$334 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IraG
San Jose, California
Apr 23, 2014

Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think this is the best place to stay there - right on the beach, great rooms, the resort is close to so many interesting places. I will definitely stay there again for the next trip to that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum, Akumal, Cenotes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 24, 2010

Beautiful, confortable, conveniet, GREAT

The resort looks in real life just as pretty as on the pictures. It is right on the beach. The beach is beautiful and great for swimming. The resort looks like a local village, but provides all conveniences you need. The staff is super friendly, service is great and not invasive - just what you need when you need - that simple. The crowd comes from all over the world. It's great for families with kids and for couples. And if you need shops and entertainment, the hotel is 5 minute-walk to the 5th Avenue, which is concentration of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. The resort has one, two and three-story buildings with cone-like roofs made of straw. We got a room on 2nd floor of a two-story building, so our ceiling was a straw-dome raising high-above and this gave our room such a great feel and romantic touch. Most of the rooms (if not each) at the resort get a personal patio and Mexican-style hammocks. I can't stop telling how great this place is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...] We counted on just grabbing a cab and it was super-expensive - $90 one way! Other alternatives were a bus ($30 per person), but that did not seem cool with a large suite-case.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect relaxing resort

After much research on the internet, we decided on the Mahekal resort for our 10 year anniversary. Our prerequisites were relaxation, nice beach, close to 5th ave and laid back. This place had it all. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were very basic but clean and comfortable and we found our meals at the resort as some of our favorite of the trip! We would come back in a second to this resort. Staff were great and didn't have one issue during the trip. I would probably not recommend this place for younger kids as their are no activities and the resort is not set up for it. Since we left our three kids at home we found this perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamaria33
Business
Austin TX
Nov 9, 2010

Best Beach Resort in Playa!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't underestimate the resort and the pleasure of just hanging out in your hammock or on the beach. I wish I'd spent more time there and doing fewer excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 7, 2010

Nice Relaxing Vacation

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and sat by the beach and pool the entire time. Although we didn't do many activities the whole trip was perfect. One day we rented a hobie cat for an hour. That was the extent of our adventures. We didn't feel like going to the tourist traps and driving very far. If you are looking to just relax and not do a whole lot this is the perfect place. If you are looking to do activities it's a great place to-you just have to make time to do it. The staff has customer service to a T and can really show up how customer service should be here in the U.S. I can't wait to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wauwatosa, WI
Oct 30, 2010

Paradise At Last!

As soon as I arrived, I was impressed with Mahekal. I paid for a Caribe room and was upgraded to a lower Penthouse room with 2 ocean views! The grounds are like a jungle park with enough shade and sunshine to please all. The view of the sugar sand and the ripples of the ocean blues and greens were unbelievable. The food was very good and service was attentive. It was a little odd that no drinks were free with the lunch or dinners--not even water, but the shrimp in wine sauce on Thursday night more than compensated. I never turned on the air because the ocean breezes and duo ceiling fans blew through my room each night and gently lulled me to sleep. I had the greatest patio ever with a real hammock where I could read or snooze the afternoon away. No tropical paradise could ever top the sunrise pictures I shot with coffee provided each morning by the staff. I relaxed by the upper pool which had eight palapas for shade and was never crowded. A good deal that could not be beat in all of Playa del Carmen, if you are looking for a quality, laidback resort with a Gilligan's island/Tarzan vibe. Bravo to all the staff at the Mahekal. Plus, Happy Hour on the swing seats each day was just fine by me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A ten minute walk to Fifth Avenue for restaurants, music and drinks, yet very quiet at night for smooth sleeping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County
Oct 3, 2010

I love Playa Del Carmen

I loved the location, beach access and the great staff. Resort has a cute village like appearance that makes you feel like you are in paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Explore $99 US dollars, xel-ha $79 , xcaret $69, tulum ruins $5.00, cozumel island $22 RT ferry ride. These are all inexpensive if you rent a car and do in consecutive days. Dont buy from streets, save $ drive there yourself and stay in Playa del Carmen or near by towns.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lebreil
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 3, 2010

A week at Mahekal Beach Resort, Playa

Good overall, food is fair, just fair but ok, and location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funinthesun98
Business
Syracuse, NY
Sep 25, 2010

Ultimate Relaxation!

This was our first trip that was NOT all inclusive. We loved it. The drinks and food were reasonably priced. We ate breakfast and lunch at the resort everyday and then went to 5th Ave for dinner. We loved the lunch selection and the food for lunch was excellent. The breakfast had very limited choices but was good. The resort is very very quiet and very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The cost for a taxi to walmart/mega or somewhere on 5th Ave is around $3-$5 dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
carson city,nv
Aug 13, 2010

"fantastic geatway"

our experience was absolutely wonderful. the hotel was incredible, everyone was super nice and friendly. we had such a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Great location and service

Beautiful location. Very simple hotel. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate all but our last dinner at the hotel. On the last night we walked up to 5th Avenue for shopping and dinner, and realised we had been missing out. Shopping at night was cooler, and more vibrant. Lunch at the hotel was just as good as dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top