$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy from Alaska
Anchorage, Alaska
Nov 7, 2013

The best of Playa del Carmen!

The staff! The locale! The Mexican experience! The food! Can't get any better! Breakfast on patio over Caribbean Ocean unforgettable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Spend morning swimming in the Caribbean ocean. Best way to start the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristia
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Fantastic!!

Mahekal Beach Resort is unique, amazing, and a gem! I travelled with a friend and did not want to be with all the craziness of Cancun yet be close to restaurants, bars, and shops. On 5th Ave., a short walk from the resort there are lots of shops, restaurants, etc were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Sundays there is an open air concert at the park usually for locals and local bands are playing at times mexican rock which were impressive. Food at the restaurants are great, i.e. the Argentinian restaurants. Also, great clubs such as Parrot Beach and other clubs around the area played some great music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
molly and paul
Business
Harleysville, Pa
Sep 22, 2011

awesome relaxing vacation!!!!!!

Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived and was handed feshly scented face cloths to feel fresh after the plane and car ride from the airport to the hotel. The hotel was everything and more that the website describes. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I have travelled a lot and this is one of my favorite vacations. Plan on coming back to same hotel next year!!! Nothing better than being able to stand on the balcony and watch the waves roll in from our ocean view room, taking a nap in the hammocks listening to the waves or looking at the beautiful pool. so very peaceful, enjoyed walking the few steps to the beach each morning w/ coffee in hand that is provided every morning at the bar and watching the sun rise. The food was good, our waiter Jose was excellent as well as everyone else at the hotel. We were given a tour by Bali of other types of rooms available, that we might want to request on our visit. The housekeeping was superb w/ the towels made into a different shape each day. Probably the only change would be, to have a mini refrig in the room but not a big deal since there is a little mini mart just a block or 2 down from the hotel. 5th Avenue close enough to walk to and enjoy shopping without having any of the busyness near the hotel. Just loved Mahekal Beach Resort. highly recommend it to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

arrange to have the hotel pick you up at the airport rather than book it through another company. the price is lower than the others. ignore the people in the airport trying to get you to take their transportation. they are very tricky in making you think they represent the company you have arranged your transportation with- they are not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
holidaysohyeah
Business
dc
Aug 5, 2011

Best Vacation ever

Very nice, friendly,and best spot at the playa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Jul 28, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Paradise

The hammocks, ocean view and sea breeze really made our trip. The grounds were immaculate, the staff congenial and the meals excellent. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 25, 2011

Mayan Heaven!

This hotel is beautiful and we had a wonderful, relaxing time! We wanted to avoid the typical, American all-inclusive feel. Why come to Mexico if your experience is similar to home? The hotel has the high Mayan thatched roofs and rooms were more private. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We had an second floor oceanview room and loved reading in the hammocks with the beach in view. We were dissapointed with snorkeling off the beach because the reef looked dead and there were very few fish. Overall, however, we were very happy with the location and facilities and highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We took full advantage of the happy hour two for one deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Izznt
Business
Allentown, PA
Jul 17, 2011

Loved the Mahekal

Fantastically laid back and lovely resort. No TV/radio/clock in the room, but you'll get good use out of the hammocks. Great food, amazing people. For those that find the AI's don't appeal, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Flyer to Playa del Carmen
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 7, 2011

Good location right on the beach

We had an ocean view room which was seconds from the sandy beach. Cute property. Staff rather grumpy though there was an ant problem (all over our sink(and deck, but deck is outside). I didn't particulatey like the food package, although brakfasts were great. Beds were incredibly comfortable. Overall, decent property, but they need training for staff to improve quality of service and smile more. Assistant general manager asked us about our first day and I told her our lunch was awful. She should have followed up with some other courtesy. Can't beat the location though on the beach! I got a good package deal - would never pay the full price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk up and down 5th avenue for fun bars, shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Area
May 8, 2011

Beautiful Beach Resort

We took 2 excursions, 1 to Coba, and the other to snorkel. The grounds are beautiful, the service excellent, the food very good, and happy hour is a value. We have cruised 8 times, been to Hawaii 3 years ago, but found this a pleasant change. It was like staying in a botanical garden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to fifth ave., take the taxi back to the resort. Be sure to get up to view the sunrise. Enjoy the diverse group of guests staying at Mahehal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
May 5, 2011

Great Place To Stay

The staff was excellent. Nice place to get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma and Pa
Business
Pittsfield, MA
Apr 21, 2011

Welcome to Paradise

Mahecal means 'magical' and it is. Rooms are lovely and spacious with a large deck; The food (includes breakfast and lunch OR dinner) can't be beat. The resort, although patrolled by resort personnel, is not a true gated community since the beach is also used by the local people. It is probably the best beach in the area. You'll want to spend most of your time there. The resort staff bend over backwards to make your vacation a happy and memorable experience. Shopping on the pedestrian-only '5th Avenue' a couple of blocks away is fun although extraordinarily hot, so don't go mid-day; some bargaining, but not always. Spanish is helpful, but not required. We hired a driver for a day (6 of us including our daughter and family) who took us to Tulum, found a place for lunch on the beach, and then snorkeling at Yal-Ku. It was $20 U.S. pp, plus his lunch. We felt we got a good deal! We would recommend this resort highly even though it might seem on the expensive side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Yal-Ku lagoon where you can snorkel through coral beds and around mangroves. It is truly beautiful and cost $9 U.S. per adult, less for kids. Open 9-5:30; several miles from Playa del Carmen; rents equipment. Can't be beat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top