$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago Area
May 8, 2011

Beautiful Beach Resort

We took 2 excursions, 1 to Coba, and the other to snorkel. The grounds are beautiful, the service excellent, the food very good, and happy hour is a value. We have cruised 8 times, been to Hawaii 3 years ago, but found this a pleasant change. It was like staying in a botanical garden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to fifth ave., take the taxi back to the resort. Be sure to get up to view the sunrise. Enjoy the diverse group of guests staying at Mahehal.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Grandma Marcia
Mequon, Wisconsin
May 5, 2012

Beautiful family-friendly resort

I joined my son and his wife from Walnut Creek, California, who have two small children, at the Mahekal Beach Resort. We made the most of this opportunity for family conversation and play with our children at this restful, relaxing place with such beautiful landscaping and beach and pools and restaurants for all ages and comfortable individual huts. We loved the hammocks on the deck and patio. The only thing we would do differently is to opt for the restaurant lunch as a 7 p.m. dinner was late for the small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
May 5, 2011

Great Place To Stay

The staff was excellent. Nice place to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Petersburg, FL
Jul 28, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Paradise

The hammocks, ocean view and sea breeze really made our trip. The grounds were immaculate, the staff congenial and the meals excellent. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisandBud
Windsor, Ontario
Mar 14, 2013

Excellent Vacation

Had an amazing week, I was very happy we stayed at this resort and would definitely return. Stayed in an ocean view room which was more like oceanfront. The view was amazing and we were only 32 steps to the water’s edge! The room was simple but quaint, clean, comfortable and provided almost everything we needed. No fridge but rented one for $10 per day. The beach was clean and wide and there were few rocks in the water. Best beach in Playa Del Carmen in my opinion. The breakfasts on the sea-side patio and the lunches served to you on the beach were excellent. We had two dinners, they were good not great. Drink prices were reasonable. Most evenings we would walk down to 5th Avenue which was a pleasant 5 minute walk and have dinner or appetizers, drinks and listen to live music. Loved that we weren't tied to the resort and could experience different restaurants. Location was ideal. The resort grounds are meticulously maintained. It’s an older resort but that adds to its charm and authentic feel. It’s small but intimate. The staff are friendly and the service is exceptional. Strong security presence. We always felt safe. The resort has many repeat guests, which tells you something. Hope to go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Petersburg, FL
Jul 28, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Paradise

The hammocks, ocean view and sea breeze really made our trip. The grounds were immaculate, the staff congenial and the meals excellent. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Texas
Jul 25, 2011

Mayan Heaven!

This hotel is beautiful and we had a wonderful, relaxing time! We wanted to avoid the typical, American all-inclusive feel. Why come to Mexico if your experience is similar to home? The hotel has the high Mayan thatched roofs and rooms were more private. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We had an second floor oceanview room and loved reading in the hammocks with the beach in view. We were dissapointed with snorkeling off the beach because the reef looked dead and there were very few fish. Overall, however, we were very happy with the location and facilities and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We took full advantage of the happy hour two for one deal!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristia
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Fantastic!!

Mahekal Beach Resort is unique, amazing, and a gem! I travelled with a friend and did not want to be with all the craziness of Cancun yet be close to restaurants, bars, and shops. On 5th Ave., a short walk from the resort there are lots of shops, restaurants, etc were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Sundays there is an open air concert at the park usually for locals and local bands are playing at times mexican rock which were impressive. Food at the restaurants are great, i.e. the Argentinian restaurants. Also, great clubs such as Parrot Beach and other clubs around the area played some great music.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wife2one mom2three
West Monroe, LA
Jun 19, 2013

Perfect anniversary stay!!

The Mahekal was perfect for reconnecting and relaxing!! As soon as you arrive they make you feel welcome and by giving you beach towels and hanging hammocks on your porch you know you are ready to unwind. The food included in your board far exceeded our expectations and we left dinner stuffed every night and breakfast was just as filling and beautiful with all the wonderful local fruits and juices available. This place is SO SO well taken care of and kept up on. As we walked up and down the beach it became quickly obvious that we happened upon the most beautiful resort and beach area in Playa. Seriously!! And don't pay any attention to others saying they smelled sewer.....its NOT sewer....its H2S (all natural# that comes out of the sea from under ground cenotes and local mangrove plants decomposing. No worries though.....it's barely noticable at The Mahekal. If you are wanting to get out and explore I highly recommend renting a car on this site and include it in your package. You will end up saving lots of money on taxis and you'll be FREE to do what you want when you want. If you snorkel....AKUMAL BAY in the place to go!!! Swimming with the turtles is awesome and its FREE!!!! Also we highly advise you to exchange several hundred dollars right away and it will make paying for varies things MUCH MUCH easier! One last thing......can't end without recommending you visit Poerto Morales and eat the fresh fish #yes, it was caught that morning!!) at Las Palmeras restaurant. It was awesome and so so cheap!! We both ate for $10!!!! Ordered a whole grilled red snapper and we shared and it was perfect. Enjoy your trip......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma and Pa
Pittsfield, MA
Apr 21, 2011

Welcome to Paradise

Mahecal means 'magical' and it is. Rooms are lovely and spacious with a large deck; The food (includes breakfast and lunch OR dinner) can't be beat. The resort, although patrolled by resort personnel, is not a true gated community since the beach is also used by the local people. It is probably the best beach in the area. You'll want to spend most of your time there. The resort staff bend over backwards to make your vacation a happy and memorable experience. Shopping on the pedestrian-only '5th Avenue' a couple of blocks away is fun although extraordinarily hot, so don't go mid-day; some bargaining, but not always. Spanish is helpful, but not required. We hired a driver for a day (6 of us including our daughter and family) who took us to Tulum, found a place for lunch on the beach, and then snorkeling at Yal-Ku. It was $20 U.S. pp, plus his lunch. We felt we got a good deal! We would recommend this resort highly even though it might seem on the expensive side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Yal-Ku lagoon where you can snorkel through coral beds and around mangroves. It is truly beautiful and cost $9 U.S. per adult, less for kids. Open 9-5:30; several miles from Playa del Carmen; rents equipment. Can't be beat!

Back to menu Return to top