Mahekal Beach Resort

3 stars
Calle 38 entre ZFM y 5Av. Lote S/N Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Fantastic boutique hotel

My wife and I visited Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon in April 2014 and greatly enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • Los Springs
  • May 5, 2014
Amazing place!

We recently came back from Mexico, Riviera Maya where we stayed at Mahekal beach resort. I think... See full review

  • IraG
  • Apr 23, 2014
Palapa-style bungalows at oceanfront Playa del Carmen resort
The Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa del Carmen is an oceanfront paradise, complete with thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows. The property boasts 800 feet of white sand beach, two swimming pools, heated Jacuzzi, two bars, a dive shop and water sports center, and two open-air restaurants. The Mahekal Beach Resort is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and the Caribbean and is family-friendly. Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue with its shops and restaurants is outside the front doors. The resort was formerly known as Shangri La Caribe.
Highlights:
  • 121 thatched-roof bungalows
  • Conveniently located in Playa del Carmen at Fifth Avenue
  • Two swimming pools, a heated Jacuzzi and two bars
  • Two open-air restaurants
Rooms:

All 121 thatched-roof bungalows at the Mahekal Beach Resort are expertly decorated and include traditional Caribbean, Mayan and Mexican tiling work and furnishing. Guests stay either at individual bungalows or individual rooms in two- or three-unit casitas. Tile floors and elaborately painted bathrooms give way to refreshing linens and bright, airy living areas. The accommodations do not have televisions, radios or telephones but are outfitted with hammocks. All rooms at the Mahekal Beach Resort are air conditioned. The penthouse bungalows feature private decks, views of the ocean, private bathroom, balcony, ceiling fan and a king-sized bed. These rooms are for adult occupancy only. Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features:

Lounging on the beach or at one of the two pools (one with a heated Jacuzzi) is a given when at Mahekal Beach Resort. The resort also has yoga classes, a game room and massages. The town Playa del Carmen is right outside for guests to explore. Take a walk through the streets, eat dinner out on the town or take a day trip to the Mayan ruins.

Room rates at Mahekal Beach Resort include breakfast and dinner or lunch. Breakfast is buffet style with special touches such as Mexican pastries, fresh juices and eggs cooked Mexican style. Alcohol and some beverages are additional. There are two thatched-roof restaurants on the property: Aventura Restaurant and Bar and La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch. La Loma is open only for dinner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (4.5 mi/7.5 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)

Mahekal Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View
The cabanas in the Deluxe Garden View section are the most quiet, secluded and relaxing guestrooms. These rooms are located within a short walking distance to the beach and are only steps away from the pool. Lush green gardens and a beautiful Mexican fountain decorate the surrounding.
Deluxe Garden View Palapa
These cabanas are either individual bungalows or individual rooms on the upper level of a two-unit, two-level casita with unique high-rise thatched palapa roofs. Deluxe Garden View Palapa rooms are close to the Casa Club, our poolside bar and social gathering spot, the Caribe pool, and only a short walk from the beach.
Deluxe Ocean View
Two-story casita with two individual spacious Deluxe Ocean View rooms offers open spaces accomplishing harmony and relaxation. Luxury Mexican decor and art is brought in detail; silk shawls from Michoacn state add beauty to the two queen size or a king-size bed, and pottery from Oaxaca bring a colorful touch to the room. Recovered wood lamps grant a soft and mystic environment with the gentle sounds of the waves rolling in from the private balcony or terrace with hammocks.
Deluxe Ocean View Palapa
The Deluxe Ocean View Palapa rooms are located closer to the ocean with partial or full ocean view in either individual bungalows or as individual rooms on the upper level of a two storey casita in Caribe section, close to the Caribbean Sea. Guests may enjoy beautiful walkways, lush green or sea blues as part of their scenery while listening to the gentle breeze and the quiet ocean murmur.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.636 -87.0669
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
ACCESS - Cancun International Airport. Daily direct flights from the USA, Canada and the main European cities. 45 airlines operate flights from approximately 60 locations. AIRPORT TRANSFER- A distance of 40 miles, 50 minutes drive to Mahekal Beach Resort. Shuttle, taxi, private transportation service and car rentals are available at the International Cancun Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has conference and meetings facilities for up to 70 people. Our Aventura Restaurant, overlooking the Carribbean sea and the Aventura pool, is ideal for hosting social events.

Dining

Aventura Restaurant - a Taste of Playa del Carmen
Aventura has one of the best views in Playa del Carmen! Start your morning at our pool-front restaurant overlooking the Aventura pool and Caribbean Sea. A tasty daily buffet style breakfast is served, including assorted breads and Mexican pastries -pan de dulce, seasonal tropical fruits, fresh juices prepared daily (When was the last time you had freshly squeezed orange juice or papaya juice?), natural and fruit yogurts, assorted cold cuts and cheeses, oatmeal, hash browns, cereals as well as Mexican egg specialties cooked to order. Coffee and tea are also available. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. For lunch, we offer our guests a delicious a la carte menu from light dishes to full Mexican and International entrees. Some of our guests' favorite dishes include grilled fish and seafood cocktails and ceviches, but popular salads, hamburgers and sandwiches are also included. Lunch is served daily from 12:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Casa Club and Aventura
Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
Restaurant
Dining in Playa del Carmen is exciting and offers many opportunities to savor the rich flavors of this unique area. Mahekal beach Resort Resort's room rates include breakfast and dinner under a modified American plan (MAP), which are served in one of two thatched-roof restaurants: Aventura Restaurant and Bar or La Loma Restaurant. Aventura offers breakfast and lunch; La Loma is open only for dinner. Breakfast and dinner are included in the daily rate; alcohol and some beverage exceptions apply. The hotel offers two bars; Casa Club and Aventura. Casa Club provides an open-air bar, with casual swings, pool table and plenty of seating for games and conversation. This is the late afternoon/evening social spot at Mahekal Beach Resort, where forever friendships are formed. Complimentary wireless Internet access and television are available in Casa Club.
La Loma Restaurant - Playa del Carmen Dining at its Best
"La Loma" is a thatched roof restaurant surrounded by tropical gardens and fountains located by the Pueblito section. It offers extensive buffet style or four-course dinners. La Loma specializes in genuine Mexican and Yucatecan cuisine (A mouth-watering mixture of European and Mexican flavors), however delicious International dishes are also offered. Mexican and International theme nights with live music are organized several days a week. Dinner is served nightly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaRM
Orinda, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Low-key all inclusive resort, good for families

It was a VERY relaxing vacation, with our biggest decision all day being "should we go to the beach or the pool?" The food at the resort was really good! Wish they had more Mexican nights, they switch up the type of cuisine every night. The location was great, it felt very secluded, but was a couple blocks from the main drag of town, which was very chic and cool, this was surprising for Mexico! Great architecture, clubs and restaurants along the main avenue. The rooms were very unassuming, not fancy, which is fine for us, but it was expensive for what you got I thought, especially in Mexico. I would go again though, it was a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A fun Cuban restaurant on 5th Ave (the main street through Playa) for a big group was La Bodeguita del Medio. Great food, music and dancing lessons too!

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Hagen
Barron, Wisconsin
Apr 16, 2012

Magical

This was our third stay at Mahekal in four years. Once again it was truley "Magical" as the name states. My wife and I like typically like to go to different locations in the Caribbean. However, since we went to Mahekal 4 years ago, we have struggled to steer away from it to try something new. Mahekal feels so much like a second home during the long cold winters of Wisconsin, we can hardly imagine wanting to go anywhere else. The only other time we've ever stayed at a resort more than once is Sandals in Antigua. Accommodations are very simple, which is just the way we want it. No TV, no radio, no clock. It may be low on frills but that is what makes it so quiet and relaxing. The rooms do have air conditioning, which is totally unnecessary because there was always a perfect breeze. Although we typically stay in an ocean view room and I can see how rooms farther from the beach, where the breeze may be blocked, may need to use the A/C. Otherwise the A/C only drowns out the rhythm of the waves at night, and the songs of the birds in the morning as the sun rises. I can’t understand why you would ever want to do that. The location is really what you pay for at Mahekal. You will not find a better stretch of beach with rooms in such close proximity to the ocean for a better price. It is on the best stretch of beach in Playa Del Carmen, and is literally a 10 minute walk to the heart of 5th Ave shopping and eating. The staff was very professional and friendly as always. By the third day the wait staff recognizes you and knows what you like. They were always more than eager to make you happy. Meals there are delicious, especially breakfast. We typically like to go out to town for dinner to people watch. In our past stays the dinners left a lot to be desired. However during this most recent stay the dinners were much improved - so much so that we stayed at the resort for dinner more nights than we typically do. The landscaping is meticulous. The pair of hammocks on your balcony are a perfect touch, making a late afternoon nap before happy hour almost ritual. My only complaint is that happy hour could be extended from one hour to two. This is not an all-inclusive mega resort, so you will not have to get up before dawn to reserve a chair by the pool or ocean. You will never feel pressure to get up and dance to some cheesy 90's one hit wonder blasting at the pool, and there are no time share salesmen or beach vendors hounding or harassing you. This resort has such a quaint and peaceful vibe that you can't help but succumb to it charm. It has a very private and intimate ambience. As your vacation comes to an end you will feel totally rested and rejuvenated; and probably a little depressed because you’re not all that ready to leave. Jason and Jen Hagen - Wisconsin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a cooler from Gabriel, the bellboy. They have plug in mini fridges or styrofoam coolers. Then walk to the convenience store a few blocks away, or to 5th Ave to get some snacks and refreshments to keep in your room. Remember this is not an all inclusive resort. Drinking at the bar is fun for the socializing aspect, but buying drinks from the bar all day long can get expensive.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garrett P.
Birmingham, MI, USA
Mar 19, 2012

The 1st resort I will definitely return to.

Mahekal is the phonetic spelling of magical in Spanish, an appropriate name for this very special, intimate Caribbean getaway. It felt like "Fantasy Island" - a village of one and 2 story thatched roof palapas. It has the look and feel of a south Pacific or Hawaiian fantasy resort. Our room was on the small side but big enough - you don't spend much time in the room itself. Each unit, or caseta, has a porch with 2 hammocks, table and chairs. That's where you spend much time, along with walking thru this magical village, at the outside bar, at the beach or pool. The breakfast buffet was very good, lunch was also very good. Their dinner -- not so much. So we traded dinner for lunch, preferring to sample the numerous restaurants in the area, many within a very short walk of Mahekal. For us, this was a perfect retreat. It is not a big, glitzy, palace with lots of pools and restaurants - we don't like that type of place. So this resort won't be the place if you want that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants within a short walk are excellent, and among the better ones in all of Playa. They don't have the barkers out front hailing "amigos" to come in. The north end of 5th Avenue, right by the Mahekal, is low key compared to the carnival atmosphere some blocks to the south.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMCMR
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Relaxing and Simple

We have a wonderful experience at Mahekal. We stayed in an ocean view room, 16b, and absolutely loved it. The accommodations are simple: no TV, no clocks, no phone, but it was perfect for us. I found that I was completely relaxed and slept easily and soundly with no distractions around. We had, in my opinion, the most breathtaking view on the resort. On the second floor of a little casita on the Caribe side, we had a perfect view of the ocean and were just steps from the beach. The food was really good for the most part. We had dinner on the night we arrived, and didn't care for it, but it wasn't a big deal because we knew we were having lunch and breakfast all week. (There are a million great restaurants in PDC; and it's too hot to walk anywhere for lunch, so breakfast & lunch are you best bets). Breakfast and lunch were both delicious. For breakfast, you have a choice of one of the a la carte options, I think there were 6 or 7, and also a buffet with fresh juices, fruit, pastries, sausage, oatmeal, cereals, yogurt and granola, etc. Lunch is also a la carte, and everything we had was really good, especially the Cubano torta and the fish tacos. Overall, I really liked the food and the service was really good, too. (This coming from a former waitress). The beach was really beautiful and you can walk for a long time in either direction. We liked walking South toward playacar because I liked to see all of the different hotels on the beach, and get ideas of where we'd like to stay if we come back. I have to say, however, that I liked Mahekal's beach the best out of all the centrally located hotels as it was pretty expansive and had a great beach for swimming and sunbathing. Also, there is wireless interest available in the lobby and Caribe bar areas, and this is perfect for me. To be honest, the idea that I have access to email/internet at all times stresses me out, so I liked only being able to access the internet on my phone when I was walking through the lobby or getting a drink at happy hour (5-6 every day) at the bar. The idea of vacation is to be disconnected from the life back at home and to relax, not to be constantly checking Facebook and reading work emails! Overall, we absolutely loved our stay and would not hesitate to return. I think we're going to go back next March because we loved it so much. It's not fancy, but if you want good service in a beautiful location, close enough to the action for some fun, yet far enough for tranquility, then this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to one of the convenience stores at the corner of 5th Ave and 38 and buy a case of water, a Styrofoam cooler, and some ice. We would pick up more ice on a way back from dinner/shopping in the evening. Instead of buying water at the resort, we just brought it with us to beach and meals.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
February traveler
Duluth, Mn
Feb 26, 2012

Relaxing beach location

Mahekal was the perfect place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle. Quietly located on the beach. Appreciated the low tech approach (no tv or phones) the excellent staff and attention to detail in meeting visitors needs. Walking distance to shops, a small market, and restaurants was a plus. The meals were also delicious. This is definately a hotel that I will return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out restaurants located within walking distance including Chango and Origine (2 for 1 margs and cerveza 12:00-6:00).

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BK11231
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Great, non-AI hotel, right on the beach

Wonderful experience. Wonderful location if you're staying in Playa Del Carmen. Food was fantastic. Prices for drinks were great. Beach was beautiful. Plentiful palapa's and chairs. Helpful staff. Quick Service. Nice and quiet as opposed to loud and annoying. Cute little bungalows with hammocks at every room. No TVs, Phone's or WIFI in rooms made for a great escape. Could there be a few improvements? Sure. But all in all a great place at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PegsH
Michigan, USA
Jan 15, 2012

family vacation

This was the most relaxing vacation ever.... a perfect combination of fun and action in Playa del Carmen and the laid back atmosphere at Mahekal Beach Resort. Our adult children really loved being able to walk into town and shop or relax on the beach at the resort. Bring books as there is no TV in the rooms. The staff was very efficient and friendly. The food was quite good especially the breakfasts. We felt very safe as there was adequate security. The rooms are very colorful and quaint and we felt at home without the structure of many all inclusive resorts...no reservations need for meals. Also you were able to switch lunch and dinner if you wanted to dine in town. We were in the minority as Americans and it was fun to mingle with people from so many different countries. One warning...watch your speed if driving. Auto rental will cost DOUBLE of what you are quoted once the mandatory insurance is added to the rental. You do not need a car and next time we will take a shuttle from the airport. All of the family are already planning our next trip to the Mahekal resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RiBrown74
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Lovely Stay in a Wonderful Beachfront Resort

We had stayed at the same resort 8 years ago, when it went under the name Shangri La Caribe. As far as we could tell, the excellent service, comfortable accomodations and delicious food have not changed in the least. The service was very prompt and courteous, and the staff expends effort to learn the names and preferences of the guests, to make each greeting more personal. The staff members have a lot of experience at the hotel - at least one we chatted with had been there for 30 years, and their service can be summarized as highly attentive but not intrusive. When you need assistance, they are there in a flash, but they don't force themselves on you when you don't need them. We were located in the Garden View Caribe section, which means no ocean view. But we ended up being close to the pool, the bar/rec room (2 billiards and 2 ping pong tables - all in good condition) and to the evening dinner restaurant, and did not mind making the 90-second walk to the beach. Truth be told, some of the bungalows right on the beach, with private jacuzzis, looked great, and would be fantastic for a honeymoon. There is wireless internet in the bar/rec room and in reception, though it is not a terrific signal. There is also a computer for public use in the bar/rec room, which is handy for checking emails. The meal plan including breakfast and either lunch or dinner worked very well for us; typically we chose breakfast and dinner, and on one occasion paid for lunch at poolside. The food and drink prices are not at all unreasonable - about $3 for beer, $10 for a plate of 3 tacos - not cheap, but certainly justified given the setting and service. We are already planning our next trip to Playa del Carmen, and will again stay at the Mahekal - our 2 boys will expect no less!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart is located about 2 km from the Mahekal. Other than offering an inexpensive place to buy boogie boards and swim suits, it also has 2 ATMs which accept VISA/MC cards for cash advances, for a US$ fee, a 1/3 of the fee some of the stand-alone ATMs charge.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristia
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Mahekal Beach Resort is Fantastic!!

Mahekal Beach Resort is unique, amazing, and a gem! I travelled with a friend and did not want to be with all the craziness of Cancun yet be close to restaurants, bars, and shops. On 5th Ave., a short walk from the resort there are lots of shops, restaurants, etc were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

On Sundays there is an open air concert at the park usually for locals and local bands are playing at times mexican rock which were impressive. Food at the restaurants are great, i.e. the Argentinian restaurants. Also, great clubs such as Parrot Beach and other clubs around the area played some great music.

Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
molly and paul
Harleysville, Pa
Sep 22, 2011

awesome relaxing vacation!!!!!!

Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived and was handed feshly scented face cloths to feel fresh after the plane and car ride from the airport to the hotel. The hotel was everything and more that the website describes. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I have travelled a lot and this is one of my favorite vacations. Plan on coming back to same hotel next year!!! Nothing better than being able to stand on the balcony and watch the waves roll in from our ocean view room, taking a nap in the hammocks listening to the waves or looking at the beautiful pool. so very peaceful, enjoyed walking the few steps to the beach each morning w/ coffee in hand that is provided every morning at the bar and watching the sun rise. The food was good, our waiter Jose was excellent as well as everyone else at the hotel. We were given a tour by Bali of other types of rooms available, that we might want to request on our visit. The housekeeping was superb w/ the towels made into a different shape each day. Probably the only change would be, to have a mini refrig in the room but not a big deal since there is a little mini mart just a block or 2 down from the hotel. 5th Avenue close enough to walk to and enjoy shopping without having any of the busyness near the hotel. Just loved Mahekal Beach Resort. highly recommend it to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

arrange to have the hotel pick you up at the airport rather than book it through another company. the price is lower than the others. ignore the people in the airport trying to get you to take their transportation. they are very tricky in making you think they represent the company you have arranged your transportation with- they are not.

Back to menu Return to top