$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
72 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • NOTE: The hotel is located next to an event space hosting music festivals from November until January. Some noise disturbances are expected during this period.
  • NOTE: The hotel charges compulsory gala dinner fee of $70 USD on 24 and 31 December 2014 per person, for guests 12 years old and above.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.
Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SM Princeton
Princeton, New Jersey
Mar 30, 2014

Good place for a family vacation

It was a little difficult to get there by driving; there was no sign, and somehow even some locals do not know how to get there. It has a very nice beach. Food (2 meals per day) was excellent and everyday we were pleasantly surprised by different animal shapes of towels made for us. There's no TV in the room, which we liked. Wifi is available only in the lobby, and it was sometimes very slow. Location is very good. Convenient to visit Xcaret, Tulum, and Chicen Itza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many supermarkets for locals nearby if you'd like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
switzerland
Mar 17, 2011

great place to stay

terrible smell coming from the ocean affecting parts of the resort great food very friendly staff, especially the waiters

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not risk going out to eat elsewhere. we got really sick, eating at a place on 5th ave. we regret that we did not eat at the hotel that evening

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 14, 2011

Mehekal Resort. The Perfect Getaway

We were so pleased that we stayed at the Mehekal Resort. Mehekal surpassed our expectations. It had the quaintness of a Boutique hotel, wonderful & gracious service, and the most private area of beach on the city strip. & let's not forget lounging in the hammocks. Location in the city is perfect as you are steps from 5th avenue. We had a room change after our arrival due to availabilty of ocean view and received a gorgeous upgrade. Definitely would choose this resort again and wish we could return every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta,georgia
Feb 23, 2011

Great hotel and vacation spot

Loved the hotel. We went to xplor for a day which was so much fun. Planning our next trip there already. Loved north playa del carmen . Much more quiet and no loud crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North 5th avenue has more upscale and classy places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Castle, CO
Feb 9, 2011

Nice resort, but a bit overpriced

We went to Cancun in October and stated at the Le Meridien. To compare the hotels is not entirely fair as the Le Meridien is a fancy full service hotel and the Mahekal is a bit more primitive. The Mahekal theme is primitive, no tv's, no phone, no clock, etc. That is all fine on paper but in our opinion for a hotel that lacks those things should be less expensive. They market their higher price being due to the included food. But unless you really enjoy buffets and very similar food for every meal you will want to wonder off resort to mix it up. Only other interesting things was the beach blanket situation. They make you initial next to your name when you check in, but they do not elaborate on why you are doing so. But if you leave your beach blanket on the beach they inform you that there is a $50 USD charge to get another one. I guess beach blankets are very rare in Playa Del Carmen. Overal we liked it, locals very nice, felt safe in town and didn't have any problems with the water. But if we were to do it again we would prefer going back to Cancun and staying at the Le Meridien.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The small pizza place within a block or so from Mahekal had great food and was very reasonably priced. The service was a bit slow but when you are on vacation in Mexico who is in a hurry anyways.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mockie
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Dec 21, 2010

Paradise

Mahekal was more beautiful in person than I could have imagined-the pictures don't do it justice. The rooms are charming, the beach is amazing, the staff was beyond friendly, and security was tight-we always felt safe. It was the perfect place to relax. Our first room was right next to the Adventuria restaurant. The view was amazing, but we were woken up VERY early to the sounds of the staff preparing for breakfast. The front desk staff was very accommodating, and moved us to a room in a much quieter area of the hotel. Happy hour is from 5-6 and drinks are 2 for 1. There is wifi in the bar, or they have a computer that you can use for free. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to 5th avenue. It is a 20 minute walk to the ADO bus station, collectivo station, and pier to catch the ferry to Cozumel. The food ranged from good to okay, but we began to tire of our choices by the end. Except for the fact that the hot tub was not hot, the hotel was close to perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to take the ferry to Cozumel, which I highly recommend, only buy a one way ticket (they will try to sell you the round trip). There are 2 different companies offering ferry service, and they will not honor their competitors tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Dec 15, 2010

Mahekal beach resort playa del carmen

Relaxed hotel on beach, staff very friendly and accomodating, hotel clean, security great, food good, drinks great, short boat ride to scuba, the grounds were lovely and spread out right on the beach. No TV, No phone, No Clock but a safe in the room - which we love. If you needed a wake up call - security would knock on your door with a bueno dias. Easy walk to town. TV in bar - great happy hour 5-6. We happened to be sick during out stay to we will return for do over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovers Jenn and Chris
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 13, 2010

Fantastic Lover's Retreat

This resort was really spectacular. The grounds are kept quite beautifully and the service is spectacular. We didn't really have much planned other than the chill by the beach and the pool. But there are people at the front desk that can help you plan out your activities and really help you out with any of your plans. This resort really is quite different from any other hotel I've ever been to. It's more of a village than just a generic building. The only downside of the hotel is that there are mosquitoes in the room. I guess this is inevitable since the rooms have thatched ceilings but I came home with tons of mosquito bites. Overall, I would definitely go back and was a beautiful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you take a walk to 5th ave. It gets pretty crazy and can be fun if you are okay with the hassling. The only thing was that we went out for dinner one night and sat outside to eat. But at night lots of poor children start begging for money or sometimes even for the food you are eating and put on a show to start getting money. LOTS of children will come by, so its best to sit inside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 24, 2010

Beautiful, confortable, conveniet, GREAT

The resort looks in real life just as pretty as on the pictures. It is right on the beach. The beach is beautiful and great for swimming. The resort looks like a local village, but provides all conveniences you need. The staff is super friendly, service is great and not invasive - just what you need when you need - that simple. The crowd comes from all over the world. It's great for families with kids and for couples. And if you need shops and entertainment, the hotel is 5 minute-walk to the 5th Avenue, which is concentration of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops. The resort has one, two and three-story buildings with cone-like roofs made of straw. We got a room on 2nd floor of a two-story building, so our ceiling was a straw-dome raising high-above and this gave our room such a great feel and romantic touch. Most of the rooms (if not each) at the resort get a personal patio and Mexican-style hammocks. I can't stop telling how great this place is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...] We counted on just grabbing a cab and it was super-expensive - $90 one way! Other alternatives were a bus ($30 per person), but that did not seem cool with a large suite-case.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn
Nov 22, 2010

Perfect relaxing resort

After much research on the internet, we decided on the Mahekal resort for our 10 year anniversary. Our prerequisites were relaxation, nice beach, close to 5th ave and laid back. This place had it all. The grounds were beautiful, the rooms were very basic but clean and comfortable and we found our meals at the resort as some of our favorite of the trip! We would come back in a second to this resort. Staff were great and didn't have one issue during the trip. I would probably not recommend this place for younger kids as their are no activities and the resort is not set up for it. Since we left our three kids at home we found this perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamaria33
Business
Austin TX
Nov 9, 2010

Best Beach Resort in Playa!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't underestimate the resort and the pleasure of just hanging out in your hammock or on the beach. I wish I'd spent more time there and doing fewer excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top