$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
70 reviews
Best trip ever....so far

We arrived at 10:30 am Aug 6. Check in like most hotels are at 3pm, but they quickly got us (my son... See full review

  • Pete
  • Aug 14, 2015
Great Getaway

This lovely, somewhat secluded resort is a wonderful destination for family and couples. The layout... See full review

  • SMPEDSNURSE
  • Aug 13, 2015
Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort destination, formerly Shangri-La Caribe,located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. Mahekal's beach village concept offers 21 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of the famous 5th Avenue.

Our thousands of loyal repeat guests describe Mahekal Beach Resort as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan.Our style is friendly and relaxed; an authentic Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy what the critics repeatedly acclaim as the best beach in Playa.

Rooms

Located in either individual bungalows or individual rooms in two-unit or three-unit casitas and brings to mind a quaint Mayan village.
In keeping with our style, our rooms do not offer televisions, radios or telephones and feature:

  • Authentic, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms
  • Private terrace with hammocks for siestas
  • Star gazing
  • Locally crafted Mexican wood furniture in the outdoor seating area to enjoy our magical sanctuary
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fans

  • Mahekal Beach Resort has:

  • Two swimming pools
  • One with a heated Jacuzzi
  • Two bars
  • A dive shop and water sports center
  • Two open air restaurants: La Loma and Aventura, both with ocean view


  • Resort room rates include breakfast and dinner, or lunch under a Modified American Plan (MAP); alcohol and some beverages are additional. Meals are served in our of our two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch, while La Loma is open only for dinner.

    HONEYMOONERS
  • Complimentary bottle of wine, a fruit basket and special dcor in their room upon arrival.

  • Important Notes:
  • The Hotel is located next to an event space hosting music festivals from November until January. Some noise disturbances are expected during this period.
  • Please notice that from the 9th to the 17th of January 2016, Playa del Carmen will be hosting the BPM Music Festival and the main events will be held on the Beach Clubs Mamita`s and Canibal Royal, that are located next to our property. The BPM is recognized as one of the most important events in the world of Techno Music.

  • If you like to know more about these events, please visit: https://www.facebook.com/thebpmfestival or www.bpmfestival.com

    Top hotels

    Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

    Deluxe Ocean View
    Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers:

  • Open spaces accomplishing harmony and relax
  • Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail
  • Silk shawls from Michoacan state
  • Two queen size or a king-size bed
  • Pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room
  • Private balcony or terrace with hammocks
  • Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
    The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa:

  • Located closer to the ocean
  • With partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms

  • Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or blue sea as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.
    Deluxe Garden View
    The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms.
    These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool.
    Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa
    These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs.
    Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Game room
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

    Dining

    Casa Club and Aventura
    Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
    Restaurant
    Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
    La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
    "La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
    Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
    Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

    Overall score

    4 / 5
    5.01.0
    5 out of 70
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    4

    80% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    david h.
    Friends
    gainesville
    Jan 12, 2015

    Fun time with friends

    We had a wonderful vacation with friends. The Mahekal resort was an excellent choice for our small group. Plenty to do and an extremely pleasant staff. I would recommend this location for anyone looking to relax and unplug.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Timothy H.
    Friends
    LA, California
    Feb 6, 2014

    Awesome room IN the Caribbean

    Great hotel, wonderful time. Our room was the only situated ON the ocean. The waves literally lapped up against our suite.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Kristia
    Friends
    Houston, TX, USA
    Oct 11, 2011

    Mahekal Beach Resort is Fantastic!!

    Mahekal Beach Resort is unique, amazing, and a gem! I travelled with a friend and did not want to be with all the craziness of Cancun yet be close to restaurants, bars, and shops. On 5th Ave., a short walk from the resort there are lots of shops, restaurants, etc were great.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    On Sundays there is an open air concert at the park usually for locals and local bands are playing at times mexican rock which were impressive. Food at the restaurants are great, i.e. the Argentinian restaurants. Also, great clubs such as Parrot Beach and other clubs around the area played some great music.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Frequent Flyer to Playa del Carmen
    Friends
    Boston, MA
    Jun 7, 2011

    Good location right on the beach

    We had an ocean view room which was seconds from the sandy beach. Cute property. Staff rather grumpy though there was an ant problem (all over our sink(and deck, but deck is outside). I didn't particulatey like the food package, although brakfasts were great. Beds were incredibly comfortable. Overall, decent property, but they need training for staff to improve quality of service and smile more. Assistant general manager asked us about our first day and I told her our lunch was awful. She should have followed up with some other courtesy. Can't beat the location though on the beach! I got a good package deal - would never pay the full price though.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    walk up and down 5th avenue for fun bars, shops and restaurants.

    Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Friends
    New Castle, CO
    Feb 9, 2011

    Nice resort, but a bit overpriced

    We went to Cancun in October and stated at the Le Meridien. To compare the hotels is not entirely fair as the Le Meridien is a fancy full service hotel and the Mahekal is a bit more primitive. The Mahekal theme is primitive, no tv's, no phone, no clock, etc. That is all fine on paper but in our opinion for a hotel that lacks those things should be less expensive. They market their higher price being due to the included food. But unless you really enjoy buffets and very similar food for every meal you will want to wonder off resort to mix it up. Only other interesting things was the beach blanket situation. They make you initial next to your name when you check in, but they do not elaborate on why you are doing so. But if you leave your beach blanket on the beach they inform you that there is a $50 USD charge to get another one. I guess beach blankets are very rare in Playa Del Carmen. Overal we liked it, locals very nice, felt safe in town and didn't have any problems with the water. But if we were to do it again we would prefer going back to Cancun and staying at the Le Meridien.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The small pizza place within a block or so from Mahekal had great food and was very reasonably priced. The service was a bit slow but when you are on vacation in Mexico who is in a hurry anyways.

    Back to menu Return to top