$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
68 reviews
WONDERFUL resort! WILL visit again!

Staff was SO accommodating and helpful! Resort is beautiful and perfect location! See full review

  • April L.
  • Jul 28, 2015
Great trip for relaxation

The hotel has a very private feel to it. The view from the dinning room is beautiful!!! See full review

  • Sarab
  • Feb 4, 2015
Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort destination, formerly Shangri-La Caribe,located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. Mahekal's beach village concept offers 21 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of the famous 5th Avenue.

Our thousands of loyal repeat guests describe Mahekal Beach Resort as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan.Our style is friendly and relaxed; an authentic Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy what the critics repeatedly acclaim as the best beach in Playa.

Rooms

Located in either individual bungalows or individual rooms in two-unit or three-unit casitas and brings to mind a quaint Mayan village.
In keeping with our style, our rooms do not offer televisions, radios or telephones and feature:

  • Authentic, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms
  • Private terrace with hammocks for siestas
  • Star gazing
  • Locally crafted Mexican wood furniture in the outdoor seating area to enjoy our magical sanctuary
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fans

  • Mahekal Beach Resort has:

  • Two swimming pools
  • One with a heated Jacuzzi
  • Two bars
  • A dive shop and water sports center
  • Two open air restaurants: La Loma and Aventura, both with ocean view


  • Resort room rates include breakfast and dinner, or lunch under a Modified American Plan (MAP); alcohol and some beverages are additional. Meals are served in our of our two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch, while La Loma is open only for dinner.

    HONEYMOONERS
  • Complimentary bottle of wine, a fruit basket and special dcor in their room upon arrival.

  • Important Notes:
  • The Hotel is located next to an event space hosting music festivals from November until January. Some noise disturbances are expected during this period.
  • Please notice that from the 9th to the 17th of January 2016, Playa del Carmen will be hosting the BPM Music Festival and the main events will be held on the Beach Clubs Mamita`s and Canibal Royal, that are located next to our property. The BPM is recognized as one of the most important events in the world of Techno Music.

  • If you like to know more about these events, please visit: https://www.facebook.com/thebpmfestival or www.bpmfestival.com

    Top hotels

    Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

    Deluxe Ocean View
    Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers:

  • Open spaces accomplishing harmony and relax
  • Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail
  • Silk shawls from Michoacan state
  • Two queen size or a king-size bed
  • Pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room
  • Private balcony or terrace with hammocks
  • Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
    The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa:

  • Located closer to the ocean
  • With partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms

  • Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or blue sea as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.
    Deluxe Garden View
    The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms.
    These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool.
    Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa
    These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Game room
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

    Dining

    Casa Club and Aventura
    Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
    Restaurant
    Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
    La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
    "La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
    Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
    Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    4.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    38 out of 68
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.7
    Comfort:
    4.2
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    4.4

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Los Springs
    Business
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    May 5, 2014

    Fantastic boutique hotel

    My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay at Mahekal. The staff are welcoming, knowledgable and eager to help. Highlights include the outstanding breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, pastries, waffles, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc. plus a choice of eggs (e.g., huevos rancheros). Lunch was also amazing (three course meal), and several of the dinners were excellent (a few were just so-so). Our room was clean and comfortable, and the AC worked well. The best part though is the beach. The beach near Mahekal is absolutely perfect and not overcrowded or loud. In addition, we enjoyed the outdoor pools, happy hour at the bar and the rustic/natural look of the hotel. It's gorgeous at night! The only down side is that the WiFi is slow and only available in select locations. We didn't mind overall since our goal was to get away. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone---especially couples and families. It's one of our favorite places and we will definitely return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    We recommend that you select breakfast and lunch as your 2 included meals for most days...these are both excellent. The dinners varied from so-so to excellent, and occasionally included live music, so check the menu ahead of time since you won't want to miss certain dinners.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    KMCMR
    Business
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Mar 14, 2012

    Relaxing and Simple

    We have a wonderful experience at Mahekal. We stayed in an ocean view room, 16b, and absolutely loved it. The accommodations are simple: no TV, no clocks, no phone, but it was perfect for us. I found that I was completely relaxed and slept easily and soundly with no distractions around. We had, in my opinion, the most breathtaking view on the resort. On the second floor of a little casita on the Caribe side, we had a perfect view of the ocean and were just steps from the beach. The food was really good for the most part. We had dinner on the night we arrived, and didn't care for it, but it wasn't a big deal because we knew we were having lunch and breakfast all week. (There are a million great restaurants in PDC; and it's too hot to walk anywhere for lunch, so breakfast & lunch are you best bets). Breakfast and lunch were both delicious. For breakfast, you have a choice of one of the a la carte options, I think there were 6 or 7, and also a buffet with fresh juices, fruit, pastries, sausage, oatmeal, cereals, yogurt and granola, etc. Lunch is also a la carte, and everything we had was really good, especially the Cubano torta and the fish tacos. Overall, I really liked the food and the service was really good, too. (This coming from a former waitress). The beach was really beautiful and you can walk for a long time in either direction. We liked walking South toward playacar because I liked to see all of the different hotels on the beach, and get ideas of where we'd like to stay if we come back. I have to say, however, that I liked Mahekal's beach the best out of all the centrally located hotels as it was pretty expansive and had a great beach for swimming and sunbathing. Also, there is wireless interest available in the lobby and Caribe bar areas, and this is perfect for me. To be honest, the idea that I have access to email/internet at all times stresses me out, so I liked only being able to access the internet on my phone when I was walking through the lobby or getting a drink at happy hour (5-6 every day) at the bar. The idea of vacation is to be disconnected from the life back at home and to relax, not to be constantly checking Facebook and reading work emails! Overall, we absolutely loved our stay and would not hesitate to return. I think we're going to go back next March because we loved it so much. It's not fancy, but if you want good service in a beautiful location, close enough to the action for some fun, yet far enough for tranquility, then this is your place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Take a short walk to one of the convenience stores at the corner of 5th Ave and 38 and buy a case of water, a Styrofoam cooler, and some ice. We would pick up more ice on a way back from dinner/shopping in the evening. Instead of buying water at the resort, we just brought it with us to beach and meals.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Dwaine
    Business
    Denver CO
    May 25, 2012

    Loved it all!

    My wife and I just got back. It was a great place. Loved the location, great beach access and close enough to 5th Ave to walk there easily and miss the noisy night life. The room was cute and clean. The staff was very attentive and the food was fine. Don't tell others how good this place is, let them all stay at huge all inclusive resorts.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    ChrisandBud
    Business
    Windsor, Ontario
    Mar 14, 2013

    Excellent Vacation

    Had an amazing week, I was very happy we stayed at this resort and would definitely return. Stayed in an ocean view room which was more like oceanfront. The view was amazing and we were only 32 steps to the water’s edge! The room was simple but quaint, clean, comfortable and provided almost everything we needed. No fridge but rented one for $10 per day. The beach was clean and wide and there were few rocks in the water. Best beach in Playa Del Carmen in my opinion. The breakfasts on the sea-side patio and the lunches served to you on the beach were excellent. We had two dinners, they were good not great. Drink prices were reasonable. Most evenings we would walk down to 5th Avenue which was a pleasant 5 minute walk and have dinner or appetizers, drinks and listen to live music. Loved that we weren't tied to the resort and could experience different restaurants. Location was ideal. The resort grounds are meticulously maintained. It’s an older resort but that adds to its charm and authentic feel. It’s small but intimate. The staff are friendly and the service is exceptional. Strong security presence. We always felt safe. The resort has many repeat guests, which tells you something. Hope to go back soon.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    molly and paul
    Business
    Harleysville, Pa
    Sep 1, 2013

    Favorite resort

    This has been a return visit to this hotel for my husband and myself. The hotel's decor is tropical w/ Mexican flare. The beach is beautiful and clean. Never any problem getting a spot on the beach or for that matter at the pools.The food is good and the waitstaff is exceptional from the dining room, the bar and beach/pool area. Boli the conceirge is the best. We had requested our old room but it was not available so he gave us the same type of room but with even a better view. We had an unfortunate situation occur the first night with the room so they moved us to a beautiful beachfront room the next morning. It had been 2 yrs since we had been to the hotel and everyone still remembered us by name. They go out of their way to accomadate every need you have.We still had our same waiter Jose and he is still the best. We tried another hotel last yr and it was such a disappointment that we knew we could never find another hotel as good as Mahekal Beach. We will be going back there every year without a doubt. We love mahekal Beach Hotel!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th Ave is just a few minutes walk from the hotel if you want to do some shopping. You can pick up a few snacks or cold beverages at the corner store too.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Mockie
    Business
    Laguna Hills, CA
    Dec 21, 2010

    Paradise

    Mahekal was more beautiful in person than I could have imagined-the pictures don't do it justice. The rooms are charming, the beach is amazing, the staff was beyond friendly, and security was tight-we always felt safe. It was the perfect place to relax. Our first room was right next to the Adventuria restaurant. The view was amazing, but we were woken up VERY early to the sounds of the staff preparing for breakfast. The front desk staff was very accommodating, and moved us to a room in a much quieter area of the hotel. Happy hour is from 5-6 and drinks are 2 for 1. There is wifi in the bar, or they have a computer that you can use for free. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to 5th avenue. It is a 20 minute walk to the ADO bus station, collectivo station, and pier to catch the ferry to Cozumel. The food ranged from good to okay, but we began to tire of our choices by the end. Except for the fact that the hot tub was not hot, the hotel was close to perfect.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

    If you are going to take the ferry to Cozumel, which I highly recommend, only buy a one way ticket (they will try to sell you the round trip). There are 2 different companies offering ferry service, and they will not honor their competitors tickets.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Atlanta,georgia
    Feb 23, 2011

    Great hotel and vacation spot

    Loved the hotel. We went to xplor for a day which was so much fun. Planning our next trip there already. Loved north playa del carmen . Much more quiet and no loud crowds.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    North 5th avenue has more upscale and classy places

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    minneapolis, mn
    Nov 22, 2010

    Perfect relaxing resort

    After much research on the internet, we decided on the Mahekal resort for our 10 year anniversary. Our prerequisites were relaxation, nice beach, close to 5th ave and laid back. This place had it all. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were very basic but clean and comfortable and we found our meals at the resort as some of our favorite of the trip! We would come back in a second to this resort. Staff were great and didn't have one issue during the trip. I would probably not recommend this place for younger kids as their are no activities and the resort is not set up for it. Since we left our three kids at home we found this perfect.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    New York, NY
    Nov 24, 2010

    Beautiful, confortable, conveniet, GREAT

    The resort looks in real life just as pretty as on the pictures. It is right on the beach. The beach is beautiful and great for swimming. The resort looks like a local village, but provides all conveniences you need. The staff is super friendly, service is great and not invasive - just what you need when you need - that simple. The crowd comes from all over the world. It's great for families with kids and for couples. And if you need shops and entertainment, the hotel is 5 minute-walk to the 5th Avenue, which is concentration of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. The resort has one, two and three-story buildings with cone-like roofs made of straw. We got a room on 2nd floor of a two-story building, so our ceiling was a straw-dome raising high-above and this gave our room such a great feel and romantic touch. Most of the rooms (if not each) at the resort get a personal patio and Mexican-style hammocks. I can't stop telling how great this place is!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    [...] We counted on just grabbing a cab and it was super-expensive - $90 one way! Other alternatives were a bus ($30 per person), but that did not seem cool with a large suite-case.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mehekal Resort. The Perfect Getaway

    We were so pleased that we stayed at the Mehekal Resort. Mehekal surpassed our expectations. It had the quaintness of a Boutique hotel, wonderful & gracious service, and the most private area of beach on the city strip. & let's not forget lounging in the hammocks. Location in the city is perfect as you are steps from 5th avenue. We had a room change after our arrival due to availabilty of ocean view and received a gorgeous upgrade. Definitely would choose this resort again and wish we could return every year.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top