem (all over our sink(and deck, but deck is outside). I didn't particulatey like the food package, although brakfasts were great. Beds were incredibly comfortable. Overall, decent property, but they need training for staff to improve quality of service and smile more. Assistant general manager asked us about our first day and I told her our lunch was awful. She should have followed up with some other courtesy. Can't beat the location though on the beach! I got a good package deal - would never pay the full price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk up and down 5th avenue for fun bars, shops and restaurants.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New Castle, CO
Feb 9, 2011

Nice resort, but a bit overpriced

We went to Cancun in October and stated at the Le Meridien. To compare the hotels is not entirely fair as the Le Meridien is a fancy full service hotel and the Mahekal is a bit more primitive. The Mahekal theme is primitive, no tv's, no phone, no clock, etc. That is all fine on paper but in our opinion for a hotel that lacks those things should be less expensive. They market their higher price being due to the included food. But unless you really enjoy buffets and very similar food for every meal you will want to wonder off resort to mix it up. Only other interesting things was the beach blanket situation. They make you initial next to your name when you check in, but they do not elaborate on why you are doing so. But if you leave your beach blanket on the beach they inform you that there is a $50 USD charge to get another one. I guess beach blankets are very rare in Playa Del Carmen. Overal we liked it, locals very nice, felt safe in town and didn't have any problems with the water. But if we were to do it again we would prefer going back to Cancun and staying at the Le Meridien.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The small pizza place within a block or so from Mahekal had great food and was very reasonably priced. The service was a bit slow but when you are on vacation in Mexico who is in a hurry anyways.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Matt22
New York
Jan 4, 2013

Noisy

Noisy at night due to loud, booming techno music from Mamitas nightclub down the beach. Music would go as late as 4am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Klee570
Mpls, MN
Mar 11, 2013

Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall very happy with our experience. Pros -Great Location -Amazing beach (not crowded and able to find chairs) -loved the meal breakfast/lunch meal option -Good service -Hammocks Cons - Not able to sleep in due to the birds and hotel maintenance -Aventura side smells like sulfur. Luckily we did not stay on that side -Pool not great but again beach was amazing so not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Lebreil
Houston, TX
Oct 3, 2010

A week at Mahekal Beach Resort, Playa

Good overall, food is fair, just fair but ok, and location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
moivali
Washington DC
May 7, 2012

Good location and view aged facilities

Experience started bad - got our rooms and while we paid for sea view - the 2nd row ground floor cabanas had nothing like that. Eventually got first floor rooms with nice view but someone had to bargain to get them. Beach is nice but not really private - in front of the the hotel's chairs was a public beach. Overall good experience and decent value but rooms are quite dated and bathrooms are in bad need of refurbishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
LAmahin
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 14, 2010

Mahekal Beach Resort, Playa Del Carmen

I took this trip to Playa Del Carmen on a last minute whim. I just wanted a place where I could relax at the beach. I chose Makehal resort because I was attracted to the bungalow style rooms. I didn't want to stay in some large, impersonal hotel building. And Mahekal resort was just perfect for this trip. They put a hammock up out on the porch. The room was simple, clean, and spacious. And best of all, the room had air conditioning - which you need if you're not used to hot and humid weather!! However, I'll be honest, I wished there was a TV in there. Staff was very friendly, polite, and helpful. The location is probably the best feature of this resort. It's right on the beach. It doesn't get much better than that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Orange County
Oct 3, 2010

I love Playa Del Carmen

I loved the location, beach access and the great staff. Resort has a cute village like appearance that makes you feel like you are in paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explore $99 US dollars, xel-ha $79 , xcaret $69, tulum ruins $5.00, cozumel island $22 RT ferry ride. These are all inexpensive if you rent a car and do in consecutive days. Dont buy from streets, save $ drive there yourself and stay in Playa del Carmen or near by towns.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
nynyny
new york
Jan 17, 2013

mahekal is great

great beach,great location,good hotel everything is walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top